We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Local - CLOSED

The Local
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Had the homemade veggie burger which was very tasty, and also gluten-free. Husband had The Veg sandwich which he enjoyed. Great fresh food and many choices for vegetarians. Got to sit ouside which was nice. Loved all the vegetables/herbs and flowers they have planted.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thoughtful menu with local ingredients-yummy desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Don't be in a hurry when you eat here and reservations are a MUST. This dining experience is worth the drive! Plan on spending a couple of hours eating through their menu--which we successfully did and it was awesome! From frog legs to blueberry crumble pie, it was truly an amazing taste adventure. I applaud the commitment to staying with local growers to supply the ingredients for all of their beautiful food. It was cooked to perfection and lovingly served by friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John And Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“You don't want to miss this stop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a local gem. Not the kind of place to drive a distance to get to, but if you are within 15 minutes or so it seems to be a worthwhile place to go. We definitely plan on going back and most likely within a few weeks. The staff are very friendly, the food is good, the menu is just big enough and the prices are reasonable. Choosing to sit outside by the infrequently used railroad tracks is a neat feature. We were hoping a [not too long] freight train would go by. Maybe next time?!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh Fresh Fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We recently ate brunch at this wonderful restaurant and it was delicious! They use fresh, local ingredients from within a 20 mile radius and it shows in the quality of the food. Located in an old train station the atmosphere was lively and fun! Return visits are on our menu!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We eat here often!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

As a caterer and special events planner, going out for dinner can be trying. That's never the case at The Local. Chef Craig Alan Worman has hit the nail on the head here!

The food quality is exceptional and as much as possible is locally sourced, right down to the "scratch" baker they use who bakes in a commercial kitchen on her own farm! Chef Worman's dishes are different ever week on the menu, so don't get hooked on a favorite, it might now be there next week - some better always replaces it! We've eaten here many times and we bring friends as well - not one of us has ever had a dish that we were remotely disappointed in!

Do note that this is a BYOB restaurant - plan accordingly.

The staff is warm, friendly, accommodating and polite. The added value is being able to sit right on the platform of an old Septa station in summer months! The wintertime seating is cozy and romantic inside the station as well.

We usually have dinner here but I've heard Sunday brunch and lunches are also excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurinFegley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing