We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have stayed at a few Country Inn & Suites that were failry dated. However my wife and I were going to be in State College for just one night and I had points to stay at this property. Glad we did. The hotel is nice and new. Everything larger than the typical CI&S. Up to date furnishings and decor. We had a suite, which had a separate bedroom, refridgerator, microwave and 2 flat screen TV's. Room was in the back and very quiet. The only complaint on the room was the AC which blows directly on the bed and cannot be adjusted. Breakfast was the standard fare. Only 2 miles to the University and on the less crowded side of town. A nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor in the back. Nice and quiet, overlooking a forested area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spencer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

873 - 879 of 900 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

I can be very, very particular about where I stay. The country inn was beautiful! The front desk stay were helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean and accommodating. Pool area was nice too. Would definitely return! Excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penshockey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife's family is from State College, so we travel there more than I would like. On our last trip we decided to give this newer hotel a shot, and I am glad we did. For what it is, it is a great, little hotel. The staff seems legitimately happy and eager to help, and that is rare now days. The rooms were a little smaller than I had expected, but they were clean and functional. The breakfast was great, hot, and had everything I needed/wanted to get my day going.

Hotels in this price and star rating are usually all about the same, but this is my new favorite in State College. It has, in fact, caused me to consider Country Inn & Suites when traveling to other cities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BurtyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

I would totally stay again. I was under the assumption this was right next to campus but it was 3 miles away, but it was spotless (and I play close attention to hotel cleanliness), it was very safe, plenty of parking, free breakfast 2 self serve washers and dryer and they always had cookies out and my kids were very happy about that. Plus the employees were all so happy! I will stay here again if we come to the area again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdeTae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for 1 night while passing thru the area. Staff mentioned this hotel has been here about a year. To keep it short, the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. That's all it matters when you need a good night's rest and use of the bathroom. The breakfast was comparable to the residence inns with lots of selection and fresh fruits. The staff were very helpful, both in the dining room and at the check-in desk. Overall a very good stay. Highly recommended for state college area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToddNugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here twice in July due to visiting Penn State. The hotel is nesandvery convenient to the campus...5 minutes down the road. The rooms were large,clean Ndcomfortable. The first night,I had trouble with the free internet,but the second stay, it worked without any difficulties. The room has all of the expected amenities ncluding a small refrigerator and microwave. The workout room included the essential equipment including antibacterial wipes to wipe down the equipment. The pool was small, but the pool room was very large.

The staff was very friendly, and the cookies, pretzels, and coffee service at the front desk are a nice touch.

We would stay here again. It offers value for the money.

The breakfast is fine, however, it is very congested in the corner the way the food is organized. It needs to be spread out more.

There are no food options within walking distance. You need to drive a couple of miles to campus or in the other direction to find food unless you want Damon's for ribs.

Room Tip: If you are on the second floor, you can walk up the stairs from the lobby instead of taking the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibbyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stopped for a one night stay & without a reservation. I didn't realize the night I stayed was the day before thebJerrybSandusky trial verdict. All hotels except this were full. This hotel had one room left. The room was ok, no more. Tv picture was bad, Internet didn't work and breakfast buffet was worse than usual.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mapman521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
584 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#12 of 26 in State College
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#11 of 26 in State College
251 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,369 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Address: 1357 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range: $80 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing