We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super close but not a bullseye.”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel is really close to PSU. At first glance it looks fine but the Staff looked sloppy and the rooms are dated. We were surprised to see a jacuzzi tub in our suite, but the jets were covered with a film of dirt. I even took a tissue to wipe them because I thought it could just be stained... Nope dirt. Wireless was spotty. Comfort inns are usually my go to hotels for my larger family but next time we are in PSU, we will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillianns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

I am concerned about the problems you recently experienced at our hotel. I am writing today, to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention.
A hotel is defined by the quality of the services it provides to its guests. Consequently, it’s disappointing to learn of your unhappiness. Such as those you have mentioned to us.

Please accept my sincere apology. I will speak with the housekeeping department about the importance of thorough cleaning of all surfaces in the bathroom as well as the entire room. As for the spotty wireless signal, that has been since resolved and it was because our guests concerns that we were able to upgrade our signal services throughout the entire hotel.

We accommodate many guests each night, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one.
Since the principle goal of our hotel is to provide dependable services to all guests at a reasonable price, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we’re doing right, and where we can make improvements.Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. We certainly hope that you would reconsider staying again when you come to the area.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 247 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Awesome, comfortable beds with cool little pillows. Even the sofa bed was comfortable! Microwave, coffee maker, fridge and computer station in room. Great breakfast...way more than just "continental." Would definite stay again if in the area!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for a great review of your recent stay. With our recent refreshing of our guests rooms, it's nice to know that you noticed!! We certainly do try to give our guests a lot for their money, with a great hot breakfast and more room amenities than some other suites hotels. Thank you again for your review and we so look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,
Patty Mandell,AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have traveled alot but this is by far the best hotel and staff that i have ever experienced. The entire staff, including the managers, desk clerks, laundry, housekeeping and maintenance personnel are the most helpful and courteous that i have experienced. My room is always immaculate as well as the entire hotel and grounds. This hotel should be highly commended for the efforts put forth from the staff. My stays here are always the most pleasant. I recommend anyone traveling to State College to make reservations at this facility. Hats off for a job well done!

Room Tip: The left side of the hotel is quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Wow! What a great review! We appreciate your kind words about our award winning service team! We do strive to make your stay a "home away from home", and I am so glad you enjoy our large spacious rooms for working in while here on business. I will certainly share your enthusiasm with our staff about how much you enjoy your stays with us. Thank you for choosing the Comfort Suites for your stays in State College.

Warm Regards,
Patty Mandell,AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We got to state college around 10 pm . Call the hotel and got room . We put the address and put in the gps . What come up was so weird that we had to call hotel back as this was our first time to state college . The lady at the desk was so helpful and gave such great directions . The room was clean , comfortable and a nice size . In the morning my daughter went down for breakfast to get us a table . No luck so we ate in the room . Some that was fine and we just had bagels and bananas with coffee . Just wish it was till 10 am . Easy check out and just followed the directions backwards .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We appreciate you taking time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff could accommodate you with directions to help you find our hotel.
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night’s stay a satisfying one and I have mentioned to our general manager about possibly extending breakfast hours for those late sleepers and to be sure that guests know of our additional seating available.
Again, let me thank you for staying with us. We’re committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit when in the State College area.


Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had no complaints about this hotel. The lobby, halls, breakfast room, pool, and fitness center were all clean and attractive. The desk staff was exceptionally friendly, efficient and helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions to places. Our room and bathroom were immaculate, well-equipped, and attractive. The bed was wonderful. The air conditioning worked well, and was quiet, as were our room and the entire hotel.

The location was very good - close to the campus, shops, restaurants, a park, and a nice bike/hiking trail. The price was very reasonable. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

On the behalf of the hotel staff, I am writing to Thank You for staying at the Comfort Suites in State College. We appreciate you taking time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our pleasant staff could accommodate you with higher expectations then you anticipated.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night’s stay a satisfying one. The principle goal of our hotel is to provide dependable services to all of our guests at a reasonable price. But, it’s only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Again, let me thank you for staying with us. We’re committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our first stay at Comfort Suites. Our room looked over the parking lot, which was so well lit, our room was lit up at night as the halogen lamps penetrated the window shades. Make sure you get a room that does not face the parking lot. The room was rudimentary and clean. The biggest problem was the intermittent internet. Up for 5 minutes, down for 10 minutes, up for 3 minutes, down for 20 minutes. It tool me hours and hours to get my work done. Calling the front desk yielded a support company that basically was of no help, after waiting a 1/2 hour for the support agent to pick up. I thought for the price it would have been nicer, and had solid internet. The breakfast was outstanding, so if you like a nice free breakfast as your priority, you will love this property.

Room Tip: Don't get a room which faces the parking lot, the lights shine into the room even with the curta...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YandB_LabLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

A hotel is defined by the quality of the services it provides to its guests. Consequently, it’s disappointing to learn of your unhappiness. Such as those you have mentioned to us.
Please accept my sincere apology. We know how frustrating it can be to have the internet not being consistent while working, especially when deadlines are trying to be met. I have turned your concerns over to our Internet Specialist to see why there wasn't a consistent connection during your stay and that the wireless company wasn't very helpful to you in resolving the issue.
We accommodate many guests each night, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. Since the principle goal of our hotel is to provide dependable services to all guests at a reasonable price, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we’re doing right, and where we can make improvements. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you’ve raised have been addressed. As a conclusion, I will work with the Internet department on how we can make the necessary changes and improvements as well. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We look forward to serving you again during your next stay in the State College area.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend get-away with family. The rooms were a good size and the beds were comfortable. The rate was among the most reasonable in the area for the type of hotel it was. Breakfast (hot and cold cereal, muffins, bagels, danish, waffles, fruit, yogurt and two hot choices that change daily) is included and it's more than enough to get you going in the morning. The only complaint I have is to extend the time to 10am so sleepy heads can make it too. The pool and hot tub are very nice after a long day of exploring the area. The location is central and parking is free. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luci_J_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuites132, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey on behalf of our hotel and staff. It sounds like you had a Great weekend getaway,and you enjoyed our delicious breakfast the we serve that has a variety for everyone.I would be glad to make mention about extending the breakfast hours for ALL of the sleepy heads that need those few extra minutes to sleep in. Our pool and hot tub seemed to be the place to hang out while unwinding from spending a day exploring all the local shops in the area. We are certainly pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will return for another visit soon.

Many thanks,
Patty Mandell,AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#8 of 26 in State College
1,319 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#15 of 26 in State College
145 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 132 Village Drive, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in State College
#13 Business Hotel in State College
#15 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: $87 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind every great stay is a great night at the Comfort Suites® hotel in State College, PA. This is an all-suites hotel near Penn State University, Pegula Ice Arena and The Arboretum at Penn State. This smoke-free State College family suite hotel near the Mount Nittany Medical Center is conveniently located, giving you easy access to a variety of restaurants, activities and points of interest in State College. This State College pet-friendly hotel is close to the McCoy Natatorium, Central PA Tasting Trail and: Palmer Museum of Art Beaver Stadium Bryce Jordan Center Penn's Cave & Wildlife Park Pegula Ice Arena Whether you’re staying for leisure or corporate travel, Comfort Suites will give you everything you need to make your trip a success. Business travelers can utilize our 64-person meeting space, and our business center features a computer and copy and fax services. For your convenience, guest laundry facilities are also available. As our valued guest, you can also enjoy such amenities as: Free WiFi Free airport transportation Indoor pool and whirlpool Fitness center Free weekday newspaper Start your day off with a great hot breakfast. Your trip to State College begins with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. We invite you to relax in your spacious suite, which features a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Keep your electronic devices charged with the recharge device including AC and USB outlets provided in all guest rooms. Standard and two-room suites with whirlpool bathtubs are also available. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Comfort Suites hotel. Rested, set, go—book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel State College
Comfort Suites State College
State College Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing