We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Canal Fulton, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Front desk help was very friendly and helpful. Large rooms with a king...super big bathroom with plenty of towels. Didn't do the breakfast but went across the street and had a very good one instead. Would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TColmar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Tom, Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you come up for a concert at the Bryce Jordan Center, we will expect to see you here! Lucky for your little Jack Russell, I didn't catch her smoking that cigar in the room! We are smoke-free. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    155
    36
    4
    5
See reviews for
211
57
36
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Penna.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our stay here exceeded our expectations. Decent price for an average room that was very clean. Beds were firm, but very comfortable, the only problem we encountered was the bathroom door sticks and was hard to close. Hotel did allow pets for an extra $10/night. Included breakfast had cereals, muffins, bagels, breads, waffles, sausage links, cheese omlet, hardboiled eggs, juices, coffee, &tea. Good quality too. Best part of the stay was the staff, they were very friendly, accomodating, and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgerunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sounds like Breakfast was a pretty good way to start your day. I am especially happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. We all really enjoy when our hotel if filled with wonderful guests like yourself! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean, friendly, affordable, and close to Penn State. What more could you ask for? 2nd time I stayed here and if my daughter is accepted to the school, I won't stay anywhere else. There are very few hotels closer to the campus and those that are will cost a fortune. Recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mschorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We will keep our fingers crossed that your daughter is accepted to Penn State. We can't wait for you to visit us again. When you do, please don't forget to ask about our Penn State Parents discount program. Text books are expensive! This card will save you 15% everytime you visit. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice, once in August 2012 and again in September 2012. This is a basic hotel, but it was very comfortable and clean. I was most impressed with how friendly and welcoming all of the staff members were. The room rates are a great deal considering how clean this hotel is and how friendly the staff are. I already have returned to this location a second time and it is now my go to place to stay when I am visiting State College.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are a good idea if you want to avoid the slow elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyValleyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the kudos! I have the pleasure of working with the best group of people. When I get to share comments like yours with them, it really make my day. We promise to keep up the the good work , as long as you promise to visit again soon! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here during Parents Weekend. The staff were very welcoming and gave another guest some helpful hints about reserving for graduation. The room was fine, the location is great if you are visiting Penn State. My only complaint was breakfast. The breakfast area is very narrow so it's hard to maneuver when it gets crowded and they ran out of eggs when I got there so I had to wait several minutes for the staff to bring out more. But, it is good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmgronsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our Quality Inn Penn State. I am happy that you found our staff welcoming and helpful as well as your room clean and comfortable. We take great pride in offering the best possible service. I am happy to share with you, our plans to renovate our breakfast area. Beginning in January, we will be increasing the space of the breakfast area. We understand that it can get a bit tight, especially during a busy weekend. We do look forward to your visiting us again in the future to see the improvements. If you have not done so already, may I suggest signing up for the Penn State Parents Discount Plan. By registering, you will receive a discount card that will entitle you to a 15% discount every time you come to visit Penn State. Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is located within a stones throw from Penn State!

You can't find a cleaner, nicer place than this Quality Inn! Staff is friendly and inviting! Breakfast was fresh with many choices! Presentation was nice and the staff kept the space clean and kept refreshing the coffee!

Only place I will stay when in State College area !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Cyndy, Thank you for the kind words. Sharing comments like yours with my staff is the best part of my day! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My in laws have stayed several times and recommended this hotel for when we had to be in town for a funeral. We ended up with about 5 families staying. Wonderful friendly, helpful, clean, comfy hotel and all for the bargain price of about $65 a night! We had a king room and both the room and bathroom were very spacious. Breakfast in the morning was quite good and they had an attendant there the entire time refreshing and refilling everything. The only negative I could find was in the hallways the carpets were pretty stained...in the room they were perfectly clean. I wished we could stay longer to enjoy the hotel and the state college area. Next time we go to visit this will be the first place we look to stay! I hope Quality Inn keeps up the great work and affordable pricing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Our sincere condolences for your recent loss. I am pleased that our hotel served as a comfortable gathering place for our family. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Hopefully, under happier circumstances!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#4 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#18 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1274 N. Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in State College
#3 Family Hotel in State College
#4 Business Hotel in State College
#11 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn welcomes sport enthusiasts, business travelers, families and even pets to State College, with affordable rates and a full range of services and amenities. Just five blocks to Penn State University campus, the Quality Inn consistently provides guest essentials with friendly service in an accommodating environment. The Quality Inn features a free deluxe breakfast, exercise room, free wireless Internet access and a meeting room for up to 75 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing