We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Recent visit”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We went for a tour, what a nice hotel, great breakfast, awesome staff. Super clean, looking forward to our next trip. The pool looked very nice, hopefully we get time to use it on our next visit. Great place

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dominick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
I would like to take this opportunity in thanking you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Our staff goes above and beyond what is asked of them to provide the best service possible for our guests. We want everyone to feel like they are at home when staying here, from check-in to check-out, we strive to give our very best service. We thank you again for staying at the State College Comfort suites. We hope that we will see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    82
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
124
34
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel itself is very clean and nicely kept. Staff very friendly and breakfast pretty good. Overall great value and a lot of room!! I would however recommend that hotel management provide some direction for the staff when there are large groups of children staying in the hotel - as the children were permitted to run the hallways, play in the elevator, continuously slam doors and yell to each other well after eleven o'clock at night. Sorry - I know everyone is asking "what about the parents"... but I do believe that the hotel is just as responsible to minimize the disruptive, loud behavior. After the kids settled down......Being awoke by the room next door 2 AM hallway party was far from pleasing either. Heather - the night clerk however handled the drunken idiots very well!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly17268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
After reading your recent comments,I would like to thank you for your nice review of our hotel and staff. I appreciate your honest observation of the recent activities and bringing it to our attention. We have met as a management team and have decided to provide additional staffing and security during groups containing minors in an effort to keep a situation like this from re occurring. Clearly this group took us by surprise and our staffing level at the time was clearly overwhelmed. Again, we appreciate feed back and can only hope that we will continue to be your first choice for lodging when you return to the State College area.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here while I was doing business at Penn State. They were very helpful, and everything was delightful. They have a very large INDOOR swimming pool and very large hot spool. Rooms were very clean and inviting.

Room Tip: If you're smart, you'll venture out past the TGI Friday's next door. It's terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
I would like to thank you for your recent review and tell you how much we appreciate hearing feed back from our guests. We strive to continuously keep our property fresh and updated with the newly renovated guest rooms and public areas. Our pool are is our most popular area within our hotel for families and even the weekly business traveler, like yourself to unwind and relax on a wintery evening. We certainly hope that we will see you again when traveling to State College.
Thank you again for choose the State College Comfort Suites.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Comfort Suites in Statue College. We were there for a conference in January and stayed one night. The front desk woman that greeted us was very friendly and accommodating. She provided excellent customer service. The suite was clean and updated. We like staying is a suite with a small kitchen and sitting area. They offered a hot continential breakfast, fresh fruit and a variety of other breakfast options. The breakfast area was clean and the staff servicing the area was accommodating. We would not hesitate to stay there again. Great Value in State College.

Room Tip: Nice pool....take your swim suit and workout clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
On the behalf of the hotel staff, I am writing to Thank You for staying here at the Comfort Suites. We appreciate you taking time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our pleasant staff could accommodate you with higher expectations then you anticipated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast spread that we serve each morning as well.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night’s stay a satisfying one. The principle goal of our hotel is to provide dependable services to all of our guests at a reasonable price. Again, let me thank you for staying with us. We’re committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We spent a few nights at PSU. The room had 2 queens and a sleeper sofa. The room was very comfortable for my wife and three kids between the ages of 12-18. The indoor pool and hit tub were refreshing. The continental breakfast was good. The workout room was small but sufficient.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dacoach1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I would like to say thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear from our families about how much they enjoy the spacious rooms with the two queen beds and full size sofa sleeper. I know myself that space and comfort are two BIG factors when traveling with my family. A free breakfast is also a nice touch when traveling, with having no worries as to where to eat breakfast each morning. Thank you again for writing your review,and we look forward to seeing you and your family again when visiting Penn State.

Warm Regards,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were so comfortable here, we were sorry to be staying only one night! Beautiful loft-style lobby and gas fireplace, complimentary hot drinks in gathering space, friendly staff to greet us on a wintry night after a very long day on the road. Spacious bath and counter, big tub with whirlpool jets and an excellent shower head, four sets of towels (unheard of, right?) of very high quality, bed and linens were terrific; even my husband commented how much he liked the comforter, a detail not often on his radar. Plenty of pillows with "firm" and "soft" options. Couch was very comfortable, television selection adequate, wet bar with micro-fridge and counter (our room included hot cocoa and popcorn plus coffee and tea) gave us a most pleasant stay. My only concern would be that the bath/shower opens on one side into the bathroom as normal of course, but also into the sleeping space on the other, separated only by curtains - not an issue unless you prefer a little more privacy when using the facilities. Not a problem for us - on this stay. We will stay here from now on when traveling in this area.

Room Tip: Hotel is on one of the busiest roads in the community but sits a bit off the highway and up a slight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review of your recent stay! We are always pleased to hear that guests like our recently updated suites with new carpet, sofa beds, the most amazing bedding. Having your guest enjoying themselves while staying is music to our ears. Kuddos to your husband for noticing the nice bedding package!

We also love our lobby area with the fireplace for that extra coziness during breakfast on a winters morning or simply hanging around while enjoying a cup of coffee or cocoa.

Thank you again for your review and we certainly hope to see you again soon, when you visit the State College area.

Warmest Regards,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel is really close to PSU. At first glance it looks fine but the Staff looked sloppy and the rooms are dated. We were surprised to see a jacuzzi tub in our suite, but the jets were covered with a film of dirt. I even took a tissue to wipe them because I thought it could just be stained... Nope dirt. Wireless was spotty. Comfort inns are usually my go to hotels for my larger family but next time we are in PSU, we will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillianns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
I am concerned about the problems you recently experienced at our hotel. I am writing today, to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention.
A hotel is defined by the quality of the services it provides to its guests. Consequently, it’s disappointing to learn of your unhappiness. Such as those you have mentioned to us.

Please accept my sincere apology. I will speak with the housekeeping department about the importance of thorough cleaning of all surfaces in the bathroom as well as the entire room. As for the spotty wireless signal, that has been since resolved and it was because our guests concerns that we were able to upgrade our signal services throughout the entire hotel.

We accommodate many guests each night, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one.
Since the principle goal of our hotel is to provide dependable services to all guests at a reasonable price, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we’re doing right, and where we can make improvements.Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. We certainly hope that you would reconsider staying again when you come to the area.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
784 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
572 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 132 Village Drive, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in State College
#13 Business Hotel in State College
#15 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind every great stay is a great night at the Comfort Suites® hotel in State College, PA. This is an all-suites hotel near Penn State University, Pegula Ice Arena and The Arboretum at Penn State. This smoke-free State College family suite hotel near the Mount Nittany Medical Center is conveniently located, giving you easy access to a variety of restaurants, activities and points of interest in State College. This State College pet-friendly hotel is close to the McCoy Natatorium, Central PA Tasting Trail and: Palmer Museum of Art Beaver Stadium Bryce Jordan Center Penn's Cave & Wildlife Park Pegula Ice Arena Whether you’re staying for leisure or corporate travel, Comfort Suites will give you everything you need to make your trip a success. Business travelers can utilize our 64-person meeting space, and our business center features a computer and copy and fax services. For your convenience, guest laundry facilities are also available. As our valued guest, you can also enjoy such amenities as: Free WiFi Free airport transportation Indoor pool and whirlpool Fitness center Free weekday newspaper Start your day off with a great hot breakfast. Your trip to State College begins with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. We invite you to relax in your spacious suite, which features a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Keep your electronic devices charged with the recharge device including AC and USB outlets provided in all guest rooms. Standard and two-room suites with whirlpool bathtubs are also available. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Comfort Suites hotel. Rested, set, go—book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel State College
Comfort Suites State College
State College Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing