We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hampton - not walkable to campus/town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice Hampton - not walkable to campus/town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This seems to be a rather new Hampton property and is located North of town in a nice little area as other reviews have noted. You can walk to the Olive Garden but have other dining options near by as well. Also has very easy access off the highway.
Rooms were typical Hampton Inn rooms - well kept with clean linens and towels and a fairly comfortable bed. The only complaint we had about the room was how small the (non HD) television was - but given how little time was spent in the room its not a big deal.
If you are going to be visiting Penn State and have a car - this is a great place to stay. Far enough from campus and main roads that it is very quiet but you will have to drive to downtown attractions and the campus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feeback, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back as a return guest. Being just 2 miles from the Penn State campus and right off interstate 99 makes us a very convenient location for folks visiting our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    98
    26
    9
    6
See reviews for
137
50
19
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

As a hilton gold member, i do stay at many properties, Hampton Inns, embassy suites, Hiltons, Hilton Garden Inn across the country. this Hampton Inn from the outside looks like one of the nicest. it is in a complex with 3 other hotels from different brands but built to look similar. all look the same with the nice brick exterior.
the check in was fine. As a gold, they "upgraded" me to a suite. the room was first floor, next door to the pantry door which is the door for the ktichen. it is also two doors from the exit to the pool. to me a very odd room for an upgrade. Yes - this is a short hall way as the remainder is from the eating area. If you are getting a good picture, it is far from what i get when i list on my profile high quiet floor.
As for the room, nice - it was a mini suite. good size, bed was OK - have had better at other Hampton Inn's. the real turn off was while the room was cleaned, the towels in the sink area were not replaced and there was actual toothpaste on the wall by the towels. towels in shower area were fine.
overall - i give this an average. If the treatment to a gold were better for a room location and the towels were actually clean, it would score higher.
as for location - convenient to Wegmans - short drive, as well chain stores on Atherton. Drive to campus on I99 takes 10 mins except on a game day. you cant walk anywhere from here.
If you want to be nearer to campus or be able to walk and not move your car, there are other hotels to try.
one last thing - nice touch - complimentary soft pretzels and lemonade in the lobby area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBF6288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear MBF6288,

My apologies for my late response to you on your review of our hotel. I really appreciate your comments and feeback and want you to know that I have shared your comments with my housekeeping staff. We always strive to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay, and I hope that during your next visit to our area you will consider giving us another chance to make a better impression. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We found this to be a well maintained and clean hotel. Very conveniently located and easy to reach. Close to downtown, campus, and several restaurants. Would definitely recommend to others and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in a no smoking room on the 4th floor at the front of the building. No complaints about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mizz0um0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate you taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. Thank you for your commnets, and I hope you'll stay with us again if ever your in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were visiting family and stayed one night. Very pleased with all aspects of our stay. The mattresses were like sleeping on a cloud, the duvet was fluffy, and the overall room and hotel was very clean. Complimentary breakfast buffet was better than I've had elsewhere. A LOT of variety. Within walking distance (on the other side of the parking lot) to Olive Garden.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEP639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear DEP639,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. I always enjoy receiving feeback from guests and i apologize that i'm just responding back to you now. I hope we will ahve the opportunity to have you back as a return guest. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel was very clean and all the staff went out of their way to be my accommodations were perfect.Rooms are clean,spacious,with a lovely decor.Did not have to drive to find a restaurant as an Outback and Olive Garden was in the Parking lot.I would definitely Stay at a Hampton now matter where I travel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faircritic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear faircritic49,

I'm glad we were able to make your stay comfortable, and I appreciate your comments and feeback. My apologies for not repsonding sooner to your review. Having the Olive Garden and Outback Steakhouse with in easy walking distance is a plus. They will also deliver to the front desk if guestscan't/ don't want to leave their room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
207 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over the Memorial Day weekend. It's right off the main highway and is easily accessible if you are attending anything at PSU. The place is very clean, the staff helpful and the free breakfast is a plus. I thought the fitness center room was weak- just 3 pieces of equipment and No weights. The pool was ok but not enough lounge chairs. This hotel shares an area with a Marriott and a Holiday Inn. There is an Olive Garden and Outback in the parking lot and a Texas Roadhouse about a half block away. Overall, it's a clean hotel and a good value.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback, we apprectiate you taking your time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. We hope you'll stay with us again if you are ever back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Just got back from a one-night stay on April 17. Visiting Penn State with my daughter. I love this hotel - it was actually more pleasant than some 4 star hotels I have stayed at. Every part of the stay: the friendliness of the hotel staff, cleanliness of the room, super convenient location, and the delicious free breakfast. Don't hesitate to book a room here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterHotDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while you visited Penn State. We have a hardworking staff working here to make your stay a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#4 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites State College
SpringHill Suites State College
#6 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
2.0 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
Address: 1955 Waddle Rd, State College, PA 16803-1639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Romantic Hotel in State College
#11 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Hotel in State College at Williamsburg Square is an excellent choice when planning your visit to the home of the Penn State Nittany Lions. The Hampton Inn boasts all the modern amenities you would expect from a Hampton Inn. Make yourself at home in one of the 71 stylish, fully-furnished guest rooms with a 32" flat-screen LCD television, easy to operate alarm clock/radio, large work desk, and free high-speed internet access. You'll also enjoy the convenience of having a coffee maker and iron/ironing board in your room. Start the day off with Hampton's free hot breakfast or opt for free drinks in the beverage area. If you’re in a rush, pick up a Hampton's on the run breakfast bag available Monday through Friday. Go for a dip in the outdoor pool, enjoy an invigorating workout in the exercise room, and pick up a few essentials from the convenience store. Host a meeting in the conference room with available space for up to 50 people. Corporate guests can stay connected in the fully-equipped business center. The Penn State campus is just minutes from the hotel, and all the wonderful shopping and dining of downtown State College is just minutes away. Consider staying with us on your next trip to State College Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Square
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square Hotel State College
Hampton Inn State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing