We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW this is a Best Western!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 28, 2011

If all Best Westerns were this good then this chain would be number one, I have never been a huge fan of Best Westerns but this was a fantastic hotel, very modern yet comfortable and my room was HUGE... I thought the green system in the room to control the heating and lighting was very smart! I think my stay here at this hotel could change my feelings of the chain. Only issue I had was that I need to update my GPS so I can find the hotel a bit easier when I return because I will be back....

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveltheworldfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 507 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

We used the coupon from the coupon books you can get at the visitor centers on the interstates and it ended up being under $90 including taxes. It was a wonderful room. Very clean, comfortable and cozy. Our room was on the 3rd floor, at the short end of the hall and it is true about the sound at this hotel. I could hear the elevator bell 3 doors away. Other than that though, it's a very nice hotel. It has a clean pool and hot tub, which my husband enjoyed and was open until 11pm- important to us because we tend to check-in late. I enjoyed the "business" center computer and appreciated the fact the the internet was not the speed of a snail. It also had a room with gym equipment that looked good- but I didn't use. The rooms at this hotel are climate controlled with you room key, which I thought was interesting. The bathroom was very clean, had it's own climate control but had a toilet that I thought was malfunctioning. This is the reason I didn't give it 5 circles. The toilet is VERY LOUD on the flush, and it is not an effective flusher- a little disconcerting at a nice hotel. It almost functioned like a marine/rv "head" and sounded like there was an air bubble in the pipes. When we mentioned it to the manager on duty-thinking that there could be a malfunction- he said that it was a new toilet design to help the environment. I'm not sure that having to flush 4 times helps the environment, but I guess that's another story. Enough of the potty talk.

The weekday breakfast, open until 10 am, was pretty good and very clean. There were 2 waffle making machines, oatmeal with a nice array of brown sugar, cinnamon, and raisins to add, yogurt, bananas, boxed cereal, eggs, potatoes, and sausage patties- a pretty good selection!
Overall , this is a very nice hotel and if we were in the area again, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: away from the elevator and a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thank you so much for such a detailed response to help our future guests. We are looking at the toilet issues today to accomodate our guests the best way possible. We look forward to seeing you again during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is an excellent location for a stay in State College during a football weekend. Keep in mind that we booked way in advance to lock in the best rate possible. We stay three nights. Kristy at the front desk was very helpful and friendly and assisted in upgrading us to a suite for no additional charge. That was much appreciated. The hotel is new and well decorated and maintained. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub, we used the workout facility, as well, and the breakfast offerings were very good. We could not have asked for a better travel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfswanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind reviews and advice to future guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and received an upgrade to one of our large suites. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed at Best Western for football weekend. This is a newer property, and hence is very clean and fresh. Rooms are nice size with the amenities you would expect for a hotel of this caliber.

Staff is friendly and helpful. Free AM breakfast is what you might expect for free.

Building construction does not provide much soundproofing for the rooms - between suites, or from floor to ceiling. You will know if you have active neighbors.

I would stay again, but might recommend requesting top floor room - to eliminate noise from footsteps above.

Room Tip: recommend requesting top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2of7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and giving advice for our future guests. If there is ever a problem with noisy neighbors for you or any guests, we encourage you to let the front desk staff know. We want all of our guests to have a "perfect stay". Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western for a second time this year, after a Penn State football game. Once again, our stay was great. It is one of few hotels in the area that can accommodate six people in one room (2 Queen beds, 1 sleeper sofa). We found the hotel to be clean, the staff is friendly, and the price to be a great value, especially since breakfast is included in the rate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runningmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Thank you so much for the kind words about the Best Western Plus. We try our hardest to make sure we exceed our guests needs. We always appreciate a great review and look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

As loyal Best Western Platinum members, we booked this hotel for a Route 80 stopoff enroute to NY. We were excited it was a new property. We booked 6 months in advance.
We called from the road to even let the front desk know our time of arrival. After 8 hours on the road, we checked in and we were sent to a room that was never cleaned. The nice lady at the front desk claimed that the computer indicated otherwise. She then sent us to another uncleaned room. At this point we asked her to contact the front desk manager who did nothing other than offer us 1000 points - what a slap iin the face (she should be fired and is no ambassador to Best Western).
We were in the lobby waiting for 1 hour until there was a clean room. Although the room was cleaned in a hurry, the housekeeper never checked the alarm clock and we were awakened at 5:30AM! It was a really lousy experience.

You would think that we would never stay here again but thanks to a terrific gentleman, Ander Victorine, the general manager, we are so reassured! He met with us the following morning. He realized that there was a problem with some of the staff and assured us that he would take the necessary measures of correction. Because of him, we will return. He offered us good will and is a problem solver.
The property is nice, the breakfast was good, computers are available and we liked the location. If Ander is there, we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
2  Thank shapgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

We are very sorry to hear about you being checked into two dirty rooms. Since this, we have really made sure there is a more clear communication between front desk and housekeeping. We are glad to hear that Ander Victorine made the situation better. We look forward to having you as a guest again and please let us know how we can make your next stay be a "perfect 10" by calling us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Everything about the hotel was nice. The rooms were very clean, the staff at the front desk was very nice. There is access to a computer area if you did not bring a laptop. I will definately book here again if I'm in the area. The only complaint about the breakfast is that there is not enough seating in the breakfast area and there aren't trays or anything for you to take somewhere else, and that it's not very vegetarian friendly. The only fruit they had were unripened plums. There were eggs, but the other things they had all had meat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellarxpurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Thank you for the review. We are very happy to be your first choice for your next time in Happy Valley. We take these reviews very seriously. You mentioned that you are a vegetarian. We offer waffles, 12 choices of cold cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, eggs, homefries, variety of pastries, and usually a large choice of fruit. If there was something particular that you were looking for, please feel free to contact me directly to make recomendations. We want to have choices for everyones diet. Also, you mentioned the lack of space. We have taken this consideration and made our meeting room available for breakfast overflow most days. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your stay the next time.
Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#10 of 26 in State College
203 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
589 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
252 reviews
5.3 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Address: 115 Premiere Dr, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#14 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: $74 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing