We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate for the moment”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adequate for the moment”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Getting ourgranddaughter settled at Penn State. Last minute plans. This was the only hotel available for Saturday night. Hotel is older & our room was small but clean. Continental breakfast was sparse. Stayed at Days Inn on Sunday & that was 100 times better.

Ellyn M. Booth

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
33
14
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Spouse and I travelled through State College on our way to drop off and pick up our son from Camp Woodward. We stayed at the Sleep Inn across the street last weekend, and decided to stay here this weekend to save some money, $30. I will say we were a little scared when we pulled up....outside entrances on the 1st floor. We requested a 2nd floor room and were pleasantly accommodated by Mr. Patel. The place probably hasn't had the decor updated in years....wood paneling in the hallways, navy blue carpeting in the rooms....but I will say the place is spotless. Very large room with cathedral ceiling, micro fridge and microwave tv. Free WiFi. Old bathroom, but again very clean. King size bed and pillows are more comfortable than the Sleep Inn we were at across the street last week. Skip the breakfast....muffins and juice or coffee, and go to the Waffle restaurant up the street. will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room....cathedral ceilings and no car lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj1smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I wish we'd spent the extra money to be right on campus, and skipped the sparse accommodations of this place. I guess everything is relative, so maybe the other folks who wrote reviews are not used to staying in nicer places. Next time, I'll spring for the Nittany Inn, Atherton Inn or Penn Stater. The hotel also mixed up our reservation, but did handle that appropriately and not charge us for their own mistake.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UDLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

This motel is very basic lodging. The room and bathroom were small, but I was impressed with the cleanliness. I was there on a weekday and it was also quite peaceful and quiet. I slept very well. It is only minutes from the PSU campus and is very reasonably priced. I do not know if they charge more during football season but I was charged $71 for two double beds. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PghCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

This place is perfect for an alumni weekend when you have been partying and need a bed to sleep in (even though the rates are very expensive as with everyone other hotel in State College). Its clean and basic. Don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Pluses: Inexpensive, located near campus, A/C and TV work well

Minuses: Don't expect plush carpeting or fancy bathroom.

Other: Get a second floor room so headlights from parkers don' shine in room, and second floor rooms have nice, high ceilings.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnW1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, pa
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Conveniently located near the Penn State campus, the Rodeway Inn delivers clean, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. I have stayed here on multiple occasions and leave satisfied every time. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, wireless internet in the rooms and refrigerator/microwaves. I highly advise you to stay here during your next trip to Happy Valley.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sagraygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#22 of 26 in State College
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#17 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1040 N Atherton St, State College, PA 16803-2976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn State College
State College Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing