We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great stay for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Green hotel,loved the whole idea...truly green. Wonderful staff , comfy beds. A very nice surprise after 1 week on the road!! This hotel should set an example for all the best westerns. Really impressive lobby and room were immaculate. Lobby has a spot for fresh food, including ice creams!! What a nice surprise

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 143suep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you so much for the nice reviews. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our tiny ice creams!! We look forward to you staying with us during your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 499 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had to find a spot to stay in for the Lacrosse Keystone games up at Penn State this weekend and came here because it was highly recommended and I am so pleased we did. The staff is warm and friendly and the hotel is clean and quiet with good solid walls that keep out most of the sound. The free breakfast is very nice with a make your own waffle setup with eggs and such, the coffee and juices which seem available all day to guests, is nice too. The rooms have a small refrigerator and a microwave which makes life easier with a family. The beds are queen which is a treat compared to the more common full sizes that make squeezing a family into a room unpleasant. The room itself is a nice size with a desk and chair and still plenty of room to move around, there is more then enough surface area to spread out your daily stuff iaround easily. We didn't get to the pool but I hear it's nice. There is only 1 washing machine and 1 dryer so that could be irritating, on the other hand I seemed to be the only person using it so maybe not; its nice they provide detergent. There is a Walmart very close for odds and ends and the Nittany Mall is just across the street for dining choices, we really liked Garfield's pub. The sandwiches are delicious and I liked the salad I had too. Overall I would totally come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Top floor for quiet. room 400 is the washer and dryer room so being near it was nice for late nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvorlando1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you so much for the great reviews. We were glad to have your lacrosse team stay with us and hope that next year we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have now stayed here twice, and both times were pleased with the overall experience. Room size is great, very clean rooms, with modern crisp decor.
The continental breakfast can be 'busy' at certain times of the morning because it's served buffet style, but the food choices are at least varied.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean_dent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for the review. We really appreciate you helping future travelers to choose us during their next stay. We hope to see you back again next year also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I dont know where to start.... Clean rooms, friendly stuff... Just awesome! There is a pool and a hot tub, and their both clean. This is THE place to stay when you are in State College, Pennsylvania .

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Bar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We love seeing a five star review. Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Came in late and fortunate to get the last room, a king suite for $110. Nice room, spacious, comfortable bed and good warm breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

After spending 2 prior nights in terrible hotels, we were not looking forward to checking into another hotel!! We were very pleasantly surprised!! This hotel was very clean! The front desk people were very nice and helpful. The room was large. We had a king bed, a pull out sofa and we still had room to put in a queen size air mattress up. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. Fresh sausage, waffles, eggs, etc. and plenty of room to eat. I would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you so much for the great feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had two bad experiences prior to staying with us. We look forward to having you stay here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights while visiting family.The room was a king suite, which gave us a nice seating area. The bed was very comfortable. we did notice the smell at first, but once the A/C was going, it disappeared completely. The breakfast was very complete, with lots of choices.
My only complaint is that the indoor pool area must have been at least 100 degrees, and
I spent almost two hours in there, fully clothed, watching my granddaughter swim. The pool was a cool temperature, but I felt as if I were in a steam bath. The hotel was aware, as they had posted signs about the heat, but the problem seemed to be without remedy. In all fairness, the outside temp was over 100, which may have caused the problem. We will definitely stay here again when we visit. The price was great, as was the service and the amenities. We will just try to plan a trip when the outside temp does not affect the pool.

Room Tip: We were on the back side of the hotel which has a wonderful view of Mt. Nittany, and on the 4th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somanybooks523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for the review. We will try to see if there is a better way to keep the pool area cooler on the hot days. I am glad to hear that everything else was great with your stay and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,374 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
584 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#11 of 26 in State College
193 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 115 Premiere Dr, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#16 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: $75 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing