We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed September 22, 2013

All of our usual spots in state college were taken. The only place available was this and we worried that, with such a low rate, what would we find? We found a good sized room, a microwave, fridge, tv with cable and cleanliness. This place was cleaner than some of the more expensive places we've stayed. Yes, the bathroom is small, but immaculate. The room had everything we needed. My only complaint? The towels were those very thin ones. That will not prevent me from returning. It is convenient to just about everything. North Atherton has every possible food option available, and the university is a short walk away.
Oh, and it was quiet at night! A very good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSky32022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 85 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

I spent the day at PSU and after a lot of walking around campus, running errands in town this room was just what I needed. The price is what originally attracted me but the staff is the reason I will return. My room was clean, and larger than I thought it would be.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P Lloyd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Rode the Harley to state college and took a chance on the Roadway inn. What a wonderful place, room was clean and spacious vaulted ceilings. Could not have found a better place to stay for the price. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woody1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I recently stayed here for over 3 weeks and it was extremely convinient for such a modest price.
The staff is very friendly and really helpful and the room is cleaned every day (which is what you really need for a few weeks stay). It's also at a very convinient location on North Artherton and just 15 minutes walk from Campus Library.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oranjok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Clean room, quiet, bargain price. I could not ask for anything more. The staff at this facility does a great job. I will stay at this Rodeway again. Convenient location just off I-99 on route 322 Bus. The cost made it a real bargain.

Room Tip: The rooms do not face the highway so you do not get the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Although the outside of this motel looks very dated, the room was perfect for us. We had a comfortable bed in a very large room. The carpeting looked fairly new. Air conditioning worked fine as did the nice size refrigerator. The TV was older but worked perfectly as did the WiFi. Front desk folks were quite helpful and friendly. Breakfast was on the small side but at least they provided something. We would definitely stay here again the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 56suzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Checked into this hotel late...treated well by the front desk manager...good older room with excellent heat...in front of door car parking...wireless internet access...really what you want in a hotel is a clean warm room, good bed, and hot shower in the morning...they did all of the above very well at a fair price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurt5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#21 of 26 in State College
811 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
251 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1040 N Atherton St, State College, PA 16803-2976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: $55 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn State College
State College Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing