We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful furnishings, good food”
Review of Rey Azteca

Rey Azteca
Ranked #9 of 244 Restaurants in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Willoughby, OH
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“beautiful furnishings, good food”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

If you appreciate Mexican folk art, Rey Azteca is worth a visit to see the beautiful carved and gaily painted chairs and booths. There are many oil paintings on the walls as well, so it's easy to get in the mood for Mexican cuisine. As mentioned, the large basket of chips arrived warm on both of our visits, and the salsa was just the right degree of spicy. My husband's burrito with chicken fajita meat from the lunch menu (available for a small extra charge for dinner) was yummy, with grilled onions & peppers. I was a bit disappointed by my enchiladas and quesadilla, but enjoyed the beans and rice that came with it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    57
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gracious wait staff, quick service”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were here for an early Saturday night supper. We didn't even finish the salsa & (warm) chips when our meal came. We liked the combo dinners where you get 2-3 items so you don't have to get just burritos or just tacos- unless you want too! Great selection of vegetarian dishes. Ample servings and food is hot (not overly spicy hot)- the server has an arm-long oven mitt with the platters lined up. Prices were very good. I don't think they have a bar, so it wasn't noisy in the dining areas. We will definitely come back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Mexico in Central PA - Sweetness!!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Some things are authentic! Their cheese sauce that comes as a topper on things, is off the hook awesome. You will remember the taste until you get it again.
The Guacamole used has fresh avocados in it along with other fresh ingredients also making it insanely good.
I order there Supreme burrito or tex burrito every-time and I'm never disappointed (over 5 years). As for the other things on the menu I'm not sure as I have not had them.

Menu is also nice, it does not take an hour to read, unlike other restaurants. (these other restaurants are obliviously not too swift)

Decor - Nicer than 85% OF State College Restaurants, if you have a problem here than nothing will please you - just move to Mexico.

Upon seating tortillas and salsa placed in front of your noise = The salsa flavor is off the hook.

5/5 for burritos and cheese sauce with guacamole

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grassyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tex mex”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Not authentic I haven't tried other restaurants that serve Mexican food up at state, but I will continue my search for the real stuff here. It's a few steps up from Taco Bell. They probably use grade b beef not d but the price leap is huge. If you order something with cilantro tell them to go easy on that. They also load up on beans and skimp in meat

Helpful?
Thank inuyasha0489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine in warm atmosphere”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've been to this place only a small amount of times but the food is excellent and the atmosphere is so warm and welcoming! Prices are reasonable and they have a wide variety of delicious dishes. I enjoy this place and will definitely be going back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GizemU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rey Azteca also viewed

 

Been to Rey Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing