We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Best Western Plus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Premiere Drive, State College, PA 16801-7329   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in State College
GreenLeadersSilver level
Haddon Heights, New Jersey, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Best Western Plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The State College Best Western is a phenominally great hotel. From check in to check out, the hotel far exceeds any expectations one might have of a great place to stay. The front desk was helpful, the staff of thje hotel was always there to assist and make our stay very pleasant. The courtesy and niceness of the staff spilled over to the guests. Guests were helping each other after a snow storm left many snowed in. People were actually helping each other get their cars out.

Thed hotel is kept immaculate. I actually asked the inn keeper if they had just opened the facility because our room and the hotel were so spotless.

This is really a spectacular place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TRaveller661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for this great story about the hotel. We try to keep everyone happy during the snow. We are one of the closest hotels for people coming off of Interstate 80 during snow storms. We all try to be understanding when people are stuck and make their stay as accomodating as possible. We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Happy Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
lancaster, pa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

When we drove uo to the nearly new hotel and walked into the spacious, clean lobby, we had high hopes. Angela, behind the desk was as helpful as she could be, and we were processed quickly.
We were pleased to see the spacious clean room.
BUT...the cable didn't work for the Premium Channels, the lighted mirror in the bathroom didn't work, there was no heat in the bathroom plus the bathroom door would not stay open by itself, so it had to be propped open to allow some heat from the room neutralize the cold bathroom, the "energy saving' thermostat allowed the room to go to 63 degrees before kicking on (it was a blustery night)brrrr.
There may have been a few other items.
Not to sound "nit-picky" but these assorted items detract from the overall value of the stay. One thing, ok. Two maybe...Three, c'mon...More-don't know if I'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rentsellbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are sorry that you had these issues. Please always feel free to let the front desk staff know when there are issues like these. We encourage you to call us to discuss the issues that you had. We would like to solve anything here a soon as possible in order for you to have a great stay. We will have our chief engineer look into the room that you were in to correct the issues. We would hope that you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here the first week of December for my daughter's swim meet at Penn State University. We were greeted by a woman who was friendly and efficient. Our room was clean. We had the opportunity to use the pool. The breakfast was excellent! Thank you for a great stay!!!

Room Tip: If you go there is an awesome movie theater to the left of the hotel with leather reclining seats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimi1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We appreciate the title of Penn State's best kept secret. Thank you so much and we look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great hotell with a very friendly staff. The hotel looks brand new. Stayed here for a PSU football game. Inexpensive fr a football weekend. The free breakfast was fabulous. The hotel is about a 5 minute drive from Beaver Stadium.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disneyrocksNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the great reviews. Our hotel is only three years old and our staff works hard to keep it fresh. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Happy Valley and look forward to having you here with us the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel on its own was OK - nothing special. The thing I hated about it was the noise. The walls of the rooms are paper thin, and you can hear the people next to you, above you, and in the hallway. The worst are the doors SLAMMING. They close so loudly, that it made me jump even when I wasn't trying to fall asleep!
Bed was hard, pillows were weird.
The person at the desk never asked how my stay was when I checked out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lin402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We apologize that you did not have a great stay with us. We would like for you to try us again sometime. We always recommend a room on the top floor if you had a problem with noise in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel was great, except for thin walls, thin door, and a toilet that could wake an elephant..We were called early morning(as we were leaving early,6am) by front desk for being loud and all we were doing was talking. We did not complain the evening before when we went to bed. Hence the thin walls. Insulation would help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
I am sorry about the noise problems that you experienced. When making your reservation the next time, please call us directly and we will make sure that you have a room on the top floor to alleviate this issue. We hope that you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#6 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#13 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#11 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 115 Premiere Drive, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#16 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing