We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 30, 2014

very clean, quite, great staff, breakfast was good and rates are excellent. beds are cozy. nice little kitchette.close to mall and other shops and restaurants. state college is 5 miles away and lots more shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you so much for the review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the hotel and the area. We are about 3 miles from PSU and it is good to see more restaurants and shopping open across the street from us as the area grows. We appreciate you sharing this review with future guests and look forward to seeing you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 488 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

Hotel Met all of our expectations. Very nice, especially for the price. The pool was kept comfortably warm as it was March in Northwest PA and so many hotels do not keep their indoor pools warm enough to enjoy! This is one reason that we pay the extra amount for a hotel with an indoor pool. We have stayed at this hotel before and enjoy the location right next to a great movie complex!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 281martak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you so much for the comments about the pool. We hope that this will help other visitors traveling to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was an overnight stay. Our room was pleasant, large enough not to feel cramped. Many amenities (refrigerator, microwave) were not needed for an overnight stay, but would be nice when they are needed. The limited exposure we had with staff was good -- friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

We would like to thank you for the review and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am also glad to see that you pointed out that we do have the microwave and fridge in all of our rooms. This can be so important fo some travelers. We look forward to your visit the next time that you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is very nice and reasonable. Well located near 99, 80. Bed comfortable, shower has large area, they use technology, so you must put your card in their system to get electricity. They are trying to save electricity when you are not in the room. Nice idea, but you can come into a room that the temperature is not what you expect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sugar2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our close location to the major highways. We do have energy efficient technology at the hotel to help conserve. We try to make sure the temperature in the rooms is at room temperature for our guests arriving. We thank you for the great review and hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I scored this room for $50 on a bidding website. It was great. We used the gym twice, the pool and hot tub twice, frank the unlimited coffee, and had a hot breakfast. What a great value. I feel like we received way more than our monies worth.

We walked next door to a brand new BEAUTIFUL 10 theater movie complex and were the only two in the movie.

The Nittany Mall is across the street.

The bed was very comfy and room was all new. I think it was just built in 2009. Rooms are kept up with. Towels are soft.

I highly recommend this nice, new hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skibum9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you so much for the great reviews of our hotel. We do have the theatre in our parking lot and mall across the street which makes plenty to do in walking distance. I am glad to see that you were able to get a great deal on your room. Always feel free to contact the hotel directly also to find out about any promotions that we may offer locally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We booked at the last minute for a room during the PIAA District 6 Swim Regionals. Most motels in the area were full or outrageously priced. I had seen the Best Western Plus when booking for other State College trips, but it appeared to be too far from the college. Our decision to book here was a good one, because we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. And the drive only appeared long on the map - getting to the pool took only 10 minutes.

The hotel look very up to date, the room was well-decorated and immaculately clean. The TV remote (labeled the "Green Remote" was designed for easy cleaning, and it didn't have the gunk between the keys that other hotel remotes seem to have. The pool and hot tub met all of our expectations.Breakfast was tasty and the serving line was spread out enough so we weren't jostling for position when serving ourselves. The serving line was was set up so that the attendant could reach all of the stations from the rear, so she wasn't in the way when refilling food or cleaning up. The management had the foresight to set up one of their meeting rooms as an overflow room in case the dining area filled up, a common problem at other hotels on busy weekend mornings.

We encountered only two issues: one, the towels in the pool were laid out on the tables, which meant we had to ask guests sitting at several tables if the towels on the tables were theirs. I recommend a separate shelf for clean towels. And as noted in many of the reviews, the noise in the hallway and from the room above was palpable. Luckily, everyone went to bed at a decent hour.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the elevator but we never heard it operating. We did hear guests waiting for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatP905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your last minute decision. I am glad that you pointed out that we look far on the map. We are 2-3 miles from PSU campus but the little map on some searches does show us very far away. We are glad that you shared this with other readers planning their trip and look forward to seeing yout he next time that you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

nice hotel good breakfast friendly staff. The hotel was sold out and supper busy when we got there but the staff was able to get us extra sheets and blankets very quickly. Breakfast was on time and very good. They could use more staff right at check in other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carlton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you visit us again the next time that you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,344 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
818 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
249 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 115 Premiere Dr, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#16 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: $90 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing