We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Farm to Table "pub' food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crofts Tavern - CLOSED

Crofts Tavern
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Crofts Tavern is a farm to table, Gastropub; serving the best in hand made cocktails, craft beers and excellent food.
Downingtown, PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Good Farm to Table "pub' food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Reasonably priced creative interpretations on the basic pub fare. Fried cheeses curd, meatloaf and shepherds pie are always reliable and tasty.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Downingtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creig B, Owner at Crofts Tavern, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
John
Thanks for your review, it's guest like you that make our hard work so worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best food, service and atmosphere in the area!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

After a year or so of living in this area, we finally found our Go-To pub! We've tried many other bars and restaurants, but Croft Tavern has everything we've been looking for - great food, very attentive service and a warm and welcoming atmosphere! When we told our waitress we were first-timers, she told the owner, Craig, and he came over to our table and thanked us for coming and chatted for a few minutes. We shared a plate of the most delicious mussels ever, and we both had the Croft Burgers, which were perfectly cooked and had a very unique bacon jam. They even make their own pickles! Even though we were full, we ordered a creme brulee that was one of the best I've ever had. We topped off this fabulous meal with an After Midnight cocktail -- amazing!!

Crofts Tavern is a gastro pub that uses local and sustainable ingredients -- Go to Crofts Tavern!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Franksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creig B, Owner at Crofts Tavern, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Franksgirl
Thanks for your review, it's guest like you that make our hard work so worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York state
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Far Cry from Fine Dining”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Truly one of the worst overall dining experiences I've ever had. I was quite excited to try this place so I was sorely disappointed. In a nutshell the waitress was very preachy and rude, the drinks were terrible and the food was cold and somewhat suspect.
To start I asked the waitress what was included on today's charturie and cheese plate selection. I understand it's subject to change, but she gave me this long and sketchy story about how she couldn't tell me but it was all chef's selection. She kept stressing that they make all the meats in house, which if true is awesome, but how can you not know what you have if you ordered the meat, spent weeks curing it etc? When I pressed her that I wanted to know what they had TODAY, she refused to tell me what I would be getting and acted like I was to dumb to get the their concept. I make cheese, I lived on a dairy to learn how to make cheese - I WANT to know what kind of cheese I'm paying for.
I ordered the blood orange mojito. It was very sweet, totally flat and a pale white yellow color. Moijtos can be tricky, but this was a particularity pathetic example.
After that we played it safe and only ordered the "farm fresh" scotch eggs. After 15-20 mins 2 very large scotch eggs came out on this bizarre black triangle plate circa fine dining 1993 with fluorescent green/yellow mustard. I love artfully arraigned dishes with colorful little smears and such. This dish was laughable and pitiful. Far worse though, the the eggs were room temperature! I don't know if they had been reheated or they had died in the window waiting to be picked up, but it was awful. $9 for 2 eggs on this hideous plate and they weren't even hot. In the world of respectable dining that is a crime. Further, despite the waitress stressing the they were "farm fresh", the eggs were giant and had very pale yellow yolks. That is NOT what you see in organic fresh free range eggs.
The waitress never once asked how we were doing, so I flagged her down and mentioned the food was cold. She become extremely aggressive and defensive and flat out said we must be wrong. Even if we had been wrong being even 1/2 that rude to customers is entirely inexcusable.
I will never go back and would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CollegeArtGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creig B, Owner at Crofts Tavern, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
CollegeArtGirl

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had a negative experience in my restaurant and I sincerely apologize. However, I do feel the need to respond to your review's errors.

1) Our Farm Platters are a chef's choice. I apologize that your server wasn't apprised of that day's selections. we post them and usually review them at Q time each day. that particular server has since been terminated for her lackings.

2) Our blood orange mojito is made from blood orange coulis, I am sorry if it was not to your liking.

3) Our Scotch Egg consists two FARM FRESH eggs (Highspire Farms - 5 miles away) they are wrapped with 2 ounces of house made Cumberland sausage and flash fried. They are served room temperature at the center of the egg (not unlike the original in UK). They are priced at
$ 7.00 for two eggs. Our eggs are not advertised as "organic" and most people know that the color of the yolk varies throughout the year based on what the chicken eats. Additionally, the yolk gets paler still after being hard cooked, because we have to use vinegar in the liquid to get the shells to release.

I apologize for your lack of service, as stated your server was dismissed. We have installed a new FOH manager and systems to ensure better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadephia, PA - USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great local tavern!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been here twice now and have really enjoyed ourselves both times. We always start with the cheese plate, which is wonderful. I've gotten the meatloaf and a cheeseburger. Both were great! Wait staff was also really nice. You get the sense there are a lot of regulars that visit and you immediately feel part if the family. Really good beer selection too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LENLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creig B, Owner at Crofts Tavern, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Lenlas
Thanks for your review, it's guest like you that make our hard work so worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A quick stop - Sunday Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

After passing by on my way way home several times, finally had the opportunity to stop in at Crofts. Wasn't busy on Sunday around 4:00. Staff was very friendly and helpful. OK beer selection for you beer connoisseurs. Wine selection at the bar seemed limited. I did not sample any of the wines. Only had appetizers. These were good. Nice environment and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 001Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creig B, Owner at Crofts Tavern, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Mark
Thanks for your review, it's guest like you that make our hard work so worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crofts Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing