We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here 5/13 to 5/14/2012. Probably the most hospitable hotel that we have stayed at in a long time. Rooms very clean. Breakfast was great-fresh berries, eggs benedict and a flower for all Mothers for Mother's Day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moo53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments! I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff made you feel welcomed. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    213
    24
    16
    7
See reviews for
467
111
36
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We have stayed at quite a few hotels in State College. Recently stayed at this new property and Loved it. Hotel is just off the highway but set back off the road for some privacy and country feel. The rooms were clean and spacious, we had a problem with the AC unit in our first room. Mentioned it to the front desk and they moved us to another room immediately. The breakfast each morning was a pleasant surprise and well stocked. Pool and Hot tub area large and clean.
Clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liltraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff helped make you feel comfortable! We enjoy providing our guests with clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home, and look forward to you staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

First of all, this is a very pretty hotel, it's on the main drag right by 322/220 highway, and you're right by gas stations and close to restaurants. It is impeccably clean, the rooms are quiet, there are drink machines and ice machines on every floor, the bathroom was huge, the beds were SOOOO comfortable, we had a fridge and microwave in our room, AND extra linens and down feather pillows! I absolutely LOVED my experience here! The hot tub and the pool were perfect for a large group, and very clean. They have handicap accessible rooms, and a fast elevator. The breakfast in the morning was delicious (cereal, fruit, yogurt, muffins, toast, bagels, bacon, eggs, hash browns, waffles, juice, coffee, tea, hot cocoa, ect) and the staff, particularly Yolanda & Craig went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Best aspects of this hotel: Breakfast, Beds, Cleanliness, Friendly staff, and aesthetics. Negative aspects of this hotel: none that I can think of. I encourage families to stay here, couples, and large groups! You'll love it!

Room Tip: I had room 303 overlooking the parking lot - you get a lot of sun, but it's close to the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments! We do our best and I'm glad that we did our jobs during your stay! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Gorgeous, newly updated rooms. Impeccably clean, full hot breakfast and very friendly staff. Perfect spot to stay as a family with young kids. Very quiet for sleeping. I normally don't enjoy staying at hotels, but this was so nice I didn't want to check out! It really felt like a vacation staying here.

Room Tip: We booked a queen suite, to divide the kids up for better rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amthim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words after staying at our hotel! We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to State College!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The hotel was fine, and the staff was great. Apparently whoever manages the hotel, or the buffet, requires extra training in planning for a sold out facility. And its not like they didn't know at least a week a head of time that the place was full. If not for the disaster of the buffet, I would have given the place 4 or 5 stars.
We went down to the buffet breakfast at 945 AM on Sunday, April 15. This is well before closing of the buffet, at 1030 Apparently there was hardly anything left to eat. All the mixed fruit was gone, the waffles irons kept blowing out the circuit breakers, and could not be used. There was no coffee, unless you kept asking for the pots to be refilled. All the danish was gone. And I could go on and on. Only thing left was some bagels, muffins, and sausage. This was not the fault of the buffet staff. There where running around, trying to accommodate everyone, but appeared short of help. The hotel was full. EXTREMELY POOR PLANNING on the part of management. They knew the hotel was fill, but did nothing to make sure enough staff was working, or ample food was available. When we asked the staff, they said they had run out of all the above mentioned items, and there would be no more. So for $180 for one night, the price was way to high, and what was promised as far as a free buffet was a joke. My first stay here, and will probably be my last. I have stayed at numerous State College Hotels over they past 4 years, and never had encountered a buffet, where the food was gone 45 minutes before closing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JinglesNewtown_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, April 17, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I do realize we had some problems with the breakfast on the morning of your stay, and we are already working on adding another circuit for the waffle station so when we are busy that will not be a problem. In additon, we are constantly working with our staff to be better organized and prepared for our guests.

We appreciate the feedback and hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites this weekend while travelling to Penn State for a swim meet. Our reservation was booked under a swim team group. I didn't realize we were going to be staying in a brand new hotel property, so I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel, built in Oct. 2011, is conveniently located a few minutes from downtown and the university. There were plenty of restaurants nearby without the hassles of parking downtown.
The front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant. Our room and the hotel common areas were spotless. The lobby decor was warm and inviting. A hot buffet breakfast was included in the room rate. The perishable items on the breakfast buffet were all fresh. In fact, the scrambled eggs tasted fresher than I have come to expect at a hotel breakfast buffet. Immediately after we checked in and reached our room, the front desk staff called to make sure we were satisfied with our accommodations. What a nice touch! I would definitely stay at this property if I were in the Penn State area in the future. I liked the hotel so much; I joined their Rewards Program!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacayisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments about your stay at our property. I'm happy that you enjoyed the hotel and our service, and look forward to meeting you in person the next time you visit State College!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The entire team at "The Country Inn and Suites" was "Excellent".Amanda at the Front Desk went above and beyond to accommodate my family needs and I was also impressed with Craig "Superb" customer service skills, who offered to move his car so my husband could park his car closer to the hotel entrance! We "Enjoyed" our stay and highly recommend "The Country Inn and Suites" and look forward to staying there in the future!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divapeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments! We like to give our guests the feeling of "family" and give them the best costumer service we can! After all, that's what hospitality is all about! Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
532 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
769 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
240 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#15 of 26 in State College
106 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Address: 1357 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing