We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stay in State College”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Ranked #34 of 240 Restaurants in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay in State College”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

DH and I have stayed many times at the Nittany Lion Inn. We like it because of its on campus location as well as one of our favorite places to dine/snack/drink at Whisker's. We were in State College during the Blue-White Game weekend which also was Alumni Council and several special events dinners. We were assigned room 2102 which was recently renovated. The water pressure was a little funky and it was a little noisy since it was near housekeeping. Whisker's was perfect for lunch one afternoon and again for drinks after a special event on Saturday night. I wish that the rates weren't so high during special event weekends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Gap, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best lobster bisque!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Food is really good! The lobster bisque was like a meal on its' own! Nice service. The decor is a bit outdated, but that didn't deter me. They have a nice bar called Whiskers attached as well for after-dinner drinks!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessy1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Philadelphia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with nice amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms (we had a suite which was one bedroom, large parlor with q sofa bed and large loo. Charmingly done in a traditional old style but not rotting B&b mis-matched furniture. The pub looks like a fun place. Staff could not be nicer and the location was excellent. They have a shuttle with the most helpful drivers who are happy to give you a tour and share interesting stories. If my sons picks Penn State, this will be my designated home-away-from-home!

Helpful?
Thank rimavh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
347 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

this is a great place to stay in State College. refurbished in last 4 years. added bonus--around the corner from Nittany Lion statute for photo op

Helpful?
Thank LARRYOTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Whisker's Lounge -- great food and prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had two dinners in the Whisker's Lounge during my stay at the Nittany Lion Inn. The service was great, the food was excellent (shares the kitchen with the more upscale restaurant on site), and the atmosphere very pleasant. I highly recommend the London broil, which is actually a very tender sirloin with a mushroom gravy / sauce -- probably the best I've ever had. I had to come back the second night to have it again! I did not care much for the local beers, but the house merlot was fine, and other beers available. I would certainly make a point of dining at Whisker's again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ItravelaLotuKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing