We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a weekend stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in State College
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good for a weekend stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went to State College to visit my son (a freshman at Penn State) and attend a football game. The room was $300 per night for a minimum 2 nights stay. Of course, virtually everything is pricey on a football weekend. The room was clean and adequate and the staff was friendly. The location is good (about a half mile from the campus off Atherton). The wifi was free and worked well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLBlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleep16803, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sleep Inn during your recent visit to State College. We are conveniently located just minutes from the Penn State University Campus, Beaver Stadium, the Bryce Jordan Center and other attractions that State College has to offer visitors. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you ejoyed your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again soon.


Yours In Service,


Lisa Ripka
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    75
    26
    4
    5
See reviews for
56
36
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are from Maryland and had to travel to Penn State for a wedding. The couple recommended the Toftrees at a rate of $119 per night, but since we had to be in town for 3 nights, that rate was a little out of our budget. After a lot of research we settled on the Sleep Inn for a rate of about $73 per night. The room was a little "euro" in terms of size meaning smaller than most people are used to. I thought the lobby area was very nice and updated and there was plenty of parking. No pool on site which was a bummer and the elevator smelled like stale smoke. Other than that we were very pleased. Breakfast was okay- anytime you can get a bowl of cereal, coffee, fresh fruit, etc. complementary I think that's a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleep16803, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sleep Inn during your recent visit to State College for a wedding. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you were pleased with your stay. Our Sleep Inn is a Designed to Dream location offering modern/cozy rooms and a complimentary Morning Medely Breakfast at a great value. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Yours In Service,


Lisa Ripka
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

State College hotels have gotten pricy but the Sleep Inn is still very reasonably priced and the rooms are very clean and very comfortable. The free breakfast was good. Sausage and eggs as well as coffee, juice, and a variety of baked goods. Convenient to College Ave and the PSU Campus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleep16803, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sleep Inn of State College while visiting the area. We appreciate your kind comments and are pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary Morning Medley Breakfast that we offer each morning. We are located only minutes from the PSU campus and the local attractions that State College offers. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next visit.


Yours In Service,

Lisa Ripka
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel has been updated since the last time we stayed here. It is a great value. The room was clean. They have redone the paint, new bed linens and carpeting. It had a comfortable bed and a very nice shower. The wi-fi was free. The front desk staff was friendly. We will stay here again. We stayed here after a State College Spike's Game.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asnydie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleep16803, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you choosing the Sleep Inn for your recent trip to State College to attend a Spike game. We appreciate you sharing your great comments with us. We are conveniently located just minutes from the Medlar Field at Lubrano Park, the home of the State College Spikes and Penn State Baseball.

Our staff takes great pride in the service we provide to all our guests and we appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Yours In Service,


Lisa Ripka
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We got more than expected at this Hotel. The rooms here are VERY reasonably priced, so our expectations were low, but we were pleasantly surprised.

This Hotel is very clean and updated. All the furniture is in new or near new condition. The beds were comfortable and the wi-fi was free. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

This is not a 4 star Hotel. The rooms were not big and I would describe the bathroom as nice but small. The breakfast is included, but it was just continental, bagels, juice and cereal . . . they did have a little dish of eggs and sausage.

Overall very happy with our brief stay here, it served our purpose very well and was better than what we expected for the excellent price. If you need a brief stay to be near Penn State, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrismkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleep16803, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sleep Inn during your recent visit to State College. Our staff takes great pride in the service they provide all our guests and appreciate your great comments. Our Sleep Inn is a Designed to Dream location offering modern rooms and a complimentary Morning Medely Breakfast at a great value. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your business and hope to see you again.

Yours In Service,

Lisa Ripka
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Clean rooms, comfy beds, and great front desk. After riding all day the last thing we wanted to do after checking in was get back on our Goldwing and ride to eat dinner. Fortunately for us, there was a TGI Fridays about a 3 minute walk from the hotel. They offered a 10 percent discount off your check at the restaurant if you showed your room card at the Sleep Inn. Would recommend this Sleep Inn to others.

Room Tip: hotel has elevators and luggage carts so all rooms are easily accessible. Only one negative would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dna6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleep16803, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sleep Inn during your recent ride through State College. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you ejoyed your stay with us. We are glad you took adavantage of the 10% discount that T.G.I Friday's offers all our guests, they are located convienetly in front of the Sleep Inn and are highly recommended by our Staff. We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again soon.


Yours In Service,

Lisa Ripka
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This must have been the best Sleep Inn we have been to. The property is in prime location... our room was very clean, comfortable, and had modern feel to it. This management has done very good job of keeping the hotel well maintained.

The room size is little on the small (for US standards). However, this is on par with most of the European room sizes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleep16803, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sleep Inn during your recent visit to State College. We appreciate your wonderful comments and would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our Sleep Inn is a Designed to Dream location offering cozy, modern rooms at a great value. We take great pride in the service we provide to all our guests. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.


Yours In Service,

Lisa Ripka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.2 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 111 Village Dr., State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel State College
Sleep Inn State College
State College Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing