We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lack of sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lack of sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel staff was very nice, room was clean, good sized. Bed was hard, slightly better than sleeping on floor. Hotel construction not very good...window does not seal well wind blew all night, every time someone talked as they walked the halls, woke us up, love hearing the next room over flush there toilet first thing in the morning. Thermostats is as soon as you walk in rather than near the bed, so it was colder at bed at night with wind blowing in. In front of the toilet there is a drain which lets cold air inane bathroom, just what you want sitting on the toilet, a cold breeze between your legs. We chose the hotel due to the good reviews and that they listed pillow top beds, thought it would be a win, win. Disappointed. Won't stay there again. My husband who never complains, says we should of left at 2 am when we couldn't sleep.

Room Tip: If you like hard beds this is a great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iloveloghomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    101
    35
    23
    4
See reviews for
184
74
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and was pleased but this stay was terrible. Our room was not cleaned during our stay (3 days) We contacted the front desk manager and they could not tell us why our room was not cleaned. Bed not made, anything. (Basically suck it up attitude) We were not in our room all day during our stay so this could not be used as an excuse for no service. They did give us fresh towels after our complaint. Other noted issues, shower water pressure is really bad, noisy, walls must be thin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
6 Thank RG O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about this experience with us. We have spoke to housekeeping to figure out how your room was missed and make sure that we do not make the same mistakes moving forward. We also had our chief engineer fix the shower issue that you encountered in your room. We hope that you will try using us again in the future due to the fact that you had positive experiences previous to this and give us another chance. Thank you for your review to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Excellent in every meaningful category: location, staff, property appearance, cleanliness, breakfast. What more could you want in this price category? BW has really stepped up its game lately, and this hotel is the most recent proof of that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4richer4poorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the great reviews. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great place to stay in State College. Nice hot breakfast buffet which was constantly kept stocked. The rooms are attractive and spacious. The staff couldn't have been more helpful with pizza coupons and restaurant suggestions. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chillianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much. We do change our breakfast daily and are always open to suggestions. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#9 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
4.6 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Address: 115 Premiere Dr, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#16 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing