We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting concept”

Chen's Mongolian Buffet
Ranked #46 of 242 Restaurants in State College
Cuisines: Mongolian
Description: Zip:16801
Restaurant details
Description: Zip:16801
Syosset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting concept”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had never been to this style restaurant. An all you can eat buffet where you pick the ingredients, spices and sauces and the food is cooked and brought to you. I totally enjoyed the experience and would love it if this type restaurant opened in my area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the meal”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the dinner buffet at Chen's. The cost was $11.25 per person but we did have a coupon from a booklet in the HUB at Penn State. A wide assortment of fresh vegetables, meat and starches to be stir fried by the chefs at Chen's. The salad bar was minimal but the stir fry very good.
I give Chen's a solid 4 rating

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VCC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stir Fry Heaven”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The choice of food for you to make your own stir fry is awesome. There are many vegetables, noodles, and meat to choose from. The plus side is you get not only choose the type of meat but how much.
This was our first visit and they were very willing to help us and gave is a tour or the food and procedure to get the best experience.
The bathrooms were very clean and I find that makes a difference for me as well.
The service was a little slow but there is a salad bar to help if you are too hungry to wait for your food to be cooked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

For the #3 ranked restaurant in State College this place should have been amazing. I went to a similar style place in Chicago and Fort Wayne, Indiana (FlatTops) so I knew what I was going to be getting. Like all of the other reviews, there are veggies, different kids of meat, and about 12 sauces to choose from. You make your own bowl of what you want and they cook it. Server was okay, but it took forever to have the food come out. There was one person that was cooking during lunch hour. When I got my food, it was alright. Nothing great. Nothing terrible. Just average. Price was alright; $7.50 or so for lunch. There was egg drop and wanton soup that you could get also. There was also a cold bar that included some fruit, jello, etc. Again nothing special. You get what you pay for I guess.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EyeLoveFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State Collage
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome flavor, Clean, and friendly.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

You choose your food from a large variety of choices., building your own meal. They cook it and bring it to your table. All you can eat and the place is clean and the staff very friendly and willing to help you choose your foods. The food is fresh and kept in plentiful supply. Drinks are filled without asking. The soups and extras are very good too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brucad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chen's Mongolian Buffet also viewed

 
State College, PA
State College, PA
 

Been to Chen's Mongolian Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing