We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard State College
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is dated and could use a face lift. But it's a fine hotel and the good customer service makes up for the lack of updates. Each room comes with a refrigerator and microwave which is a nice convenience as well. Plenty of parking, decent gym and quiet area while still being convenient to the university, shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnydove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Sunnydove,
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 121 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

I really enjoyed my overnight stay at the State College Courtyard. The staff was excellent! I got great dinner and breakfast recommendations. Had two wonderful meals while in town. The room was very clean, even had a Jacuzzi tub! Was not expecting that for the low price. Very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

MelissaC0908,
I'm delight to hear of your enjoyable stay and your appreciation of our excellent staff at Courtyard State College. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we're glad you found our amenities and clean accommodations to exceed your expectations. We hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I ended up moving here from a bad experience at the Days Inn, and was very glad that I did. This Courtyard is only about 2 miles from the University and is convenient to restaurants and other points of interest. The rooms were very nice and the service was excellent.

They had a choice of free high speed wifi as well as a paid extended speed wifi, so I tried both. The free wifi is quite adequate for normal browsing and email, etc. The extended high speed wifi is very fast, allowing good streaming of movies or videos, if you need that.

Overall, a good choice for a hotel in State College.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sputnik54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

sputnik54,
Thank you for writing a review regarding your Courtyard State College experience. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we're pleased to know our convenient location, excellent service, and value added amenities made for an enjoyable stay. It's great to hear we were able to improve your experience, as we strive to provide an exceptional stay for all of our guests. Please plan to visit us again soon at Courtyard State College. Thank you again for your great review.

Sincerely,
Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for move in August 2013. Convenient location, close to the university. Reasonable price, although all the hotels in the area seem to charge more on these busy weekends. Great to stay at a chain that has similar amenities from location to location. This hotel had clean, nice rooms, ample parking, a pool that we didn't use but was available, a restaurant that was a great option for breakfast and the bar stayed open until 10pm. Perfect option!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

MrsfromNYC,

Thank you for the review on your recent stay at our Courtyard – State College. I am pleased you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer, along with the Courtyard brand in general. Thank you for your pledged loyalty to our brand! Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Patty Treaster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had a great weekend in my husband's alma mater for the festival in July. The Courtyard had special amenities for families and kids- nice touch. Rooms were more expensive than others in the area, but it was worth it. Great room, two double beds- very nice linens and towels. Very clean bathrooms and sink area.

The Autoport is right across the street on Atherton so we got to enjoy their al fresco dining but stay in a hotel of higher quality. My sister stayed in the Ramada next door and I was happy to have reserved a room at the Marriott. We will definitely stay there the next trip up there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Edie P,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard State College. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in town for the Arts Festival, and we’re glad you enjoyed our special amenities and clean accommodations. Please plan to stay with us again the next time you visit State College. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel was clean as most Marriotts are.
Pool and hot tub, restaurant, lobby, staff were all great.
Don't even ask what I paid for a room graduation weekend....
I stayed in a king suite and it worked out great with visiting fami

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

albuds,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Courtyard State College. We’re glad you liked our property and found our spacious accommodations clean and well suited for your travels. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I love Courtyards but this one fell short. Rooms were much smaller then usual. Got to the room and there was no fridge. They did get me one but took up space that was needed. Then it didn't work. Bar area not as nice as usual. Always have breakfast but not this time. Pricey and no buffet. TV got poor reception. People were very nice. I would look for another hotel when I am in the area. I am a gold rewards member but no upgrade available. Wonder how to get a balcony room.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Joseph J,
Thank you for sharing a review about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short in providing you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. We appreciate our guests taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback on opportunities for improvement. We value you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us the next time you travel to State College. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn State College
Residence Inn State College
#23 of 26 in State College
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#10 of 26 in State College
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard State College

Address: 1730 University Dr, State College, PA 16801-6273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: $103 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard State College 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among State College hotels, Courtyard by Marriott State College is the ideal oasis on the road for all travelers. Featuring many modern touches, the Courtyard lobby and Bistro offers spaces to connect, unwind, and eat. Start your morning right at this State College hotel with breakfast and Starbucks, then stop back again at the end of the day for dinner and a cocktail. Stay connected in our lobby or Business Center featuring free Wi-Fi. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Perfectly situated in Happy Valley, this State College hotel near Penn State University, Bryce Jordan Center and Beaver Stadium is close to many area businesses and attractions. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, featuring FREE High Speed Internet and Wi-Fi, a large well-lit work area and 32" LCD flat screen TV. Sleep comfortably in our custom bedding with thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. When choosing State College hotels, come see why Courtyard by Marriott State College hotel is a step above the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott State College Hotel State College
State College Marriott
State College Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing