We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special Dinner”

Carnegie Inn & Spa Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Carnegie Inn & Spa Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 245 Restaurants in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: CATA HP Route
Description: The Carnegie Inn & Spa is a 20 Room, AAA 4 Diamond Hotel operating a magnificant restaurant within it premise. The restaurant has been selected 7 years in a row as the Best Fine Dining and Most Romantic Dining in the area. Please call, or go to our website to make reservations as we use OpenTable. Where Every Occasion is a Special Occasion!
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

It was a Monday evening, the restaurant was not very busy. My sister, brother-in-law, husband and I, had a wonderful, relaxing, special dinner at the Carnegie House. Before our dinner, we sat by the roaring fireplace in a large living room and enjoyed drinks and hors d'oeuvres. The waitress took our order while sitting in these comfortable chairs. When dinner was ready, we were called to our table.

The food was excellent. I had the salmon. My husband also ordered the salmon and thought it was the best he had ever eaten. The wait staff was very, very attentive. ---Wonderful, wonderful, relaxing evening.

The Carnegie House reminds me a little of some European restaurants, where eating is the experience, and takes the entire evening.

Oh, by the way, the lobster bisque was to die for.

Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your dining experience was with us. We certainly appreciate the kind words. We strive to make the dining a truly unique experience, set apart from all the other restaurants. We believe a break from life is truly needed and we are delighted we could make that happen for you.
By the way, the lobster bisque is my favorite as well.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Carnegie Inn & Spa Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

I travel for business 100 + nights each year and have never stayed in a more unique and comfortable place as this. The staff treats each guest as royalty - its as if you have a personal servant. Love this place!

1  Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Greetings!
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on our quaint little hotel! We really do try to go above and beyond in making each guest feel special. And I can tell you that is somethine we cannot teach, but it is engrained in the character of each of our staff. And we are lucky to have each one of them, knowing they will take care of you our guest.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us in the near future!
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Book the stay and be pampered! Even without the spa, the kindness of the staff, comfort of the rooms and the tasty and cozy restaurant make this a special place - whether visiting Penn State or passing through for a remarkable weekend.

Thank morningglory201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay and that you chose us on your trip through the state. We do hope that you will think of us again the next time you are coming through or perhaps as a get away vacation spot as there is so much to do in the area...in addition to the spa!
Thanks again,
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Probably has the best ambiance of any restaurant in State College. The best restaurant for a relaxing and romantic meal. The service is impeccable. Food is very good, although not excellent. Down side is the price which is relatively high for the area. But if I'm going to have a pricey and elegant meal, this sure beats the snobbery of Zola and its mediocre food. This is our choice for a very special meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Robert D.,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your dining experience with us. We go out of our way to bring in the best quality products, such as our sea bass that is flown in fresh each week. We also strive to use local products such as vegetables, dairy and duck.
As you state, it is a unique environment and we are delighted you were able to enjoy us and look forward to having you come back again. If there is anything you need, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Enjoyed two wonderful meals at the Carnegie Inn - one with my husband and one with a group of friends. Yes, it is a bit pricey, but it is one of the best dining experiences in the area. You are welcomed in the library for drinks and amuse bouche as your order is taken. Geri keeps a great wine list and the chef prepares a sumptuous dinner. The lamb was cooked to perfection, as was the Chilean sea bass. The service is almost invisible. If you have a special occasion, this is the place to celebrate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Greetings Susan B.,
Thank you for the kind comments regarding your dining experience you had with us. We strive to have everyone experience what it is you stated in your comments by offering an invisible service and providing the best product that is available.
We hope you will be back to dine with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnegie Inn & Spa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carnegie Inn & Spa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing