We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable place, friendly and hard-working staff, excellent location, very clean!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am a violinist that came to audition to PSU School of Music. My overall experience in State College will be one that will be very close to my heart, and I will remember for a lifetime. Rodeway Inn made such experience even better!!! I did not have the chance to meet Mr. Bob Patel, but I always interacted with Mr. Parmar at the front desk. He is truly warmhearted, honest, dependable and extremely responsible at what he does. Not only does he take his job seriously but he makes you feel welcome! Besides, my room was very clean! It had exactly all that I needed to be comfortable without having to break my piggy bank. I was able to practice my violin within reasonable "noise hours" without any problem! The location is wonderful, just an 8 minute walk from School of Music and there is even a CATA bus stop to take you to campus!!
I would definitely, definitely come back here, and I don't hesitate to recommend Rodeway Inn! If you are looking for great price, location, cleanliness and a friendly staff is important to you, make sure you consider Rodeway Inn!!!
Thank you Mr. Parmar, and to your wife, for treating me so well! God bless you!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvaropereiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hi Alvaro,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We will see you back in future.
Best Regards,
Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 85 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

If price is the main consideration, you can get a good deal here. The hotel is close to the campus and easily accessible by vehicle. The family that runs the hotel lives on the first floor. Get ice from the office when you check in.

Room Tip: Ask for the room directly above the office. It's unusually large and you won't have noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCDPGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I recently stayed at the Rodeway Inn in State College, PA. I was passing through the area and was drawn to the affordable price. Before my stay I was concerned that the hotel would be either run-down or unclean do the economical price I was to pay. On the contrary, I found my unit to be clean and very acceptable.

The General Manager Bob Patel was very responsive to all of my needs, as I had some issues with the way I had filled out my reservation. With Mr. Patel's help, we were able to work out all issues, which alleviated a great deal of stress for me. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially customer service to any passer-through.

The only reason I gave this hotel an average rating was due to the fact that the hotel is quite dated in its amenities. However, Mr. Patel actually made the experience much more than average.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardrock44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob P, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Rodeway Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Rodeway Inn in State College, PA. I made the reservation online and was immediately sent an email confirmation. When I arrived I was greeted by a super friendly General Manager Bob Patel. Mr. Patel clearly likes his job and it shows. My room was probably one of the cleanest hotel rooms I have stayed at. I was not expecting what I got, but was very happy with everything from management to cleanliness and also convenience of location. It is a great value for the money and I plan to always use this hotel for State College visits.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

All of our usual spots in state college were taken. The only place available was this and we worried that, with such a low rate, what would we find? We found a good sized room, a microwave, fridge, tv with cable and cleanliness. This place was cleaner than some of the more expensive places we've stayed. Yes, the bathroom is small, but immaculate. The room had everything we needed. My only complaint? The towels were those very thin ones. That will not prevent me from returning. It is convenient to just about everything. North Atherton has every possible food option available, and the university is a short walk away.
Oh, and it was quiet at night! A very good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSky32022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I spent the day at PSU and after a lot of walking around campus, running errands in town this room was just what I needed. The price is what originally attracted me but the staff is the reason I will return. My room was clean, and larger than I thought it would be.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P Lloyd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Rode the Harley to state college and took a chance on the Roadway inn. What a wonderful place, room was clean and spacious vaulted ceilings. Could not have found a better place to stay for the price. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woody1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#21 of 26 in State College
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
478 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
2 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1040 N Atherton St, State College, PA 16803-2976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range: $51 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn State College
State College Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing