We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Suites in State”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Penn State
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Comfort Suites in State College, PA in August 2014.

This hotel is located in the center of State College, not far form the college campus. It is back in, off the road, behind a TGI Fridays and Sleep Inn hotel. We had to drive through the campus to get the hotel, coming from the south (Harrisburg, PA). If I had not been using my GPS, since our arrival was at night, I may have gotten lost.

The hotel is clean and comfortable. The room had a good size bathroom near the entrance, a small sink, refrigerator, and microwave outside the bathroom. Then it had a sofa and desk in the middle of the room. The 2 queen beds were on the far side of the large room, with a smaller (than usual) flat screen TV. The desk had power outlets and 2 USB ports for electronics to charge (nice!). The WiFi was a decent speed.

The included breakfast was good, with 2 kinds of waffle batter and 2 waffle makers. It pretty much had the usual foods and juices (including cranberry). The number of tables was limited, so it filled up fairly quickly. The breakfast was only until 9:30am. Most hotels have extended breakfast until 10:00am, which helps when you want to sleep in.

There is an indoor pool and fitness room, but we did not use those. So I cannot comment on how those were, except that the kids in the pool, when we arrived, looked like they were having fun.

I had 2 minor issues with this hotel. One is that it is on a hill (central PA is very hilly). So we had to park the car on a slope with the emergency brake on. The parking lot was lit (at night), but not very well lit.

Also, when we arrived, we were greeted by many people smoking around the entrance, which we really did not want to breathe in. They should move the smoking area off to the side.

Other than those 2 issues, and the fact that the hotel is not the easiest to find, I do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I found out that 1st floor rooms are "pet friendly". If you don't have pets, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Buckeye_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, General Manager at Comfort Suites Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Comfort Suites while visiting State College, PA. We appreciate you sharing your comments and concerns about your recent stay and we are pleased that you recommend our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We are conveniently located only minutes from the Penn State University Campus, Bryce Jordan Center, Downtown State College, Shopping, Restaurants and many other attractions that 'Happy Valley" offers. We value your business and hope to see you again soon!


Yours In Service,

Lisa Ripka
General Manager
Comfort Suites, State College PA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

The good - free breakfast, wi fi, parking.....a pool, jacuzzi, fitness room....excellent staff from front desk to cleaning staff....TGIF Fridays within a short walk...

The not so good - breakfast is limited (no meat options, few fruits)....elevator slow and was out of order on my visit....pool is very small - feels crowded with 3 peeps in it....fitness room has only one outdated treadmill....

Room Tip: Stay on ground floor..elevator not reliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moldy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Comfort Suites. Your feedback is very important and has been passed along to the appropriate department leaders to ensure that we continue to improve in those areas you mentioned. It is because of our guests feedback that we are able to improve in areas where we fall short and build on our strengths to offer an excellent stay for all of our guests. On behalf of myself and the rest of our team here at the Comfort Suites we appreciate your business and hope for the chance to serve your future hospitality needs while visiting Happy Valley!

Warmest Regards,

Nicki Wertz
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Suites
State College, PA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed in room 133 on Monday in June.
Booked King Single on Internet but was told when I arrived that the room I had booked was in fact PET FRIENDLY - I did not read the pop up on the web site. Receptionist was delightful lady who quickly sorted out my request not to be in a pet friendly room and we were given a suite with 2 Queen beds and sofabed/lounge.
Beautiful spacious, immaculately clean room with comfortable pillow top beds and we had a great sleep. High ceilings 10' throughout suite gave feeling of class.
Internet Wi-Fi was excellent.
the only things I could fault in the room were the taps on the kitchenette sink needed extra force to turn them off and were loose fitting to the cabinet-ware and also the bath/shower spigot changeover would not shut of the water to the bath completely resulting in reduced water to the shower head. The shower control valve was loose in the wall also. Still managed to shower ok.
Breakfast was more than adequate in the nice breakfast area.
The hotel is nicely located and we really enjoyed the stay. I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to other travellers.

Room Tip: Make sure you check you are not selecting Pet Friendly room as it is not in your face on the website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hnMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear John,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us at the State College Comfort Suites. I am glad our evening clerk was able to accommodate your needs by changing your room type. On behalf of our entire team we appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you during any future stays in Happy Valley.


Nicki Wertz
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Suites
State College, PA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here one night. The kids loved this place. All places were very clean, the breakfast was great. only minus was that the wi-fi was a bit slow. The personnel wad friendly. Great value for the money.

Thank Jouni S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Comfort Suites we appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving your future hospitality needs when visiting Happy Valley.

Sincerely,

Management and Team
Comfort Suites
State College, PA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Arrived around 1 and was able to go ahead and check in. Got up to the room & it had plenty of room. The lady at the front desk was able to suggest some local restaurants that offered discounts to hotel guests. Our only negative would be when we pulled our bed down the sheets had not been cleaned!! We could see hair and dead skin on the sheets. We did call the front desk and the gentleman came right up & changed them. The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank lafaircloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us at Comfort Suites. I have shared your feedback with our team and assure you we are working very diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the hopes to exceed your expectations as well as all our guests expectations. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity of seeing you again in your future travels to Happy Valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent 4 days at this hotel for my son's orientation at Penn State. The hotel served it's purpose. Clean rooms,comfortable beds and good breakfast. No complaints. Nonetheless, it is about 1.1 miles to the Robeson Center (hub). It is about a 15 min walk through a lovely residential street. I believed the hotel was much closer to campus and near the action. The hotel is not in town but on the other side of the campus.It took us about 25 minutes cutting through campus to get to the main part of the town. We did not mind the walk,lovely weather. However, on summer days or winter, take a taxi....about 8 dollars. Finally, there is a TGIF Friday restaurant about 75 yards from the hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor in the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubano40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Comfort Suites during your son's orientation at Penn State. We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in the service they offer our guests and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us We are located conveniently to the Penn State Campus, Bryce Jordan Center and Downtown State College. We value your business and hope to see you again soon! Safe Travels!

Yours In Service,

Lisa Ripka
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

You don't need a parking Lot, I could park my car in my suite. Very very very comfortable bed. Interesting bath arrangement, no full wall.....can hear everything, somewhat awkward if not intimate with roomie. Breakfast is way above average. Proteins, waffles, juices, coffee, yogurts, eggs, toast. Fitness center, pool. Well located. Happy volley tournament, happy to be here, would return

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

On the behalf of the hotel staff, I am writing to Thank You for staying at the Comfort Suites in State College. We appreciate you taking time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our pleasant staff could accommodate you with higher expectations then you anticipated.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night’s stay a satisfying one. The principle goal of our hotel is to provide dependable services to all of our guests at a reasonable price. But, it’s only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Our Jacuzzi rooms are very large and are geared more for the business traveler or as a couple’s room. I do agree that this style of room is not for everyone.Those who frequent this type of room generally love it!!

It was nice to read that you also, enjoyed our “Savory Start” morning choices that we make readily available each morning for our guest to start their day off right!

Again, let me thank you for staying with us during your weekend for Happy Volley. We’re committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Patty Mandell
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,380 reviews
1.8 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Penn State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Penn State

Address: 132 Village Drive, State College, PA 16803-2922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in State College
#13 Business Hotel in State College
#13 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: $85 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Penn State 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind every great stay is a great night at the Comfort Suites in State College, PA. This is an all-suites hotel near Penn State University, Pegula Ice Arena and The Arboretum at Penn State. This smoke-free State College family suite hotel near the Mount Nittany Medical Center is conveniently located, giving you easy access to a variety of restaurants, activities, and points of interest in State College. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Comfort Suites Penn State Rested, set, go—book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Penn State reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel State College
Comfort Suites State College
State College Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing