We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard State College
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in a wedding block. We booked the hotel for two nights at the wedding block rate but needed an additional night. Hotel employee gave us the third night for the wedding block rate which was a pleasant surprise. Hotel is updated and clean. Rooms are small (king bed and pull out couch however, there is not any room to move around when couch is pulled out!). Sink area outside bathroom was tiny. The hotel did not have a fridge, which we needed. The clerk at the front desk was very helpful and hunted down a fridge for us, which we were not even charged for. Parking is free but seemed to be at a premium during check-in times! We also asked for late check-out and had no problems.

There is currently lots of road construction on both streets surrounding the hotel which is nothing against the hotel but makes coming and going a bit difficult.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

LTS220,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. It’s great to know we were able to accommodate your needs and provide a pleasant stay. Please come and stay with us again the next time you’re in Happy Valley.

Kind regards,
Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard State College
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 118 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here for a conference and it was actually the perfect hotel for me. The hotel is modern, and the room I had held a king bed comfortably with a nice little area for the desk and a small couch. It had a really small balcony, but it was nice that it even had a balcony. The bathroom was good sized with decent water pressure. The best part is that when I needed a shuttle ride to the airport, management staff gave me a ride to the airport because their shuttle was tied up dealing with the conference I was attending. Now that's what I call service! If you are staying at the hotel, but need to visit the Penn State campus, the walk was not bad at all. It takes about 25 to 30 minutes to reach the campus and it's a nice walk with good sidewalks. All in all, a good way to get a little exercise and see the residential areas surrounding the campus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rheesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Rheesa,

Thank you for letting us know you had a pleasant stay with us at Courtyard. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and experienced our friendly and accommodating staff. We hope you will come and stay with us again the next time you are visiting Penn State campus.

Best regards,
Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I travel a lot for business and usually stay 5-6 nights a months in the Marriott chain hotels. Unfortunately I am only in the State College area once every 3 months. Just recently I stayed at this location and from past experience, I will choose no other location when in State College. The lobby is "state of the art" and very spectacular to look at as opposed to other Marriott locations. The staff is VERY courteous (Jackie and David were the best), the pool and workout rooms are enormous (as compared to other Marriott locations) and the rooms are very well kept. If you are staying in State College anytime in the near future, PLEASE choose this hotel and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Frank R,

It’s great to hear from you on TripAdvisor and receive such a rave review about our hotel. I also appreciate your wonderful compliments about our staff and pointing out Jackie and David's exceptional service. I’ll make sure they receive a special commendation for their outstanding work. We hope other TripAdvisor readers will take your advice and choose our hotel when visiting State College. Please come and visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here during the arts festival so rates where high. The hotel was very nice, clean and seems to have been recently renovated. The lobby cafe looked nice but is pricey so we opted to eat else where. The location was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSRLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

MSRLK,

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We are also glad to hear that you and your family attended our local arts festival and hope that all of you had a good time. Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Have a great summer,

Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

A caveat to my location score; my trip brought me out for activities southeast of campus so the location was ideal. With that said, the layout of the campus makes it easy to get around.
Rooms were clean. Mine had a tub in the bedroom part and a balcony. Pretty neat. View was of commercial area though. I would have to guess the lobby is newly renovated however rooms might be a phase behind.
Staff was friendly and knowledgeable about area restaurants and shops. If I had business out in State College again, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Ohface,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel and for recommending us. I will pass along all of your comments to our team during our next weekly meeting. We look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very bland room, looks to have been renovated but not much to admire. They sell a breakfast "special" sandwich $7 that is usually free at most courtyard hotels- made with the sausage and processed egg patty. There is a Ruby Tuesday right behind for a good fast meal. Also on the side there is another hotel, (Ramada??) that had a pretty good bar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flh65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear flh65_10,

Thank you for your review! You may be thinking of the breakfast sandwiches at Fairfield Inns, they offer a limited complimentary continental breakfast and all Courtyard’s charge for breakfast with much more variety.

Best regards,

Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel during Volleyball Tournament over Memorial Day weekend. Room was very clean, toiletries very nice; cafe bistro has good selection. Most notable is that although this hotel was full w/ lots of families all weekend, the staff was very friendly and always helpful, from the front desk to housekeeping to the cafe. Our room had a folder of information to help us navigate around State College during the volleyball tournament, very thoughtful. Although we did not have small children, they had a couple fun contests for kids, very customer oriented.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard State College, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

We’re so glad you and your family had a great stay with us and that we were able to help make your visit to State College enjoyable. Thanks for all the compliments, hope your team came away winners at the tournament!

Have a great summer,

Patty Treaster, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn State College
Residence Inn State College
#22 of 26 in State College
142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#8 of 26 in State College
1,320 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
563 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#15 of 26 in State College
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard State College

Address: 1730 University Dr, State College, PA 16801-6273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: $115 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard State College 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among State College hotels, Courtyard by Marriott State College is the ideal oasis on the road for all travelers. Featuring many modern touches, the Courtyard lobby and Bistro offers spaces to connect, unwind, and eat. Start your morning right at this State College hotel with breakfast and Starbucks, then stop back again at the end of the day for dinner and a cocktail. Stay connected in our lobby or Business Center featuring free Wi-Fi. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Perfectly situated in Happy Valley, this State College hotel near Penn State University, Bryce Jordan Center and Beaver Stadium is close to many area businesses and attractions. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, featuring FREE High Speed Internet and Wi-Fi, a large well-lit work area and 32" LCD flat screen TV. Sleep comfortably in our custom bedding with thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. When choosing State College hotels, come see why Courtyard by Marriott State College hotel is a step above the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott State College Hotel State College
State College Marriott
State College Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing