We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for My Needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nittany Budget Motel
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for My Needs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

This property exactly met my needs. I was in town for a conference and did not want to spend an arm and a leg. It was very reasonably priced and only a short drive to the location of my conference. The front desk personnel were genuinely nice. The small convenience store on site was very nice. I loved the walking/jogging paths around the property. As a woman traveling alone, I always felt safe. The small continential breakfast was a nice touch. The room was very clean and comfy and the bathroom actually sparkled.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bermudafreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are so pleased that you were satisfied with your stay and that we were able to meet your requirements! Our housekeeping staff loves hearing comments like yours! I will be sure to tell them that your room was just to your liking! Furthermore, I am personally pleased that you were able to walk around the area without worries. I understand the need for a sense of security when traveling alone and I am very glad that you found it here at the Nittany Budget. Thank you for taking the time to let us know what’s working at our property. We hope to have you back next time you’re in town for a conference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    37
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
45
23
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

My daughter and son-in-law moved to State College and I stayed at this motel for three days last week while helping them move in. It was an excellent place to stay and I plan to stay here again whenever I return to State College to visit them. The room and bathroom were clean; things were quiet. It's a well-maintained motel and the persons in charge are attentive and caring. There's even a free continental-type breakfast available delivered to a "breakfast nook" that opens up right into your own room. In all my years of staying at motels that's a wonderful feature I'd never seen before. There's a convenience store within short walking distance, that has a Dunkin' Donuts. The price is more than reasonable. I had never been to State College before and was very glad I found this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerM3295PU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we’re doing! Our breakfast is definitely a favorite amenity at the Nittany Budget and we are pleased that you enjoyed it. We think it is a wonderfully unique feature in the growing landscape of cookie-cutter hotels. We are glad that you found us to be economical without sacrificing quality! Our staff will be very pleased to hear your kind words about them! Good luck to your daughter and son-in-law in their new home and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Everything from the staff to the motel room was great about the Nittany Budget Motel. From the time we checked to the time we checked out, the staff was super-friendly and obviously very proud of the NBM. The fact that we were also served breakfast daily as part of the cost, made an already very economical motel, even better. Also, the fact that they were pet friendly really made this the only place that I will stay when I am in State College! Keep up the great work, folks!

Room Tip: Probably rooms behind the hotel were more quiet - less car traffic and foot traffic. Very safe and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RunOverDepression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel! We are so excited that you found everything to be above your satisfaction! We do love hearing that people enjoy the work we are doing, and I will pass your review along to the rest of my staff! We will be so very glad to welcome you and your canine friends back to the Nittany Budget. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We visited during Arts Fest and had a wonderful stay. Staff was incredibly friendly and eager to help us with anything we needed. Affordable option (even during event weekends). Easy cab ride back from downtown (~$15 with tip). Highly recommended, low-cost option for a no frills stay in State College.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review! It pleases us greatly to hear that you recommend staying with us. We believe that the best indicator of how we are doing is whether you would recommend us to someone else. It’s wonderful to hear that you would! Furthermore, I’m glad you were able to get to downtown and back at a fairly low cost to you, and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope we were everything you needed and more. Hope to see you next time you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Located west of State College, the motel is easy to find, seven minutes from Penn State, and priced lower than most other properties in State College. The room was clean, and had a mini-fridge and a microwave, plus a flat screen TV and free wifi. A complimentary breakfast (coffee, juice, bagels--you choose from a small menu selection) is delivered via a little locked nook at the time you specify. Staff was friendly, helpful, and approachable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dengaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide an excellent guest experience at a great value. We are thrilled to hear your positive review. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Happy Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed during Arts Festival. Motel is clean, comfortable and a short drive to town. Management and housekeeping were friendly. In fact, one housekeeper verbalized her pleasure of working for the motel. Receiving coffee, bagels and juice in the "nook" was an added plus.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donkprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel! We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Nittany Budget! Furthermore, I am so very glad that our housekeeper expressed how much she enjoys working here. Esther was very pleased to hear that her hard work is being noticed and appreciated! We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast in the morning and found yourselves conveniently located for your visit to the area! We hope to see you back here for next Arts Fest, if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banska Bystrica, Slovakia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We came very late and thw receptionist welcomed us with a big smile.
Room was little bit smelly (maybe from the older carpet) after few minutes with opened window it was away.
bathroom seems renovated and also wifi comes for free.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy E, General Manager at Nittany Budget Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your review! We apologize for the smell in your room, but glad that it was easily resolved. Our friendly staff is always ready to help our guests have a more comfortable stay. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our complimentary Wi-Fi! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
2.8 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#22 of 26 in State College
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Budget Motel

Property: Nittany Budget Motel
Address: 2070 Cato Ave, State College, PA 16801-2764
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nittany Budget Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nittany Budget Motel just 3 miles from Downtown State College. Complimentary light breakfast daily, free Wi-Fi, and on-site Brewsky's Bottle Shop. We invite all visitors to the State College area to enjoy the friendly atmosphere for which we are known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nittany Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing