We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

From the moment we walked through the door to ask if they had availability to the moment we checked out the next day, this hotel did its best to make us feel right at home. Every staff member we encountered was cheery, welcoming, chatty and helpful. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds were super comfortable. AC unit was whisper quiet compared to similar ones we'd had in other chain hotels on that trip. Wifi worked great, the pool and hot tub were well tended. the breakfast was also tasty and varied - food for kids, vegans, eggs and ham types, and the coffee was surprisingly good. In the future, I'll recommend this place to anyone I know who's coming to State College for any reason.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the end of a hallway and try to get one on the 5th floor - the view out the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taryelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments! All of the staff and management enjoy this business of hospitality, and try to do our best to make our guests feel at home. We're not always perfect, but providing comfortable, consistant and caring service is what it's all about. Thanks again for your business and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 919 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. We travel to State College every year around this time of year, and our other hotel was booked for the weekend. So we tried the Country Inn and Suites based on reviews, and we were not disappointed!

The hotel is a relatively new hotel that is sparkling clean in all areas. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful from the time we walked in the front door until we left a few days later.

The breakfast area was very well stocked each morning with eggs, potatoes, sausage, biscuits/gravy, pastries, cereal, fruit, yogurt, and breads. The food was kept hot, and the staff did a wonderful job keeping it fresh and stocked. For those who didn't have time to eat, there were small "to go" bags prepared with fruit and a pastry.

We took advantage of the hotel pool and hot tub which was in an area in the back of the hotel. The pool was very clean and was kept at a very comfortable and refreshing temperature. The nearby exercise room had modern equipment that we also used during our stay.

Our room was a whirlpool room with a king-sized bed. The room was maintained very nicely, and contained a small refrigerator and small microwave. We took advantage of the FREE unlimited long distance telephone calls to contact family back home during our stay. Our 2-person whirlpool was quite refreshing, and simply added to our enjoyable stay.

If I had to find one negative about the hotel, it would have to be that the wireless internet was not very good from our room. The signal was typically very weak, and the connection speed was slower than dialup. If I wanted to do any important work on the internet, I found myself spending more time in the business center which has a fast, hard-wired internet connection.

Outside of poor wireless internet, our stay was perfect! In fact, we have already decided that this will be our first choice of a hotel the next time we return to State College.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Double-D-Sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, and all the ammenities we have to offer. We're working on improving Internet access by adding cables to all the guest rooms, so they can use our more reliable and faster wired connection. With so many guests using the wireless connection, and all the different kinds of devices, along with improving technology, it's an area that is hard to keep up with at times! We'll keep trying though, as we want to be your hotel of choice when coming to State College! Thanks again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here 5/13 to 5/14/2012. Probably the most hospitable hotel that we have stayed at in a long time. Rooms very clean. Breakfast was great-fresh berries, eggs benedict and a flower for all Mothers for Mother's Day!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moo53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for your comments! I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff made you feel welcomed. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We have stayed at quite a few hotels in State College. Recently stayed at this new property and Loved it. Hotel is just off the highway but set back off the road for some privacy and country feel. The rooms were clean and spacious, we had a problem with the AC unit in our first room. Mentioned it to the front desk and they moved us to another room immediately. The breakfast each morning was a pleasant surprise and well stocked. Pool and Hot tub area large and clean.
Clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liltraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff helped make you feel comfortable! We enjoy providing our guests with clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home, and look forward to you staying with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

First of all, this is a very pretty hotel, it's on the main drag right by 322/220 highway, and you're right by gas stations and close to restaurants. It is impeccably clean, the rooms are quiet, there are drink machines and ice machines on every floor, the bathroom was huge, the beds were SOOOO comfortable, we had a fridge and microwave in our room, AND extra linens and down feather pillows! I absolutely LOVED my experience here! The hot tub and the pool were perfect for a large group, and very clean. They have handicap accessible rooms, and a fast elevator. The breakfast in the morning was delicious (cereal, fruit, yogurt, muffins, toast, bagels, bacon, eggs, hash browns, waffles, juice, coffee, tea, hot cocoa, ect) and the staff, particularly Yolanda & Craig went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Best aspects of this hotel: Breakfast, Beds, Cleanliness, Friendly staff, and aesthetics. Negative aspects of this hotel: none that I can think of. I encourage families to stay here, couples, and large groups! You'll love it!

Room Tip: I had room 303 overlooking the parking lot - you get a lot of sun, but it's close to the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments! We do our best and I'm glad that we did our jobs during your stay! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Gorgeous, newly updated rooms. Impeccably clean, full hot breakfast and very friendly staff. Perfect spot to stay as a family with young kids. Very quiet for sleeping. I normally don't enjoy staying at hotels, but this was so nice I didn't want to check out! It really felt like a vacation staying here.

Room Tip: We booked a queen suite, to divide the kids up for better rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amthim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words after staying at our hotel! We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to State College!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The hotel was fine, and the staff was great. Apparently whoever manages the hotel, or the buffet, requires extra training in planning for a sold out facility. And its not like they didn't know at least a week a head of time that the place was full. If not for the disaster of the buffet, I would have given the place 4 or 5 stars.
We went down to the buffet breakfast at 945 AM on Sunday, April 15. This is well before closing of the buffet, at 1030 Apparently there was hardly anything left to eat. All the mixed fruit was gone, the waffles irons kept blowing out the circuit breakers, and could not be used. There was no coffee, unless you kept asking for the pots to be refilled. All the danish was gone. And I could go on and on. Only thing left was some bagels, muffins, and sausage. This was not the fault of the buffet staff. There where running around, trying to accommodate everyone, but appeared short of help. The hotel was full. EXTREMELY POOR PLANNING on the part of management. They knew the hotel was fill, but did nothing to make sure enough staff was working, or ample food was available. When we asked the staff, they said they had run out of all the above mentioned items, and there would be no more. So for $180 for one night, the price was way to high, and what was promised as far as a free buffet was a joke. My first stay here, and will probably be my last. I have stayed at numerous State College Hotels over they past 4 years, and never had encountered a buffet, where the food was gone 45 minutes before closing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JinglesNewtown_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I do realize we had some problems with the breakfast on the morning of your stay, and we are already working on adding another circuit for the waffle station so when we are busy that will not be a problem. In additon, we are constantly working with our staff to be better organized and prepared for our guests.

We appreciate the feedback and hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
598 reviews
2 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#10 of 26 in State College
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#12 of 26 in State College
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#11 of 26 in State College
608 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA

Address: 1357 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range: $90 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing