We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rumson, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and great staff”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed here twice, the first time in May for a week, while my mother was in the hospital for surgery, and again in June visiting my parents with my three teenage sons and one of their friends for four nights. The hotel is on the new side, with pleasant furnishings, and unobtrusive decor. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Housekeeping is polite and diligent.
My best compliment goes to the member of the front desk staff who made sure I got a message from the hospital when there was a call to the hotel quite late at night. I was not in the hotel, and did not hear my cell phone, but as soon as I walked into the hotel lobby, the woman at the front desk (whom I had not encountered previously) asked my identity, let me know the situation, and gave me the direct number for the nurse who was with my mother at the hospital. I certainly appreciate that kind of attention to their patrons.
Since my parents live in State College and I have a son who attends Penn State, I make frequent trips there. The Best Western is now my lodging of choice when visiting State College. I think it is an excellent place to stay in this area. My only complaint is that I could not get connecting rooms when visiting with my sons.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looking-Ahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you so much for all the kind words. We are glad that you shared your great story with everyone else to see. I am also glad to hear that you will be using us again in the future. I would like to welcome you to call me directly the next time you are making your reservation so I can see that all your needs are taken care of during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    127
    38
    24
    5
See reviews for
220
93
23
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I traveled to state college for work and this hotel was exactly what I needed. Its location outside of town was great: it let me get away from the bustle of downtown but is still conveniently close enough to get to my meeting easily... being close to the bypass let me get to the other side of town easily too. the rooms were spacious and allowed me to spread out and get plenty of work done at the nice-sized desk and comfortable chair. Definitely staying there next time im in town!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
It is great to see guests traveling to the area for business stay with us. We have recently started and incentive program for our business travelers that we would like to share with you. You can call our sales department anytime to ask them about the Business Plus program that creates extra amenities for our business guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were traveling with another couple by motorcycle. The heat was unbearable and we called The Best Western University Inn. Their rooms were larger than most. The place was spotless. The breakfast was very plentiful and had local fresh peaches. We decided to stay another night. They were full and offered to move our room across the hall so it would be more convenient instead of dragging our luggage on the elevator. The lobby was pristine, and the pool and jacuzzi had plenty of towels. Great place. Too bad more hotels are not like them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlovetotravelHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed here overnight on a visit to our grandson at Penn State. It is ten minutes away from the College and worth the drive. The staff was very friendly and helpful even recommended a good resturant for dinner. The rooms are a nice size and very clean, with a coffee maker and microwave. We were very pleased with everything, We will be staying here on future visits.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busybee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for your visit and kind words regarding our staff and services. It means a lot to us that you would recommend our hotel to other travelers. Please feel free to contact me directly any time you are in the area and I will personally handle your reservation and see that you are taken care of. We will look forward to seeing you next time!
Janette Raspatello-Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed here one night during the recent Arts and Crafts festival. The hotel is modern, comfortable and clean and a real step up from the usual Best Western fare. the only downside was the smallness of the breakfast aarea, but I think the hotel was full so there were long lines for the waffles (which I didn't end up getting!) :-( and a bit of trouble finding a table. But if they added another waffle maker, this would take care of that problem. We paid $169 for a double room with two beds. It was a bit more expensive than some of the other hotels in town, but I like clean and new, so it was well worth the extra money! We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the to floor (there's a lift) we had elephants staying above us. I complained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for the kind words about the hotel. We greatly appreciate you recommending us to others. Also, we took your advice on the breakfast area and lack of space. We have opened up extra space in the hotel when possible to assist with everyone being comfortable.
We always appreciate honest feedback to help make the improvents our guests need. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in the area so we can make sure you are taken care of!! Thanks again for the feedback.
Janette Raspatello-Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for two days during a very quiet weekend in mid July. The hotel is about 2 years old, making it feel nicer and less worn out than your typical motel. We had a king room and it was sufficiently spacious, with a comfortable chair, a microwave, and a fridge.

Being new, it is also fully non-smoking so you don't have to worry about smell in a converted room if you're sensitive.

We were able to use a coupon to get a reduced room rate, which was nice.

Some caveats to be aware of:

- The hotel is located in a rural area off the highway and requires a 10-15 minute drive to town. There's a large mall and stores nearby, and a sheets and a movie theater as well, but if you want to be "in the center of things" for State College you may want to look elsewhere. We actually preferred to stay out of town so it was good for us.

- There's a really annoying "energy saver" system where you have to leave your key in a reader on the wall to operate the A/C. The corridors are pretty warm, etc.

- I saw a lot of 6-pack containers in the trash, so it's possible thins get rowdy on busy weekends.

- The construction quality means that sounds travel. While this is a problem in most hotels, in my impression this was more serious here. For example, walking down the corridor we were able to hear a couple enjoying themselves quite a few doors down, so don't expect much privacy. You can also hear a lot of corridor noise into the room, but not much between the rooms. However, you can also hear footsteps from upstairs. So try to get a room far from the elevator and on the upper floor.

- Breakfast is disappointing, even for a motel.

- Internet, while free, is extremely slow even when there is barely anyone around.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank uricmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for the review. We take Trip Advisor reviews very seriously because we would like to remain #1 in the area. We are located 2.5 miles from downtown State College. Also, you mentioned that breakfast was not great. We have been making upgrades to breakfast often including fresh fruit from all the local farms around here. I am glad that you enjoyed the "new" feeling of the hotel and we try very hard to also make sure everything stays new and fresh. Feel free to contact me directly during your next trip to State College PA.
Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Used a travel coupon and got a King room for one night for $79!!

Even at the higher rate it would have been worth it--great new hotel that was clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSKSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwupsales, Manager at Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for the great feedback!! We look forward to having you again as a guest here at the Best Western Plus University Park Inn and Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
244 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,296 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
573 reviews
4.6 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Address: 115 Premiere Dr, State College, PA 16801-7329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in State College
#4 Romantic Hotel in State College
#5 Business Hotel in State College
#16 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus University Park Hotel State College
Best Western Plus University Park Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing