We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, no frill hotel more comfortable beds than the Sleep Inn across the street”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Spouse and I travelled through State College on our way to drop off and pick up our son from Camp Woodward. We stayed at the Sleep Inn across the street last weekend, and decided to stay here this weekend to save some money, $30. I will say we were a little scared when we pulled up....outside entrances on the 1st floor. We requested a 2nd floor room and were pleasantly accommodated by Mr. Patel. The place probably hasn't had the decor updated in years....wood paneling in the hallways, navy blue carpeting in the rooms....but I will say the place is spotless. Very large room with cathedral ceiling, micro fridge and microwave tv. Free WiFi. Old bathroom, but again very clean. King size bed and pillows are more comfortable than the Sleep Inn we were at across the street last week. Skip the breakfast....muffins and juice or coffee, and go to the Waffle restaurant up the street. will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room....cathedral ceilings and no car lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jj1smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 85 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2010

I wish we'd spent the extra money to be right on campus, and skipped the sparse accommodations of this place. I guess everything is relative, so maybe the other folks who wrote reviews are not used to staying in nicer places. Next time, I'll spring for the Nittany Inn, Atherton Inn or Penn Stater. The hotel also mixed up our reservation, but did handle that appropriately and not charge us for their own mistake.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UDLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

This motel is very basic lodging. The room and bathroom were small, but I was impressed with the cleanliness. I was there on a weekday and it was also quite peaceful and quiet. I slept very well. It is only minutes from the PSU campus and is very reasonably priced. I do not know if they charge more during football season but I was charged $71 for two double beds. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PghCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

This place is perfect for an alumni weekend when you have been partying and need a bed to sleep in (even though the rates are very expensive as with everyone other hotel in State College). Its clean and basic. Don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Pluses: Inexpensive, located near campus, A/C and TV work well

Minuses: Don't expect plush carpeting or fancy bathroom.

Other: Get a second floor room so headlights from parkers don' shine in room, and second floor rooms have nice, high ceilings.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnW1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Conveniently located near the Penn State campus, the Rodeway Inn delivers clean, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. I have stayed here on multiple occasions and leave satisfied every time. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, wireless internet in the rooms and refrigerator/microwaves. I highly advise you to stay here during your next trip to Happy Valley.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sagraygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

The Rodeway Inn fit all my travel needs perfectly. It is low-priced, about a 15 minute walk from Penn State University, my room had a microwave, refridgerator, cable, free wireless internet and there are plenty of places to get food just down the road.

The thing I appreciated most was that they let me check out late because my flight didn't leave until late afternoon and I did not rent a car. They were very accommodating to my needs, I stayed two nights and they kept my room very clean. They even have a continental breakfast (muffins, juice and coffee).

The Rodeway Inn really exceeded my expectations, I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sparkletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#21 of 26 in State College
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#13 of 26 in State College
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
475 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1040 N Atherton St, State College, PA 16803-2976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: $55 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn State College
State College Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing