We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Thumbs Up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had a great overnight stay! Rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. Awesome "free" breakfast the next day. There is a big mall 2 minutes away which gave us something to do at night. Would definatley stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmsnls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    116
    38
    24
    5
See reviews for
204
85
21
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
205 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My fiance and I just stayed here last night on a road trip from CT to MI (great halfway point and only 10 miles off I-80).

Pros: Room was incredibly spacious and had more than the amenities you expect in a Best Western (microwave, fridge, hair dryer, iron, etc, all in room - lately it seems you need to ask at most hotels at this level). Breakfast was a large spread (hot pre-made options, waffles, fruits, baked goods, multiple juices). Evening desk attendant was very friendly and really made us feel welcome.

Cons: Two minor things - there was a key card on the floor of our room and a disposed soap still in the trash. Minor but noted because that indicates to me that they don't clean as thoroughly as I'd expect. Also, the morning desk attendant was a little curt.

Overall, would definitely stay again, and could easily stay with more than just the two of us (a pull out couch and plenty of space). Good value and location was fine for our needs.

Room Tip: There were lots of other travelers, including young men still swimming at 10:30 PM right next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzymcboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will discuss the housekeeping issues with the staff. We look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manayunk, PA
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My brother and I are PSU alumni and decided to come up to State on a Friday night to visit our local favorite spots. We booked a room at the Best Western since we heard about the reasonable rates, especially for a weekend. Immediately coming in the front lobby we were greeted by staff that were speedy and kind at check in. Our room was nice and spacious-- who doesn't love comfy big beds, sitting area, flat screen tv, free wifi, and an eco-friendly hotel room? The icing on the cake was the complimentary breakfast--make your own waffle station, an assortment of fruit, bagels, yogart, coffee/juices really set everything off right. All in all, we were impressed and already have planned another trip back this upcoming fall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for the review of the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you during your next time in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My stay at this motel was a good bargain. The staff was friendly, the bed large and comfy, and the location ensured that it was quiet.
The buffet breakfast was pretty darn good for a Best Western.
The only shortcoming was that there was no restaurant within walking distance, but I suspect that situation will change within the next year or two.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JGKramb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for the response for other guests to view. As you mentioned, there is a restaurant lot next door that should have something built soon. Also, the Nittany Mall is across the street from the hotel and has numerous places to eat. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

My son will be attending Penn State in the Fall, so we needed to find a hotel that was located close to campus, could accommodate a family of four and was reasonably priced. After reading through the reviews on Trip Advisor of a number of hotels in State College, we decided we'd try this Best Western.

The location worked out fine. It's about an eight to ten minute drive straight down the road to E College Ave, so it wasn't a problem to go back to the hotel midday if necessary. There are a number of parking garages on the side streets once you get on campus, which was also convenient. There is also plenty of shopping right around the hotel, including the Nittany Mall.

The service was excellent. Check-in was quick and easy. Everyone at the front desk knew the area well and they were able to give us recommendations on great restaurants, where to park on campus and where to get the best deals on Penn State paraphernalia. A hot breakfast was included as part of our stay, with a standard offering of hot and cold foods. The staff did a great job of making sure there was enough food for everyone, which was important since it was very busy our last morning there.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a mini-fridge, a coffee maker and a good quality flat panel TV in the room. There were also plenty of plugs around the room, which was critical, since everyone had to charge their cell phones, tablets and the like each night. The beds were comfortable and they provided plenty of pillows. The temperature controls worked well, which is important for us, since some like it warmer and some cooler. We were able to find a reasonable temperature for all and it stayed that way the entire night. I also liked that this hotel is eco-friendly. There are recycling bins in every room and in the common areas and the master switch for the lights and HVAC in the room is your room key. So when you leave to go out, it's easy to shut everything off in order to conserve energy. The bathrooms were modern and clean and there was good water pressure and plenty of hot water.

We'll be staying in Penn State several times a year, while our son is going to school there and our hotel of choice will be the Best Wester Plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We hope this will help everyone when making a hotel decision and they can have a great experience like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, PA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a very nice hotel located just across from the Nittany Mall. We have stayed there several times and have always had a very clean room, nice ammenities and a friendly staff. We have never had a problem with noise or slamming doors. The breakfast area is clean and the hotel is more than adequate for a free breakfast.

My only complaint would be more of a question....WHY doesn't the bathroom sink have a "stopper" feature? Each time we stay there I remember that you have to leave the water running the whole time, which seems like a huge waste of resources. Other than that, I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RofoBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for the reviews of the hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I also picked this hotel because we were visiting Penn State and it got the top review for the area. The check-in took longer than I was expecting and every time I needed to ask a question, there was a line at the front desk. The room was fine, clean, had a mini-fridge and microwave which I always like to have. Lots of choices for food at breakfast, including scrambled eggs and sausage (I need to have protein in the morning). Internet, however, was awful, cutting in and out every 5-6 seconds. I couldn't check my email and my son had trouble with Youtube. Even the TV picture was cutting out. Also, the hotel is not that close to Penn State, about a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmgronsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for your response about liking the hotel. We are sorry that you had to wait in line and are going to take this review very seriously when putting together schedules in the future. Your time is valuable and we want to make sure you enjoy all of your time when you are in the area. As for the internet, our computer people have been contacted and have fixed a few issues in our system. I hope that during your next stay with us, we can provide you with a "loved it" experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4.6 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Address: 115 Premiere Dr, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#16 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing