We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while in State College on family business. The room was small, but since we reserved a room with one queen bed, I expected that. The bathroom had only a shower, but the water pressure and temperature were wonderful! I did like that the sink was separate from the toilet/shower area.

Friendly front desk staff at both check-in and check-out.

The continental breakfast was more than adequate for us.

All in all, a good place to stay and relatively inexpensive for a town that can sometimes be quite expensive.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — No pool!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustyfankathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    76
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
57
39
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2008

The Sleep Inn was a great choice. The rooms were very clean and modern and good location. The Front Desk Staff and the Housekeeping Staff were very friendly and helpful. The Breakfast offered a good variety of continental breakfast items, they also offer wireless internet in the rooms and a new Fitness Center. The over sized shower is GREAT, the best water pressure I have ever experienced at a hotel. If you are ever in State College stay at the Sleep Inn, you won't regret it.

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michael03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Stayed at this place for one night early May 2008 during week day, and previously about the same time of year in 2006, both times for the purpose doing a student term-end move-out from Penn State. Both times, room was clean and OK. Bathroom was modern and new looking; sink outside of bathroom is a nice arrangement if more than one person is staying in the room.

Wireless Internet access was available, but I did not use this. A computer for Internet access was located near the reception desk, but they charged for access after 15 min, an unfriendly nickel-and-diming in my opinion for this type of thing (only one computer, which probably cost them less than $500) since they already provide wireless access free.

Continental breakfast with the usual bagels, pastries, cold cereal, yogurt, fruit, and drinks was nothing spectacular, but fine.

Cost per night inexpensive same price as 2006, good value for the money, I'd recommend this place.

  • Liked — Price, location, general accomodations
  • Disliked — Charge for lobby Internet computer use.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FmrEngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Very clean, nice rooms, large shower with great water pressure, quiet, free internet and fresh baked cookies for 25 cents! The breakfast is the usual continental affair. The front desk staff is very helpful, however, twice I asked for another room key and they gave it to me with no questions asked, i.e., name, identification, etc. They need to beef up their security. Other than that, it's a great place for a cheap price. It's also very consistent, we've stayed there numerous times. Be sure and try Mario's & Luigi's restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KATHLEEN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

Another solid stay. Rooms was super clean. Furniture was newer than last stay. Normally I have trouble sleeping in new places, but I actually slept in until 11AM both days. VERY unlike me. The black out shades worked perfectly. Nice to have a little fridge and microwave. VERY VERY QUIET. Nice to have a variety of reasonable snacks/beverages in the vending machines.

Rooms are a bit small (I know that going in), but this is a very solid clean place to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kvandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2007

Spent one night here while attending a concert at PSU. Had connecting rooms. Very clean hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. Close to restaurants and concert venue. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dogsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Sleep Inn as part of our Fall foliage quest.. It is conveniently located between State College (PSU) and a large shopping area.

Check in was efficient, and our kind of smallish room had a microwave and a minifridge. It also had a safe and a one-cup coffee maker. The bathroom was small but clean and adequate.

The continental breakfast was adequate also (filling), but not for the carbohydrate challenged.

Our stay was well worth the very reasonable price of $54 plus tax.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Ira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these State College hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 26 in State College
81 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,258 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
463 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 111 Village Dr, State College, PA 16803-2923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel State College
Sleep Inn State College
State College Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing