We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but Noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kirkwood, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice but Noisy!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

If it weren't for the noise, I would have definitely given this hotel at least 4 stars.

The room was pleasant and the bed was very comfortable. After driving through some horrible rain, we were looking for the comfort of a good nights sleep, so I was especially pleased that there were room darkening curtains on the window that actually worked! But as I realized during the night, this hotel is close to the the highway and right off of a very busy road. We were able to hear road noise in our room all night. (We were in a room in the front of the building, on the top floor directly above the small roof of the entry way.) That wasn't bad enough, when at around 7:00am there was the sound of a JACK HAMMER!!! Ah, what a lovely wake up alarm on a morning that I was just hoping to sleep in. It was coming from a restaurant that was in front of the Hotel, they were taking out their sidewalk. Not a pleasant wakeup call.

I think what was the most disappointing was at the front desk during checkout. I was asked how our stay was and I told him it was noisy. His reply was "Gee, we have never gotten that complaint, and you were on the top floor." Then I mentioned the road noise and the jack hammer. And his reply was "Yea, they started that some time after 7am, didn't they?". Really?!? No, "I'm sorry for that", or "I hope you will give us another chance in the future". Just basically a disregard for the issue I had at their establishment.

(It should be noted that I have stayed at the other two hotels in the immediate area and I do not recall ever hearing the road noise as loud as I did this particular stay. And I think I may have even stayed at this hotel before but I believe that I most likely had a room facing the back of the building.)

Other than the noise, it is a fine hotel. The breakfast spread was ample and well maintained. The layout of the tables and chairs is a bit of a bother as it is hard to walk through them while folks are sitting there as the chairs are rather large and the area is a bit crowded.

Every area of the hotel appeared to be well kept and very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello debcav,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am sorry to hear about the noises you experienced during your stay and the response you got from the front desk agent. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you come to State College.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    100
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
145
52
20
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was very impressed that every small detail had been considered when preparing the hotel for guests. There were no letdowns or surprises--everything was clean, comfortable, quiet and of the highest quality. I highly recommend Hampton Inn in State College for your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lachlan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Good day Lachlan M,

Thank you for your very kind review and for staying with us. We are always happy to see a guest who has enjoyed their stay to the fullest. We hope you choose us again the next time that you are in the State College area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
377 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently stayed here for a weekend we were in town for a golf tournament at Penn State. This hotel is close to town (10 min) near lots of restaurants. Our room was comfortable and clean. We requested a rollaway and we got one even though the hotel was sold out and very busy the weekend we were there. I had called earlier in the day and the manager made sure we got one which we really appreciated. There was a working Jacuzzi tub that was a nice surprise (it was a handicap accessible room) which was a nice rest after walking 18 holes of golf with our son.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello lovetotravel560,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn and Suites during your stay in State College. We always try our best to make your stay pleasant and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our whirlpool tubs and had a relaxing rest after the golf tournament. We hope you stay with us during your next golf tournament in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumont, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

because of a Special weekend the price of the room more then doubled. The scrambled and hard boiled eggs were terrible. other then that the location was perfect, the rooms were clean, slight oder. beds were not comfortable for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Michael P,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately rates are higher during high demand weekends such as football games or Parents Weekend. We are undergoing a change in breakfast where we will be serving hard boiled eggs still in the shell and going with a different brand of scrambled eggs. We hope you will give us a second chance during your next visit to State College.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very nice hotel in nicely landscaped development. Near interstate access but more importantly, there are at least a couple restaurant options within short walking distance of the hotel - a big plus considering many hotels are off by themselves at an interchange. Rooms very clean and comfortable although could use a bit of updating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Tom M,

Thank you for staying with us during your stay in State College! We are lucky to be located in this very accommodating square with a selection of restaurants within walking distance of us. A little tip for your next visit with us, the Olive Garden and Outback Steakhouse will deliver food to the front desk of the hotel till 8pm. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a nice hotel just outside of town. It is located in a complex with other hotels, and near enough to shopping/restaurants/town to be really convenient. The hotel is clean and comfortable, with great service. The staff was great - very accommodating. Just 5 minutes to the Penn Stater Conference Center, which was super easy while staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to guarantee quiet sleeping. Stay on the front side in case it is garbage colle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M3Mechanicsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear M3Mechanicsburg,

We are always trying to make our guests feel accommodated during their stay. The Hampton is a close drive to the University as well as the conference center, just an exit down the highway that we are conveniently next to. I am happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope you choose us again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a very nice hotel but like all the other hotels in Penn State on football weekends they jack up the prices $200-$300 a night and make you stay 2 nights. The rooms are really nice and the beds are comforable. The hotel looks like it is only a couple of years old.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear George S,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn and Suites during your visit to see the Nittany Lions. We are always happy to see a guest who enjoyed their stay with us. We are always getting compliments on our beds and the newly renovated lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites State College
SpringHill Suites State College
#6 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#11 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
Address: 1955 Waddle Rd, State College, PA 16803-1639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Romantic Hotel in State College
#11 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Hotel in State College at Williamsburg Square is an excellent choice when planning your visit to the home of the Penn State Nittany Lions. The Hampton Inn boasts all the modern amenities you would expect from a Hampton Inn. Make yourself at home in one of the 71 stylish, fully-furnished guest rooms with a 32" flat-screen LCD television, easy to operate alarm clock/radio, large work desk, and free high-speed internet access. You'll also enjoy the convenience of having a coffee maker and iron/ironing board in your room. Start the day off with Hampton's free hot breakfast or opt for free drinks in the beverage area. If you’re in a rush, pick up a Hampton's on the run breakfast bag available Monday through Friday. Go for a dip in the outdoor pool, enjoy an invigorating workout in the exercise room, and pick up a few essentials from the convenience store. Host a meeting in the conference room with available space for up to 50 people. Corporate guests can stay connected in the fully-equipped business center. The Penn State campus is just minutes from the hotel, and all the wonderful shopping and dining of downtown State College is just minutes away. Consider staying with us on your next trip to State College Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Square
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square Hotel State College
Hampton Inn State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing