We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel rooms for a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Davis, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Hotel rooms for a good price”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My 5-person family was on a road trip from Baltimore to Penn's Cave and Hershey Park and we needed a place to stay the night in between to the 2 attractions. We settled on this Best Western because of the convenient location (very near Penn State and directly next store to a huge movie theater complex) and the low price.
Both of our rooms were lovely, with great beds and linens. The complimentary breakfast in the lobby area was better than expected offering hot foods like bacon, eggs, oatmeal, and make-your-own-waffles, and also cold foods like cereal, fruit, yogurt, pastries, plus the standard coffee and tea.
We definitely felt comfortable there and and got our money's worth.

Green Features: This is the basic "green hotel" system where you need a room-key card in the slot by the door in order to maintain power in the room, and housecleaning only replaces towels and sheets that have been left on the floor by you.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCalMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It sounds like you had a great trip. Our location to Hershey is less than two hours away making us a great place to stay when visiting there and Penns Cave. This summer, it seems we have had more guests visiting us while doing these two great attractions. We are glad that you pointed this out for other guests visiting these destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    120
    38
    24
    5
See reviews for
210
88
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The room looks nice and clean. However, the walls don't seem to be insulated as you can hear conversations from the hallway, the toilet flushed violently (and loud), main doors closed very loudly (we heard slamming door noises from different directions on the 4th floor- top floor). We stayed in June. I really don't understand how a new hotel could be built this poorly.

Green Features: Maybe, they invested too much money on the controlled light and temp that they ran out of funds for sound insulation, quieter toilet, and doors???
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rosalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are sorry about the noise issues that you encountered. We are currently fixing doors that are slamming loud. We encourage you to call us directly to discuss these issues further. We hope that you would try us again. Thank you for the reveiws so that we may make more improvements based on your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were pleased with our stay here. Very convenient to Penn State and great fly fishing on Spring Creek. A short drive off I-80, so there is little freeway noise. Nice pool, but a little chilly. The breakfast overall was very good-the usual hotel breakfast fare-waffles, meat, potatoes scrambled eggs, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, more than adequate choices for just about anyone. Plenty of tables and the breakfast area was well maintained. The only slight complaint was the ugly grey trash can in the breakfast area. With the nice decor, it did stick out.The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Our internet connection was fine. The grounds were well maintained. We will be making this our hotel of choice when we stay in the State College area. If you forget anything on your trip the Nittany Mall is close by, as are many good restaurants in nearby State College. A very good value.

Green Features: They use lots of recycled and recyclable products.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for the great reviews and five stars. We will take into consideration your suggestion about the large trash can. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We needed a place to pull of from the road to and this was the place. We found the room to be excellent, a rollaway provided that was good and the room was large. Breakfast was the usual but free. The room was priced right and only about 10 minutes off I-80. Not much to see or do in State College.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nice hotel, reasonably priced in State College, PA. Near the Nittany Mall, off the road (quiet), but near downtown, with many dining and shopping options nearby. We needed a washing machine (which was out of order) but the attendant agreed to put the wsh in their machine, so it worked out

Room Tip: go for an upper floor to avoid noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwhite855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for the great reviews and we will see you the next time that you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I like the place - big rooms, clean, great hot breakfast, but the internet connection was terrible. I like the fact that the hotel is little far from the campus - quiet and low traffic. Fast internet connection is a must for me when I am traveling so having to wait ever to load a webpage is painful and frustrating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cresthatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are very sorry about the internet connection and currently looking into different solutions for this issue. We are sorry about the frustrations that this caused. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay with us and encourage you to call us directly when making your next reservation to discuss improvements that are being made to help internet frustrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkfield Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Super sized room, looking new and very clean. Excellent bed - one of the most comfortable we've slept in in a hotel. However, walls were thin enough that we heard 80% of the discussion the group of young women were having in the room next door, right up to nearly midnight. People walking in the room above were also very noticeable. First time we've stayed in an "Eco friendly" room, where lights and heat/air are turned on with the room key. Great idea - no wasted power when no one is in the room. Breakfast was a cut above - it included eggs as well as sausage patties, along with the typical waffles, oatmeal and cold offerings. Overall, better than average.

Green Features: The key-card control of lights and heat is a great idea - no wasted power when no one is in the room.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. We try to make our breakfast as best as possible and are always using guest reviews to see what people want to see for breakfast. We are sorry that you had noisy neighbors. We encourage you to let our front desk know whenever this happens. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
237 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
758 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,222 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Address: 115 Premiere Dr, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#16 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing