We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best when nice outside”
Review of The Local - CLOSED

The Local
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best when nice outside”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I'm claustrophobic so it is a little close inside for me when busy. However in warm there is an outdoor patio. Great food. Very good service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ramjac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“A great meal with local ingredients!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I went here with a friend on a Friday night. The restaurant was full, but we had a reservation so we only had to wait a few minutes for our table to open. The menu changes weekly based on ingredients that are available and we lucked out. The menu offering when we went was awesome! The cheese board was one of the best I have had. They will tell you where all the cheeses are from. The bread is baked fresh in house and was delicious as well. There was an entree option for everyone. They had steak, chicken, and fish. My New York strip was delicious. The desserts were all local as well. They do run out of things so we were left with only 2 dessert choices. That is my only complaint! It is BYOB so bring your favorite wine. I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Islanddreamer322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, PA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We've tried to like this...”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We wanted to like this place because it is close and not the normal local diner, pizza place or chain. However, we usually leave disappointed. We like the concept of local, fresh ingredients but there have been several times when an item on the menu isn't available and it's early in the evening. When paying in the mid twenties for an entree, we would like bread or rolls included and a bit nicer decor & ambience. The outside porch is nice but it is still in the middle of Souderton...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed Signals”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I found myself confused on the concept of this restaurant. I drove about an hour to this place after finding it as a restaurant catering to local farms. The website gave an impression of a deep commitment to the local, organic movement. I was disappointed with my experience after being served "coffeemate" style creamers with my coffee ( they were from Texas). Additionally, toast was served with high fructose corn syrup jelly, and it appeared the syrup for pancakes was the same standard. I should note that you could pay an extra 1.00 for a tablespoon of local jelly or syrup. In addition, plastic bottled sodas are served rather than other alternatives used by restaurants of the same stature.

I didn't leave with an impression of a restaurant deeply committed to organic and local. I left with a feeling that the movement was being used as a marketing ploy when only certain times were either local or organic. This restaurant would be well-served to list what items are either local or organic on their menu. When it's unknown to the customer, coupled with the condiments, I think many customers will be left to think the advertising is a little deceptive.

Helpful?
5 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome little gem”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I went to The Local for lunch as I work nearby and it was convenient to meet up there. Many of the locally owned places around here are not much to write home about, but The Local breaks that mold.

The Local is a relatively small place, located in the old Souderton Train Station. The atmosphere is cozy and welcoming. We were seated immediately and just the right amount of time was given for us to look at the menu and decide what we wanted when the awesome waitress arrived to take our order. Our food arrived very quickly. I had the French Dip sandwich while my wife had a grilled veggie sandwich. Both were hot, fresh and delicious. The food was reasonably priced and was simple yet perfectly executed.

We will most certainly be back to try dinner at the Local and I think it will become a regular spot for lunch for me.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing