We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Excellent Brunch”

The Tavern Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 244 Restaurants in State College
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Tyrone, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Excellent Brunch”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The service is excellent. Sunday brunch has a wide variety of items....something for every one. Our food has been cooked to perfection every time we've dined there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5377fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    132
    68
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crownsville, MD
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nothing really wrong with our meal there but The Tavern has aged into a tired, old-fashioned, unimaginative place. It was the go-to place in State College back in the 70s when I went to school there and, if this were still 1975, it still would be. The wine list was good, the service was great and the food was fine, if routine and uninspired. Take your grandparents - they'll enjoy the step back in time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awthird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Don't order the NY Strip Steak...Lousy.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have to first say that I did enjoy the atmosphere however the fireplace isn't working and that's the reason we went there to start with. Now on to the rest of the story....the service was very good...the chairs are just to small and cut into the front part of my legs, very uncomfortable. I ordered the steak as listed above and could only eat half of it...just full of fat and grissle...absolutely lousy, I should have sent it back but we were running short on time. The bread is cold and rock hard as is the butter...the side of green beans looked as if they had been freezer burnt before they tried to brighten them up and the water is completely unfiltered and basically unfit to drink unless you love the taste of chlorine...yuk. We had a party of three and all agreed for different reasons that this place on a scale of 1-10 is at best a 7...we could have had a much nicer meal elsewhere for the $101 dollar tab...plus tip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Institution”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Never had a bad meal here. The wait staff is most attentive and helpful. The decor is so unique cannot be described. If you have to wait, it is worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Godspeed-safely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono Pines, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“There is a Tavern in the town...”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Downtown state college... Good food, good service, there was too much business going on all around. Two tables were filled with staff & their boss doing paperwork or something. Then in the middle of the meal a waiter recognized a guest & the next 20 minutes were filled with us being an uninvited guest into a walk down memory lane... Very unpleasant, still the meal was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frjimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing