We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So many choices...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Berkey Creamery

Berkey Creamery
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Logansport, Indiana
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“So many choices...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

... it was a bit overwhelming!

We were in Happy Valley for a Volleyball Tourney and had to stop by. This was my first visit and I must say, I will return!!

I know it's tradition for all who visit -- I love ice cream and I haven't been to such a place as this that was so organized. There was a line, but it went to quickly. I think part of it was you spent so much time trying to figure out what 'flavor' of the day you'd like to try.

The portions were large -- and when we visited, it was warm. I'd go for either the bowl or shake. I wanted to savor it as long as possible without it melting down my arm!

I was also impressed that they have separate receptacles for recycling. Thank you!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DivaLVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    163
    45
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average at best-Over-hyped for sure.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Have visited the Berkey Creamery on many occasions during the past four years, I will say that the lines can be quite long and the ice cream is absolutely nothing special. It may be a Penn State tradition bur clearly an over-hyped one. Worth a visit?, You decide.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“From Cow to Cone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ice cream is good (not necessarily the "amazing" review Penn Staters seem to give it. Food is another story. Salads are purchased from an outside vendor and over priced. Sandwiches are way over priced as well, although the Italian Panini with Pesto Mayo is delicious Staff are very friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Must Stop In”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lines move quickly during busy events. Selection is huge and flavors are out of this world. Portion size is good for the money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NittanyLi0nFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinconning, Michigan
Level Contributor
358 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I'm not sure that the ice cream was more spectacular than other ice creams I have had, but it was still good nonetheless. If you are on Penn State's campus, I would suggest you stop and visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkey Creamery also viewed

 

Been to Berkey Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing