We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This new place was a dream. Great price, beautifully clean tidy room. Spacious foyer gives an ambience of taste. Front desk staff were friendly and charming. We were only passing through and it was a great stop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Such a great response. Thank you so much and please introduce yourself during your next stay with us. We would love to meet you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    126
    38
    24
    5
See reviews for
220
93
23
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel 2 yrs ago and wanted to go back after the positive experience I had the 1st time. We stayed midweek and had a coupon the saved us $$$! The room was very nice, clean, comfortable. The indoor pool and hot tub were clean and warm! Loved the breakfast buffet; hot fresh eggs, potatoes, bacon/sausage (switched daily) plus cold cereals, yogurt, coffee/tea, fresh fruit. Great location with US99/220 less than a 1/2 mi that got us to all the locations we wanted. My new hotel of choice for State College.

Room Tip: Check for coupons, we saved a lot by using one found in a book off the turnpike rest stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vettewomanpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for the great reviews. We do have a great location right off of the highway. We look forward to your next trip to Happy Valley to have you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at the hotel for a Penn State football game. I thought that the room and the hotel were very clean and nicely appointed. The only small issue is that the in room refridgerator, which is a nice touch, didn't seem to be working properly. Will stay there again for future Penn State visits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, NY
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Front desk staff friendly, management has the printer so far in the back that the staff has to walk back and forth over and over again. The hotel doesn't swipe your credit card if pre paid, and inicates they cannot produce a receipt on site, seems odd. The hotel is 3 years old and the carpets are stained in many areas. Upon check out i mentioned that the shower head leaks and could hurt the wall. Front desk knew all about it and wasn't surprised. Clearly this is a recurring problem. The only really odd annoyance is the big push that its a green hotel, one thing poorly done was the key must stay in a temperature control system on the wall upon entry. NO AC or heat unless you stop and figure this out. The front desk does make a fast mention of this, but its truly a pain. An odor from near the hotel is strong upon exit........not sure if its agricultural. The desk asks if you had a hard time finding the hotel, its a bit hard even for a gps system....The hotel appears well run overall, the woman running the coffee bar is oblivious to anything happening around her. I spilled coffee and she didn't miss a beat , wiping the same counter for 10 minutes although it was clean. She never offered to assist wiping up the coffee or cleaning the floor. Price was good for the room.

Room Tip: All rooms would be ok, i would ask to not be near the elevators, the doors slam on all rooms includi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newburgh_NYJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your response. We did purchase a new printer that was installed this morning to alleviate the problem. As for making reservations on-line, you pay the third party sight, not us so your receipt would come from them. We are glad to hear that you found your overall visit satisfying and hope that you will come back to see us again when you are in the area. We will discuss the coffee spilling situation with our breakfast attendants and apologize that they were not more helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very much enjoyed our stay in this hotel over a PSU game weekend. Willl definatley return next time we head to State College for a game! The rooms are very clean, nicely appointed with refrigerators and microwaves. The "continental" breakfast was the best I have ever had! With hot eggs, sausage and home fries along with many other choices.

Room Tip: No bad rooms, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atyger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for the great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us during your next time in Happy Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were taking a road trip and wanted to stop somewhere near Rt 80. This was abit far off the beaten track, but worth the drive for the amenities. Very nice king "suite", nicely appointed, but a bit snug, with all the furnishings...the desk chair and side chair almost didn't fit. I have to agree with the previous reviewer, the soundproofing is not great. We were there on a Tuesday night, and we could hear our neighbors and feel the vibrations and hear the neighbors above us. That said, I would still recommend it. I like the "green" touches. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerfromatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms. We look forward to having you the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed in State College many times as our daughter is a student at Penn State. This was our first football weekend in the town and the first time we stayed at this hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the room is spacious and comfortable (the "king suite", with a king bed, a half room divider and a sofa bed), the bathroom is new and very clean. The breakfast buffet is a bit more extensive than those at other hotels and the buffet is kept spotlessly clean. It is a few miles outside of the college town, (but not inconvenient) which actually is a good thing when 100,000 people come into the town for the weekend! We had two complaints: The minor complaint is that the pillows are small and not very supportive--we both had kind of a time getting comfortable with them. The more major complaint is seemingly at odds with what others have said and is the following: The walls seem quite poorly sound insulated. On both Friday and Saturday nights we were kept awake by other guests, hearing their conversations, their moving about their rooms and their louder exclaimations. Perhaps being a football weekend the guests feel a bit more--uninhibited, should we say?--because to be fair these guests were being quite loud, although once awake we could hear some of their more moderately toned conversations as well. I would consider staying here again because of all of the good things about it however.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATraveler579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind reviews. Please feel free to ask for a room on top floor at any time to help the noise issues. We are happy to accomodate when we have the rooms available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
244 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
547 reviews
4.6 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
784 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Address: 115 Premiere Dr, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#16 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing