We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whiskers for some informal dining”
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Ranked #31 of 244 Restaurants in State College
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Whiskers for some informal dining”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stopped by for some food in the outdoor patio area of Whiskers, the bar at the Nittany Lion Inn. There was a large selection of small plates and regular entrees. The cheese plate for 3 was skimpy for $15. but we all loved the hot kielbasa with honey mustard. The mac and cheese was a little spicy, but the ropa vieja would have been MUCH improved with a little dish of salsa. It was great to be able to have the Creamery ice cream for dessert with out having to stand in line at the Creamery. We will be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadLessTravelledNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt T, Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are happy to have served you well in Whiskers. We have a brand new menu since your last visit and our chefs have knocked it out of the park with this one. We hope that you stop back in to try some of the new items and say hello. Until next time, cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    37
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Disappointing Dishes”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I ate twice in the same week for a business meal. The first night in the Gilpin room I had the salmon dish-- salmon smelled less than fresh but it was served upside down- skin side up. Never seen that before, but the fish just didn't taste right. The service this night was excellent.

Second night we had dinner in one of the writing rooms. Not sure where the waitperson was most of the night, we actually had to go find him/her. A couple of us had the pan-seared trout. Frankly it was seared to point of being fish jerky.

Needless to say I don't think either job candidate was impressed with the restaurant. I hope they got the chance to visit a better restaurant during their short stay in State College

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt T, Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Robert,

We are terribly dissapointed that we did not deliver the quality of food and service that we strive for day in and day out. Your comments have been passed along to the chef and service team to ensure that a dissapointing expereience such as this one, does not happen again. Please feel free to contact me directly if there is anything that I can do for you. We would love for the chance to serve you again and make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Whiskers Pub only”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent lunch entrees and a good beer selection. The best part was not having to wait in a 45 minute line for Creamery ice cream.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt T, Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you! We are very glad that you enjoyed your time in Whiskers. Our chefs are passionate about food and our beverage managers are passionate about beer so we are glad that we were able to share this with you! Be careful though, if you speak too loudly about the creamery ice cream, the line may move over to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunday brunch buffet”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stately atmosphere, great service, and surprisingly affordable.
Hot and cold breakfast and lunch items, along with a carving station and fresh made omelets.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant T, Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time out to share such kind words about your experience with us. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“What more do you want in the middle of PA?”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here twice and I have gotten the ribeye both times. The beef comes from PA and it is good, and I am a Ruth's Chris guy. The lobster bisque is very good ( having lived in Maine, I recommend!) You can't go wrong with ice cream from the creamery for dessert.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike741776 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant T, Manager at The Dining Room, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Our team is so happy that we have stood alongside some big names and areas in your kind comments. We strive for culinary excellence and warm hospitality, and it was our pleasure to provide both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing