We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality room for 2-1/2 star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality room for 2-1/2 star rating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Room was very clean overall (minus the bathroom), and quiet. Bed was comfortable, and had a pull out queen sized sleeper sofa. Additional sink in the room outside of the bathroom. Nice furniture and fixtures, room looks updated and modern. The bathroom was clean outside of the filthy tile grout and sealant around the shower - the floor could use sanitizing and scrubbing. Free breakfast did not have much, but had the bare basics and was good. Staff was friendly and quickly helped you check in and out. Only serious complaint was the curtains do not close. They have sheer see-thru curtains that close, but the light-blocking privacy curtains on each side of the window are for decoration only. On the 1st floor especially, this allows all the parking lot lights and car headlights to shine brightly into your room. Very difficult to get to sleep. No pool, and only a couple pieces of exercise equipment on premises. Aside from the curtains, a very pleasant, clean, peaceful place to stay and would definitely recommend a stay here. Very nice for 2-1/2 star rating.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms allow all of the car headlights and parking lot lights shine brightly into room at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Bruce E,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry you were not able to find the black out shades, our rooms do have them and typcally they are located behind the sheer curtains. I can assure you I will check on that specific room to make sure they are there and in good working order. I hope this did not hinder your enitre nights sleep. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, and we hope to have you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    98
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
116
37
22
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Wow! What great hotel! My sister and I travel every year in December to State College to celebrate New Year's Eve with our family. This was our first stay at this property and will definitely not be our last.
Andrew checked us in on Saturday and was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and hotel services. He always had a smile on his face when we came through the hotel lobby each day.
The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was very spacious! We saw Ben, the General Manager, just about every morning we came down to enjoy the complimentary breakfast. He asked how are stay was and if there was anything he could do to make our stay better. I assured him we were having a wonderful time and let him know how impressed we were with the property and staff.
Thanks for yet, another, great stay in State College. See you next year!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Laurie S,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, I'm glad we were able to make your trip to State College memorable. Hopefully we will see you again next year, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I enjoy this hotel very much. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and feel like they are kept new looking. The standard rooms have showers instead of bath tubs, which I like and the people at the front desk are always very pleasant and willing to help.
My son is a student at PSU and I spend a lot of time in State College between visits and work and mostly stay at HI Express in Williamsburg Sq.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank flashbridgewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Flashbridgewater,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about us on Trip Advisor, your feedback is really appreciated. My staff and I try our best to provide quality customer service to all of our guests, and I hope we continue to do this for you. Please don't hesitate to let me know if we fall short during one of your visits, and I look forward to having you as a guest soon. Happy Hollidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I've been stating here off and on for 10 years on monthly business trips. The staff and rooms are great for business travelers. The fitness center was recently improved, as was the breakfast. If you need a solid 3- to 4-star hotel at a good price, stay here. Not much to offer families, but I always look forward to my next stay on business.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank fig_dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Fig_dawg,

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us, and thank you for staying with us for so long. I love to hear from folks that have been with us for some time and what their thoughts are. Thanks for the feedback and I hope we continue to provide the service you have come to expect. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Travelling on business again. Stayed a single night at this property and found the rooms very comfortable with a nice work desk. Went down in the morning to print some work at the business center and the printer was out of service. Went to the front desk to ask for help and the Manager invited me into his office and printed it for me. Would stay here again if my travels take me into the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear David,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel on trip advisor, and I'm glad I was able to help you out with the printer. I've been there myself and know how frustrating it can be. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance in the future and Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
231 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

First time staying at Williamsburg Square in State College. Perfect location just 5 minutes from the PSU campus. Hotel was conveniently located, room was very large and comfortable. Bathroom had ample counter space and good shower. The complementary breakfast was plentiful and coffee was hot and good. Front desk was efficient and helpful. We will stay hear again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: Room 416 was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swtravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear swtravelmom,

Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to having you as a guest with us again in the future. Happy Holidays!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh area
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is located in an area of shops, restaurants, and hotels convenient to Interstate 99 and Penn State’s main campus. The rooms are spacious and the hotel provides a fairly nice complimentary breakfast bar. My recent stay here would have been great if it were not for two housekeeping/maintenance issues the otherwise spoiled my stay. There was a second sink located out of the bathroom in the main room. The coffee maker was situated on the sinks counter. When I went to use the sink, I noticed that the drain stopper was closed. I opened the drain and started to run water and was immediately hit with a blast of pungent mildew odor coming from the drain. I ran the water for a while but the smell did not go away so I closed the drain and did not use the sink again. The second housekeeping issue was the bathroom floor. It did not look clean and as you can see by the attached photos the grout is white under the sink and in the edges of the room but black in the middle of the floor. The floor really could use a through scrubbing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeler_Pens_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Steeler_pens_Fan,

I would like to thank you for your feedback on the bathroom floor and the drain in the sink, I'm so sorry you ran into those issues while staying with us. I take the cleanliness of the hotel very seriously and will be speaking with my Executive Housekeeper and housekeeping team. Again thank you for bringing this to my attention and Happy Hollidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Address: 1925 Waddle Rd, State College, PA 16803-1639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in State College
#4 Green Hotel in State College
#11 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel at Williamsburg Square. This friendly, award winning hotel is located just off Interstate 99/ U.S. 220 (322 bypass) minutes from downtown State College and in the heart of Centre County, PA. Visiting Penn State? Situated only 5 minutes from the Main Campus of Penn State, Beaver Stadium and the Bryce Jordan Center. The hotel is also located near South Hills Business School in State College and Juniata College in Huntington. Visiting a customer or other local business? The Colonnade Shopping Center, located close to the hotel, includes such stores as Target, Michael's, Kohl's, Dick's Sporting Goods and Wegman's Grocery store. Hungry? We are a 2-5 minute stroll from Outback, Olive Garden, Cracker Barrel and Texas Roadhouse restaurants. We are also a short drive from Accu-Weather, Raytheon, Chemcut, ARRIS, Schoolwires and PMG. Our hotel offers all the services a business traveler needs for a productive visit including free high-speed Internet! Visiting for leisure? Nestled in the heart of Lion Country, it would be our pleasure to have you as our guest while you are attending the Central Pennsylvania Festival of the Arts, Peoples Choice Festival, Centre County Grange Fair or Bellefonte Art and Crafts Fair. Visiting for an Athletic Event? We are closely located to all the main sporting venues at Penn State University, the McCoy Natatorium, Recreation Hall and the Indoor Track. We are also minutes away from the State College Area High School, Bellefonte Area High School and Hess Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College Hotel State College
Holiday Inn State College
State College Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing