We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
271 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“What a great weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great hotel right outside Penn State. We stayed here for a football weekend and my hubby's bday at $200.00 per night, where most places charge upwards of $300-$400 per night on a football weekend. They have free, hot breakfast included. Upon our arrival on Friday, gourmet pretzel dogs were in the lobby for free. It is within walking distance aof a few good restaurants and a short drive to the Penn State campus. Originally, we were on the first floor, but a spotlight was shning in our window, so we asked to be re-located to a different floor. The staff accommodated us immediately. The hotel is clean and the staff is super nice. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetheBeach821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeeItUp666, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Good day Erika N,

I wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your feedback on our hotel and staff. Our housekeeping team works very hard to ensure every guests gets a fresh and comfortable room. Please come back and see us the next time your travels bring you through State College. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    97
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
113
37
22
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Thanks to Alex Appleby and the State College Holiday Inn Express for a perfect outing to Happy Valley! Alex took great care of our party of 8 by making sure we had everything we needed and answering our unending questions! This facility is new with wonderful decorating. Rooms were spotless and the common areas were just as nice. Breakfast was good and all the staff...housekeeping, kitchen, and front desk...were just great! We will be back!

Room Tip: Traveling for sports? The laundry in this building is on the first floor. There is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeeItUp666, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Good morning KJJK,

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback on the hotel and one of my all-stars Alex. Your comments just keep us charged up to exceed our guests' expectations. We hope to see you and your friends again soon in State College. I did want to let you know that Shaner hotels owns all the hotels in our complex. The Hampton Inn & Suites has an outdoor pool and the Springhill Suites has an indoor pool. These amenities are available to all our guests at the Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I recently came into State College to visit Penn State during move in weekend. I'm from out of town, and I was trying to find a great restaurant to try that is unique to the State College area. I stopped in at Holiday Inn Express, and the front desk clerk, Kimberly, was just fantastic about mentioning the College Diner downtown. The food and prices were fantastic. Thanks again Kimberly!

Room Tip: Go to the holiday Inn Express in State College! The lobby itself will sell you on staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeeItUp666, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Tom D,

Many thanks for your awesome comments about our hotel and staff. Kimberley just recently joined us and has already become a great addition to the team. Glad to hear that you experienced some local flavor at the Diner. Come visit us again soon. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The rooms at the hotel were very nice and very comfortable. Nice to have a shower with sliding glass doors instead of a curtain! Beds were great too. The A/C was noisy, though. The breakfast was not great - eggs were somewhat artificial tasting. Stick with baked goods, cereal and yogurt. Real dishes instead of plastic would add a lot! Overall, very nice place in a good location.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucita9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeeItUp666, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Lucita9,
Thank you for taking the time to comment of your recent visit to State College! We do our best to make our guests feel right at home and appreciate your kind words. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My son and I were recently up at State College for a Little League Tournament and had the pleasure of staying at this fine hotel. From Dan getting us an incredible rate for our stay, to all of the phenomenal staff present during our stay, I would personally like to thank you all for everything that you did for us. So, to Dan, Alex, Andrew, Tracey, Tara, and last but not least Sonya (Who took the time to drive us over to the park on the last day) your service and kindness was beyond words. I might of left out the names of a few members of the staff and if so the same deep appreciation goes out to you!!! Big thanks from Hershey Little League!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeeItUp666, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
John C,
Thank you for the wonderful comments on your recent stay. It was our pleasure to host you and your son during the recent Little League Tournament. We look forward to seeing you again soon! All my best to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed again at this hotel for a night during a recent road trip. I must say that most of my complaints from the previous stay are gone.

On our previous stay we ran into some very rude folks manning the front desk. This stay, we ran into Andrew who was working the front desk. He was extremely friendly and helpful. A true asset to the property.

I also noticed that the rooms were updated from the previous visit and are more up to par with the rest of the public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast was a bit hit or miss -- the pancake machine was working but there weren't any sweet rolls. Also, the ran out of food quite frequently, but I think it was just a side effect of the clientele (many families with children = lots of people taking lots of food).

Over all, a pleasant stay at a comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeeItUp666, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Debcav,

Thank you so much for giving us another chance to earn your business. A lot has changed over the past 12 months. Newly renovated rooms, new health club and updated breakfast area have really impressed our guests. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the HI Express as we were picking up our daughter from Camp Woodward. (awesome Camp btw!) We received a great discount as well because of mentioning the camp. The front desk staff were excellent. I think there names were Andrew & Alex. The room was clean, comfy and the breakfast just right. Too bad my daughter wasn't there, they have a pancake machine, cool and the pancakes were good! The woman working the breakfast area fast very tidy.I will definitely stay there again when travelling to camp Woodward.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devilgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeeItUp666, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Devilgirl08,

What a great trip - Camp Woodward and staying at the Holiday Inn Express State College. Camp Woodward has a wonderful reputation of hosting world class athletes in gymnastics, skateboarding and BMX biking. I happen to have a staff of world class service providers as well. I appreciate your comments on Alex and Andrew and will be sure to share them. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#4 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Address: 1925 Waddle Rd, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in State College
#4 Green Hotel in State College
#11 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel at Williamsburg Square. This friendly, award winning hotel is located just off Interstate 99/ U.S. 220 (322 bypass) minutes from downtown State College and in the heart of Centre County, PA. Visiting Penn State? Situated only 5 minutes from the Main Campus of Penn State, Beaver Stadium and the Bryce Jordan Center. The hotel is also located near South Hills Business School in State College and Juniata College in Huntington. Visiting a customer or other local business? The Colonnade Shopping Center, located close to the hotel, includes such stores as Target, Michael's, Kohl's, Dick's Sporting Goods and Wegman's Grocery store. Hungry? We are a 2-5 minute stroll from Outback, Olive Garden, Cracker Barrel and Texas Roadhouse restaurants. We are also a short drive from Accu-Weather, Raytheon, Chemcut, ARRIS, Schoolwires and PMG. Our hotel offers all the services a business traveler needs for a productive visit including free high-speed Internet! Visiting for leisure? Nestled in the heart of Lion Country, it would be our pleasure to have you as our guest while you are attending the Central Pennsylvania Festival of the Arts, Peoples Choice Festival, Centre County Grange Fair or Bellefonte Art and Crafts Fair. Visiting for an Athletic Event? We are closely located to all the main sporting venues at Penn State University, the McCoy Natatorium, Recreation Hall and the Indoor Track. We are also minutes away from the State College Area High School, Bellefonte Area High School and Hess Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College Hotel State College
Holiday Inn State College
State College Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing