We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bargain”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in State College
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Bargain”
Reviewed February 16, 2008

Great bargain here. The staff was REALLY nice and friendly and the rooms were new and very clean. Highly recommended for the price.

  • Liked — The value.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCJohnny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    163
    40
    5
    5
See reviews for
230
65
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pa.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

stayed with our small dog. you could never tell this property was used by pets....very clean. an excellant job by housecleaning staff. will stay again.

  • Liked — good value
  • Disliked — some late night noises in the hallway one night
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wildman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

I can't say enough about this motel. It was gorgeous! The staff was friendly and helpful. The building is large and luxurious. Our room was huge, with new linens, a new tub and shower, and a heater in the bathroom. There's a nice morning area with tables for coffee, cocoa and tea (free) in lobby.

This motel cost less than 50.00 per night and seemed like a stay in a much more expensive chain. Quiet, relaxed, but run well.

Great for everyone.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Satisfaction7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We needed to stay in a motel because of some renovations being done in our house. Because Motel 6 was so inexpensive, I actually passed to reserving there and went to a 'new' one in town. When we found we had to stay out one more night unexpectedly, the other motel was full. So here we were at the Motel 6. Surprise! The motel was fantastically clean and new looking. Our room was very spacious. Our three small children had plenty of room to run around, even with the two double beds. We definitely were happier here than at the cramped other hotel. Yes, it is a budget motel, make sure you bring all of your toiletries, and there is only coffee offered near the front desk. There are vending machines on all floors, and some even have toiletries in them. There was a fridge and a microwave in our room, and the motel is within walking distance to a 24 hour grocery. We ate at the italian restaurant right in front of the motel, which had average food. I would recommend motel 6 to any of my friends/family. The price can't be beat, and it obviously has just been remodeled. They also take pets.

  • Liked — Above average room size
  • Disliked — No breakfast, no toiletries in bathrooms, only 2 towel sets provided
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank somedutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2006

I stayed on a Thursday prior to a football weekend, booked on the way into town on the day of arrival. The hotel was a real great value for the money. The staff was friendly and my room was clean and comfortable. Everything was new and clean. I highly recommend this hotel. It is a good value for the money. It is right on the main roadway and near shops and the Waffle Shop is across the street for a great breakfast. I would definatley stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable - great value on non-football nights
  • Disliked — NO breakfast provided.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early for football season (months in advance)
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aquasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2005

I'm slow to really complain too much given that it is Motel 6, and I generally understand that budget prices should not mean luxury accommodations and service. Plus there is a lot that is good about this hotel. So here goes...

The hotel is fairly new and looks very nice. The rooms are spacious and quite nice - not at all what you might expect at Motel 6. As I am accustomed to Red Roof, I found the TV nice with a terrific channel selection. The elevator was a nice convenience. For the most part, the room appeared to be well-cleaned. The staff there is very good.

The room had a funny off-odor to it that was noticable in going from the immaculate hallway into the room. There was a large stain on the carpet between the bed and the window. The air conditioning worked but not well as it maintained the room several degrees above the temperature in the hallway. It did little to dehumidify the room, and everything left in the room felt dank after a few minutes (come to think of it, that could have been the reason for the funny smell). The toilet had a slow leak.

I reported the toilet leak but not the AC problem. I will probably go back and report the AC problem as well. It seems the staff is very conscientious and would probably correct anything that is reported. Still, I gave this a lower rating for this visit because everything should be right when I check in.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chowowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 8, 2005

I can't tell you how pleased we were with this hotel. Spotless, comfortable and friendly staff. I stayed at the Days Inn in State College after reading some good reviews and was beyond disappointed. What a dump! Old, dirty, paper thin towels and terrible beds and pillows. I have also stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in State College which is lovely, but for a third of the price you can stay here and be completely comfortable. I can't say enough about this place.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 26 in State College
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
758 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1274 N Atherton St, State College, PA 16803-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in State College
#3 Family Hotel in State College
#4 Business Hotel in State College
#11 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn welcomes sport enthusiasts, business travelers, families and even pets to State College, with affordable rates and a full range of services and amenities. Just five blocks to Penn State University campus, the Quality Inn consistently provides guest essentials with friendly service in an accommodating environment. The Quality Inn features a free deluxe breakfast, exercise room, free wireless Internet access and a meeting room for up to 75 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing