We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will undoubledly stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Will undoubledly stay here again”
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We stayed at the Hampton Inn/Williamsburg Square for June 14 and 15, when my son had his Penn State orientation.

We were assigned a room for the handicapped, and so the room and bathroom appeared to be particularly large. The room was quite nice, and included both a desk and easy chair with matching upholstered footrest. My wife and I thought that the double bed was a couple of inches narrower than the doubles in most hotels. Also, the fitted sheets came up during the night.

The hotel is well appointed, with a public computer for the guests. The lobby is quite large, with a lot of seating, and also doubles as the breakfast eating area. Breakfasts are more substantial than the norm. The first morning we had poached eggs with sausage gravy, the second breakfast was french toast fingers and delicious sausage slices. In addition, there was an array of cereals, juices, muffins, english muffins, etc. for toasting.

The exercise room has one or two treadmills, a bike, a stepper, a situp/decline bench, and a small weighted ball. The outdoor pool is adequate for someone who wants to take a dip, but too small to swim laps.

They have 24 hour coffee, decaf, tea, and apples. At night, rather than just sitting in the room, we sat on the lobby couches, and had some coffee while watching a baseball game on the lobby tv.

The hotel is less than 10 minutes from campus, and there is an Olive Garden and an Outback Steakhouse across the parking lot. Since it was off season, we were able to eat at the Olive Garden without any wait, and at the Outback after a short wait.

The hotel is also near a shopping area with a Target, and there are other restaurants in the immediate area.

My family will undoubtedly stay at the Hampton Inn/Williamsburg Square again.

  • Liked — Clean and well furnished
  • Disliked — Beds were a little narrow
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank astern1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    107
    33
    12
    8
See reviews for
157
56
20
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We needed a place overnight after our son's graduation, and they actually had a room. It was well appointed, very large, and very clean. The staff was on top of things, and made sure we were satisfied with our room. The breakfast bar was very nice with an assortment of fruit, cereal, pastry, eggs, tortillas, and plenty of coffee!
It is in a very nice setting in State College and convenient to restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerjagmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2006

Stayed here one night while dropping off my daughter at Penn State. The hotel is new and the room was a nice size with very comfortable beds. Bathroom was also a nice size and had enough towels for the four of us. The room had complimentary high-speed internet. Complimentary breakfast even included scrambled eggs and sausage. It's only 2 miles out of State College and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mckinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

This hotel was nice - I was surprised since it had a lower star rating, but it had great beds, plenty of room the 4 of us, an outdoor heated pool, fitness center, included buffett breakfast and it was clean.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room tempature
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

Can't say enough good things about this Hampton Inn. It's beautifully decorated with a large gracious lobby and helpful employees. It's right off the 322 bypass, convenient for travelers who don't want to venture into State College itself (we didn't). There are several other hotels and two restaurants (Outback Steakhouse and Olive Garden) right in the unique Williamburg complex. Or you can drive just a minute or two to other restaurants and shops.

Our room (a King suite) was lovely, clean, and full of amenities. The kitchen area was stocked with utensils, dishes, and even some popcorn for us to eat. The room had the great new Hampton bed and linens. The breakfast area was very large and offered the usual Hampton Inn breakfast; there's also a computer in the breakfast room/lobby for guests to use. The pool is an outdoor pool, which I thought was odd for this area of the country.

After 2 days of crummy hotels in other Pennsylvania locations, this one was a jewel! I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiberryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2006

My family travels through the State College area often, and we always book rooms here. Definitely one of the nicest and most comfortable properties in the entire Hampton Inn chain. Location is perfect...it's a quiet place, yet there are restaurants at your doorstep, and you're a short drive from PSU and the airport (free shuttle to airport, BTW). We always look forward to staying here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bakerloo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2005

There is very little to complain about here. The staff is friendly and helpful, but they leave you alone. The room is large and comfortable (though I would have been happy with two tables instead of three); breakfast is simple but fresh and tasty; and the outdoor pool is well maintained. The spacious lobby (stocked with coffee, hot chocolate, and hot and cold tea 24 hours a day) has free wireless internet service, and there is a hardwired high-speed connection in the room, too.

The water came through the faucet in the sink with such force that it was hard to avoid splashing the counter and mirror, and the closet door had a way of getting stuck--but these are really just quibbles. And there is no restaurant, but there are several standard choices available nearby (Outback Steakhouse and Olive Garden are within walking distance, and others are a short drive away).

I would strongly recommend this hotel as a place where you can be sure to have a relaxing and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrGoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yhasan, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, October 30, 2008
First and foremost, I want to thank you for your feedback and appreciate your kind words regarding this hotel. However, in response to your comment about the forceful bathroom faucets in the room, we have replaced the aerators in the sinks of all our rooms, which decreased the pressure of the water, leaving a smooth stream that won't splash anymore. We have also installed a handle on the mirrored door to allow for a better grip when opening the closet, as well as magnets to help close the door securely. I sincerely hope these accomodations will make your stay with us more comfortable and satisfying in the future. We take our customer feedback on trip advisor very seriously and rely on these comments to better serve our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites State College
SpringHill Suites State College
#5 of 26 in State College
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
Address: 1955 Waddle Rd, State College, PA 16803-1639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Romantic Hotel in State College
#11 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Hotel in State College at Williamsburg Square is an excellent choice when planning your visit to the home of the Penn State Nittany Lions. The Hampton Inn boasts all the modern amenities you would expect from a Hampton Inn. Make yourself at home in one of the 71 stylish, fully-furnished guest rooms with a 32" flat-screen LCD television, easy to operate alarm clock/radio, large work desk, and free high-speed internet access. You'll also enjoy the convenience of having a coffee maker and iron/ironing board in your room. Start the day off with Hampton's free hot breakfast or opt for free drinks in the beverage area. If you’re in a rush, pick up a Hampton's on the run breakfast bag available Monday through Friday. Go for a dip in the outdoor pool, enjoy an invigorating workout in the exercise room, and pick up a few essentials from the convenience store. Host a meeting in the conference room with available space for up to 50 people. Corporate guests can stay connected in the fully-equipped business center. The Penn State campus is just minutes from the hotel, and all the wonderful shopping and dining of downtown State College is just minutes away. Consider staying with us on your next trip to State College Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Square
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square Hotel State College
Hampton Inn State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing