We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Priced, Clean, Comfortable”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had plans to travel with our son, a Penn State grad student. We had not seen his home or the campus, so this was our time to meet him there and see the area before our trip. Being Choice Hotel members, we usually try to use our bonus points for our travel stays and this hotel fit the bill.

The outside is a "motel-ish" and can put you off a bit but our first contact in the office was Mr Patel, who I believe is the owner, and he was accommodating, conversant, very pleasant, and seemed to be quite proud of his hotel and what it offered to his guests. You sort of got more of a "mom and pop" feeling to the hotel than the big corporation vibes you get from most of them. That was appreciated. We had arrived earlier than the check-in time and were able to check in then.

Our room was one of the outside parking lot entrance rooms, and happily our room was very different from the outside of the hotel. Though there was an odd smell to our room (not too strong or particularly unpleasant, we just couldn't figure out what it was), but the room was updated, well appointed, and clean.

It is right off the highway, not quite the town proper, but very close. If you don't feel like driving for a meal there is a Domino's pizza shop just down the road that delivers to the hotel. The internet service is free and fast. The bathroom was clean and offered a blow dryer and some toiletries. There is no need to search for electrical outlets in these rooms; they are plentiful, which allows you to plug in your electronics without having to juggle unplugging other things. The room has a wall air conditioning unit, which worked quite well but the fan runs constantly, which can get a bit annoying. The room has a nice television and cable, a small microwave and a dorm-size refrigerator; both which were clean and in good condition. I have included pictures of those. The mattresses were comfortable, perhaps just a bit soft for those of you who like very firm mattresses, but not not soft enough to cause your back to ache.

The hotel offers a continental breakfast which is ... well, it's a continental breakfast in a small motel type hotel. It is nothing to write home about, but the coffee is warm, and they do offer tea bags and water for tea drinkers, and it suffices until you can fill up at the Waffle Shop or some other "must eat here" place in the area. On the morning I was there Mr Patel was again there to offer a bit of pleasant morning conversation.

All in all, it isn't the Hilton but pricewise it is definitely a place to consider. If we return, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingYinzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 85 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed here for Parents' Weekend when all other hotels were booked, so we didn't know what to expect. This hotel is a 15 minute uphill walk to PSU's West Campus. It is a 2 story building. First floor doors open to the outside. Second floor rooms are accessed from a covered hallway. Our room had two double beds, TV with basic cable, free WiFi, a fridge & microwave. (Missed having a coffeemaker.) The bathroom was small with a wall mounted blow dryer, tub, shower & sink. It was well maintained & clean. Provided was bar soap & a small bottle of conditioning shampoo. Room decor was dark blue, navy, burgundy & white. The room has a wall mounted heater/AC unit which was a bit noisy. We had a few pillows of varying softness...1 for Papa Bear, 1 for Mama Bear & 1 that was just right. The mattress was adequate. If you are comfortable in modest settings, I recommend this hotel. It is well maintained & reasonably priced. Mr. Patel is up front with conditions for booking & cancellation policies, so pay attention. Restaurants are a short walk or quick ride. This is a very good 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portena-by-Marriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Getting ourgranddaughter settled at Penn State. Last minute plans. This was the only hotel available for Saturday night. Hotel is older & our room was small but clean. Continental breakfast was sparse. Stayed at Days Inn on Sunday & that was 100 times better.

Ellyn M. Booth

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Spouse and I travelled through State College on our way to drop off and pick up our son from Camp Woodward. We stayed at the Sleep Inn across the street last weekend, and decided to stay here this weekend to save some money, $30. I will say we were a little scared when we pulled up....outside entrances on the 1st floor. We requested a 2nd floor room and were pleasantly accommodated by Mr. Patel. The place probably hasn't had the decor updated in years....wood paneling in the hallways, navy blue carpeting in the rooms....but I will say the place is spotless. Very large room with cathedral ceiling, micro fridge and microwave tv. Free WiFi. Old bathroom, but again very clean. King size bed and pillows are more comfortable than the Sleep Inn we were at across the street last week. Skip the breakfast....muffins and juice or coffee, and go to the Waffle restaurant up the street. will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room....cathedral ceilings and no car lights.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jj1smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I wish we'd spent the extra money to be right on campus, and skipped the sparse accommodations of this place. I guess everything is relative, so maybe the other folks who wrote reviews are not used to staying in nicer places. Next time, I'll spring for the Nittany Inn, Atherton Inn or Penn Stater. The hotel also mixed up our reservation, but did handle that appropriately and not charge us for their own mistake.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UDLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

This motel is very basic lodging. The room and bathroom were small, but I was impressed with the cleanliness. I was there on a weekday and it was also quite peaceful and quiet. I slept very well. It is only minutes from the PSU campus and is very reasonably priced. I do not know if they charge more during football season but I was charged $71 for two double beds. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PghCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

This place is perfect for an alumni weekend when you have been partying and need a bed to sleep in (even though the rates are very expensive as with everyone other hotel in State College). Its clean and basic. Don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
178 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#21 of 26 in State College
790 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
247 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
470 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1040 N Atherton St, State College, PA 16803-2976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: $60 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn State College
State College Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing