We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Updated from the outside, but run down in the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kirkwood, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Updated from the outside, but run down in the room”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed for one night while passing through town. Hotel is located right of the highway which was a plus. Appeared to be in a location that would have many conveniences for the traveler, though we arrived after dark and didn't get to check out the area.

The lobby of the hotel is very nice. Makes one think of a hotel more upscale than a Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast was your typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast (sans the pancakes since that machine seemed to be broken.) Area was clean and well tended by the Breakfast folk.

The room was clean, but worn and dated looking. I gather the hotel is going through a remodel and guessing the the rooms we had booked were not yet remodeled. Nothing awful, just old and dated.

Check-in and check-out were speedy and pleasant. Like another reviewer, we had a bit of an issue with the night time desk staff. The night we stayed, the fire alarm went off very early in the morning. One of our traveling companions went down to the front desk to see what it was about and was treated rather rudely by the woman at the desk. Everyone else we dealt with in the hotel was very friendly and approachable.

Overall, a decent value for a decent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Here at the Holiday Inn Express we strive to make our guest stay I would like to personally apologize for the incident you had with the fire alarm and the front desk staff.
We are currently undergoing renovation inside the hotel and hope to be 100% complete by the end of the summer. Next time you are in the area please feel free to contact us again and we will make your stay special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    98
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
116
37
22
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed there for a wedding, and were staying for two nights. The room was decent and bed was good. Towels were thick. Location was ok, as you could walk to a couple of nearby corporate style restaurants. However, the bathroom smelled like sewer gas. The was no fan to vent it out. Also, the toilet did not flush properly. It took 4 or 5 flushes to work. The other thing about the toilet was the depth of the bowl was extremely shallow which caused a couple of problems. We reported it AT the front desk because the phone did not work. The manager on duty said they would take care of it. They did not have another room to move us to. Nothing was done and no compensation was offered. We could not wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessedbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCEWR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
First of all we want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your wedding party guests. I am not sure what the odor you were smelling as I had our Chief Engineer and his crew to evaluate what possibly it could be and to to make certain of no issues, they are still monitoring and we do appreciate you making us aware. In regards to the toilets being shallow, it has been a mixed feeling on this design, I have expressed your comments to the design team in regards to the guest room bath.
I want to extend a invitation out to you to give us another chance as we're getting into our last phases of renovations and I feel certain you will be as pleased as the team here is. Please if anything at all, our goal is for the guest to receive the service they deserve and if not we will make it right, we use your feedback to teach and train to make us all better and aware of guest needs.
Thank you,
Sherry Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This is a fine property nicely located close to Penn State. It has a free breakfast, with hot choices plus fruit, cereal, and great cinnamon buns. The lobby is great, with a fireplace and plenty of chairs. The front desk agent was very friendly when we checked in. Our rooms were neat and comfortable. Free parking and good chain restaurants within walking distance. But we had some problems. in two of our rooms, the maids did not clean properly and the beds were sloppily made. Towels were left on the floor. In one room, the bathroom was not cleaned after the first night's stay, although it was cleaned on the second night. At night, the front desk agent was not very attentive. On two occasions, the spouse of one person in our party called the hotel main number on two nights without getting through. Returning from dinner on two nights, we all saw the desk agent on the computer and on a cell phone. Our checkout was very friendly. The front desk person was on the ball, energetic and nice. We sent an email to the hotel after our stay but never received a reply.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pogitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you for the review, At the Holiday Inn Express in State College we strive to meet each of our guest needs. During the month of April we did have some storms which knocked the phone system out, which lead to the guest service agent on their phone. We can assure you that each of our housekeepers goes through a vigorous training program and have expectations to meet. By the end of July we will be finished with our hotels renovation, so we ask next time you visit the area you stay with us and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed here while watching a friend graduate from Penn State. The hotel staff was very helpful, and the rooms were clean and appeared to be newly renovated. The hotel was in a good location with a number of restaurants close by, and was adjacent to I-99. Hot breakfast was great! Well worth the price we paid. Would definitely stay again if I were in the area.

Room Tip: I used an opaque booking website and got a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grvdggr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCEWR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you so much for the nice compliments and choosing our home for the weekend to share with your experience of Graduation Day!!! The staff here is very dedicated to giving the best guest service in the area. Please keep us in mind on your trip to Happy Valley.

Again, thanks and we appreciate you being our guest.
Sherry Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This is surely the most beautiful HIE I have ever stayed in. Love the oversized walk-in shower, and the additional sink outside the bathroom. I know the Holiday Inn Group has architects--did they help design this property? If so, kudos to HIG and ICH. If it was locally
designed, kudos all the same. The halls are light and bright. The only thing i would change is to add a few more tables in the breakfast area It's not the closest to the PSU campus but I would definitely drive out here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCEWR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thanks, it excites the staff here at the Holiday Inn Express when our valued guest leave with a great experience. The architects that designed the hotel wanted the Williamsburg Square look and we're so proud. Hopefully, your next trip to PSU we'll have the pleasure of seeing you again.

Appreciate and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in State College!!

Sherry Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2011

wonderful hotel. i would recommend anyone going to state college to stay at the holiday inn express. the hotel is beautiful. and my room was spotless.and thats rare these days the rooms were great. and the staff made me feel like i was the only guest..i have never seen people more concerned with making there guest feel wecome. and glad to have you as a customer..... a hotel i didnt want to leave..i will be staying at holiday inns anytime i can if there all like this one

Room Tip: just walk up to the desk at checkin..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mproviderone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCEWR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
The staff here at the Holiday Inn Express would like to thank you for the nice compliments. We strive to be the best in town. Please, your next trip to State College, make us your home away from home.

Thanks so much!!

Sherry Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Me and my friend stayed at the hotel the night of the Elton John concert. We arrived early and received an early check in which was great because I could visit my son that attends Penn State. Room was an average hotel room but when talking to the gentleman at the desk he said they will be going through renovation very soon. Would have liked to see flat screen TV but it as just for one night. We had 3 great restaurants to pick from that were all walking distance from the hotel.

1 exit away from the Bryce Jordan and the stadium easy drive for someone out of town.

The breakfast was your average continental breakfast but we were greeted by a warm and friendly lady. She offered to top our coffee off when we were waiting in a small line for coffee.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightinglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCEWR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful response to our property. We take great pride in hearing a job well done, and it is definitely something that boosts the morale of all the employees here. I am very glad you had a great time with us and in the area and we cannot wait to see you in Happy Valley again!

Thank you!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Address: 1925 Waddle Rd, State College, PA 16803-1639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in State College
#4 Green Hotel in State College
#11 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel at Williamsburg Square. This friendly, award winning hotel is located just off Interstate 99/ U.S. 220 (322 bypass) minutes from downtown State College and in the heart of Centre County, PA. Visiting Penn State? Situated only 5 minutes from the Main Campus of Penn State, Beaver Stadium and the Bryce Jordan Center. The hotel is also located near South Hills Business School in State College and Juniata College in Huntington. Visiting a customer or other local business? The Colonnade Shopping Center, located close to the hotel, includes such stores as Target, Michael's, Kohl's, Dick's Sporting Goods and Wegman's Grocery store. Hungry? We are a 2-5 minute stroll from Outback, Olive Garden, Cracker Barrel and Texas Roadhouse restaurants. We are also a short drive from Accu-Weather, Raytheon, Chemcut, ARRIS, Schoolwires and PMG. Our hotel offers all the services a business traveler needs for a productive visit including free high-speed Internet! Visiting for leisure? Nestled in the heart of Lion Country, it would be our pleasure to have you as our guest while you are attending the Central Pennsylvania Festival of the Arts, Peoples Choice Festival, Centre County Grange Fair or Bellefonte Art and Crafts Fair. Visiting for an Athletic Event? We are closely located to all the main sporting venues at Penn State University, the McCoy Natatorium, Recreation Hall and the Indoor Track. We are also minutes away from the State College Area High School, Bellefonte Area High School and Hess Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College Hotel State College
Holiday Inn State College
State College Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing