We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honey Moon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The French Manor Inn and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Perfect Had a Great time for my Honey Moon. The food was Great the service was also wonderful. You Can watch the sunset, go to the spa and the pool to relax. My wife and I cant wait to next year 2014 to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 379 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

The French Manor is a beautiful relaxing inn for a romantic weekend. They have murder mystery weekends twice a year which are fun. You can participate as much or as little as you like. The food is fabulous and the entire staff is well trained, friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the inn but the newer suites are also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manzanedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had such an amazing time by far. We came to The French Manor Inn for our one year wedding anniversary and would defiantly come back. The view was so amazing and service was excellent!! We would recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone we know. :) :)

Room Tip: Defiantly the Spa suite is worth every penny and has the perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

They really are great here and cater to anything you need! The breakfast was wonderful every morning and the dining room is beautiful. This is a very nice and intimate place to stay. Not commercial and very romantic. You will be about 20 to 30 minutes from main attractions but if you want private and romantic this is your place. We stayed in LA #5 Orleans suite and loved it. The views were very nice. Dinner was Spectacular! We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: We loved the Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have spent many Fall vacations in the Poconos. This was probably the most relaxing we have ever enjoyed. I can not fail to mention the sheets which were exquisitely soft. We stayed at a Spa Suite which came complete with DVD, flat screen TV, mini fridge with a small sink above and small coffee maker. But no microwave - I forgot to ask why. The suite included a whirlpool tub which I had been told was HP accessible. It wasn't nor was there a grab bar near the toilet.
The bathroom came complete with mini-sized shampoo, etc. The shower's water temperature was tempermental to control. But the shower had two seats as part of the wall itself. It was wonderful to just sit under it. The staff were near perfection; our own wine glasses disappeared one day but were retrieved later. The noise from other suites can still be heard on occasion.
We could have lived without the chests of drawers that had no stops. Probably historically accurate for the reproductions but a drawer can easily slip onto the floor or if not your foot.
Since we enjoy staying up late, we never made breakfast. It ends at 10 am. Why not 11 or even better Noon for those of us who aren't up with the sunrise.
Come here for a retreat because the shopping center, strip malls and the Crossing Outlets are 20-30 minute drive and that's if you are familiar with the area.

Room Tip: End units in the Spa Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyFanshawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent our 3rd Month Wedding Anniversary in one of the most romantic getaways we could have imagined. Awoke to beautiful sunrises and spent days swimming in a salt water pool, went on a hayride, picnicked overlooking the valley, and enjoyed a fantastic dinner. Staff catered to our every need and made our three nights fly by. A holiday to always cherish and remember.

Room Tip: Florence room had terrific views and was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went to this B and B for our 5 year. The pictures beautiful and while we felt it was a bit expensive, we are always willing to pay for quality. Check in was easy, the staff was warm and welcoming. The location and views were true to the pictures and awesome. We stayed in a spa suite. These are new construction, so lack a little charm, but we knew that. The paint in the bathroom was peeling off the wall above the shower....hmm, then we noticed stains on the carpet, at $400 a night, this is not acceptable. Out first breakfast was so bad we actually skipped the second one and ate elsewhere at our expense. I actually felt the breakfast seemed to be cooked in the microwave. We we got back to our room housekeeping had been and gone, good, but they left a wet dirty paper towel on the back of the toilet, ew. We had reservations at the restaraunt to celebrate our special night and so we showered again, and to be green hung our towels up. Our dinner was mediocre and not near worth the cost, we both disliked our entrees. We we returned to our room housekeeping had again come to turn our beds down. They apparently were going to take out the trash because we found it all bagged up sitting in the middle of the floor when we walked in. Then, in the morning, we realized they had also taken our towels, the ones we had hung up the night before and not replaced them, we had only the wet towels that were earmarked for the hot tub. We frequently vist B and B's and are sad to say we were quite disappointed and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniNJRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frenchmanor, Owner at The French Manor Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear DaniNJRN: Thank you for sharing your comments! We are delighted you enjoyed our property and our beautiful setting atop Huckleberry Mountain in the middle of the Pocono Mountains. We are sincerely sorry for the condition of the carpeting during your visit. All of our spa suite carpets have been shampooed since your visit, and unfortunately we have to schedule frequent shampooing due to the color and style of the "Green" carpets made of 100% recycled products. We were trying to be nature's advocates when selecting the carpets for the spa suites, but have been battling Mother Nature since these carpets were installed. The Spa Suite carpets are scheduled to be replaced in 2014.

We are deeply troubled by your dining experience at the French Manor as we normally receive such praise for the cuisine served for both breakfast and dinner. Please rest assured this matter has been reviewed in detail with our chef's and dining room staff.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Bridget and Genevieve
Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Sterling
12.7 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,495 reviews
6.5 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,231 reviews
10.8 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,553 reviews
11.8 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,333 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Manor Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Manor Inn and Spa

Address: 50 Huntingdon Dr, South Sterling, PA 18445-5315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > South Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Sterling
Price Range: $219 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Manor Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Pocono Mountains PA bed and breakfast is a beautiful stone chateau, offering 15 elegant guest rooms and suites complete with fireplace, Jacuzzi, private balconies, and views of the Pocono Mountains. Our secluded and romantic accommodations along with our fine dining on-site 4-diamond restaurant are ideal for any traveler. Look online to learn more about special packages, area activities and events, and to book your next luxury Pennsylvania weekend getaway with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The French Manor Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Manor Hotel South Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing