We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and clean room”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The motel is old and shows its years. Our room had two queen bed and basic furniture. The ceiling was low. The bathroom was small but clean. Location is good for Penn State University on a busy road. Breakfast is coffee and danish.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

I tried this motel to speand a night after long day of journey. I Asked the old desk guy to show me a room and he walked with us to show the room. from outside motel looks OK but inside the rooms are too small, not enough room to turn around, bathroom is too small, I rather stay at other hotels in the town they have nice and large spacy room for little more money. This motel's breakfast is joke!.

Room Tip: Higher price but too samll for family.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The location of this hotel can't be faulted. The hotel is only 2 blocks from Penn State's campus. It is excellent value for money. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. What more can you ask for! It appears that the hotel is undergoing a renovation with new carpets which are very nice. Overall A Solid Stay at the Rodeway Inn.

Pros:
-Close location to campus
-Clean, quiet, spacious rooms
-Microwave & Fridge in rooms
-Simple breakfast
-Family owned and run, so there is a personal touch

Cons:
-AC was really really loud

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yedra78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I visited Rodeway Inn during very busy period of Penn State welcome week. From only 2 available hotels in the neighborhood it was twice cheaper. It has perfect location - shops, restaurants, even campus within walking distance. here were excellent people at the front desk, room was much better looking than hotel from the outside, spacious, very clean (though with a little bit of smoke smell), linen and towels impeccable, new looking carpet, comfortable beds, pleasant shower with different options of water spray, AC - loud, TV - small, fast wi-fi. Breakfast... well... I have never seen something like this called breakfast till then. But may be it's because of my inexperience in USA hotels. All breakfast was placed on about 1.5x0.3 meter shelf, with sparse choice, no place to eat there, but everything I took - my coffee, little muffin, tiny cake and even banana were quite good.

All in all: I have had a pleasant stay and I will not be against staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lelikuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was a stop to come back from Reading, PA. The place was loud and there was a large gap under the door. The AC was pretty loud. There was hair in the bathroom that housekeeping forgot. The breakfast was tiny muffins, danishes, and juice and coffee. Darn small and trashy... Also only TWO chairs and no tables in the lobby for said breakfast. CRAPPY!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank oceanlover1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Let me qualify m review by first stating that my wife and I were only here for one night, but we have absolutely no complaints regarding the hotel, staff or location. The gentleman checking us in was very helpful and personable. We were told during our small-talk check-in conversation that the hotel was an older property, yet our room smelled NEW. The linens were fresh-smelling, the furniture was dust-free, the refrigerator was turned on and clean, the microwave was clean and the bathroom was SPOTLESS and well stocked with towels, wash cloths and the typical toiletries. We never stayed in a cleaner hotel. My wife has very sensitive sinuses due to severe allergies, and she was not bothered a bit. We were even given literature at the desk on things to do in the local area. We did not require any service from the staff, partly because of the short stay but mostly because there were no needs to address. In the morning, the owner/manager himself was on duty, and he and the woman at the desk were equally personable and easy to understand. The continental breakfast was the typical choice of muffins and beverages we have come to expect. Based on our one night experience, if we have the opportunity to stay here again, we certainly would have no problem doing so and highly recommend the hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a main street but we had no problems sleeping due to traffic noise or otherw...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nature-seer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

when we visited PA state colleage, a friend recommanded this hotel for us. it located in a very convenient place. in front of the hotel, there is many bus lines to campus and walmart. The price is not that expensive as daysinn. the only thing i can not agree is their free breakfast. only water and some cookies, coffee. even no tables for eating.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor are prefered
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xiaokang Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
178 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#21 of 26 in State College
791 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
247 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
471 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1040 N Atherton St, State College, PA 16803-2976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: $60 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn State College
State College Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing