We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imperial Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
$93
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Garden Inn State College(State College)(Great Value!)
$152
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites(State College)(Great Value!)
$102
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Penn State(State College)(Great Value!)
$101
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(State College)(Great Value!)
$71
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn State College(State College)(Great Value!)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Penn State(State College)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toftrees Golf Resort(State College)(Great Value!)
$84
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
2
4
5
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
4
5
4
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 20 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just spent parents weekend at penn state and nothing but good things to say about the imperial motor inn. Not expecting much for the price but rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. For a small budget hotel the location is ideal right at the corner of university drive steps from campus and downtown. The owners are kind, helpful and eager to please laying out a nice little continental breakfast with coffee, tea and pastries. Do not be put off by the fact they ate sometimes hard to find they are usually cleaning rooms but they are more than helpful. Great bang for the buck.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dadakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

You get what you pay for. It was a bit stale-smelling inside, but other than that, I saw zero creepy-crawlers, we didn't have our valuables stolen, and the personnel were not as soul-less as others have reported.

One complaint: the bathroom could have been the one in Saw, without the murder scene or the torture devices. The shower leaked and the toilet was not the cleanest.

They give free coffee. Albeit, without the good flavorful creamers and Truvia sweetener selection.

If we end up feeling cheap again, we may consider staying again... Maybe.

Room Tip: Stay away from the corner rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingGabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

While other hotels were charging $150 or $200 and most had no vacancy, picked up a room for $69 a night, a 1000 feet from my kids dorm, on move in weekend. Now that's value. The hotel is old but it's clean and basically in good shape. Only issue I could find is holes in the bedspread almost like cigarette burns even though it was a non-smoking room. It's clearly not a four star hotel but it gets four stars for location, price, and being clean. After a LONG day I was ecstatic to get such a deal. If the price was right I would have no problem using this hotel for a football weekend. It's a thousand times better than the Happy Valley Motor Inn (State College) or Brown's Hill Motel (Mill Hall) both of which were old and FILTHY.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fab5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was in State College for an overnight stay while my daughter was staying on PSU's campus for orientation. I didn't spend much time in the room, but while I was there, it was serviceable. Each room has cable and large screen TVs. I was also told there is wifi, though I did not have any devices to try it out. The fridge and microwave were a real bonus. One caveat: the office is not always open and/or there's not always someone at the desk. If you expect to receive any phone calls, you need to notify the desk agent and get the phone number that allows people to call your room directly, they cannot transfer calls like they do in full-service hotels. They will not give out your room number without your permission. I guess in today's day and age, that's not a bad thing. The one thing, though, that I really would have liked, was a security chain. The only lock was a push button. All in all, I'd say, it's a good place to stay, fantastic location, ample parking and the price can't be beat.

Room Tip: Rooms at the corner diagonal to the office are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MethuselahSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

It ain't the Ritz, BUT... the room was clean and serviceable, the staff was friendly & helpful, the price was right, and the location is great. It's an old-fashioned "Motor Inn" out of the 50's/60's, so if you're looking for amenities and/or something modern, this won't be for you. But if the qualities I mention above are what matter to you, this is an appropriate place to stay. Very convenient access to PSU campus (couple of blocks) and to College Ave, the main drag.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews