We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fleas in Bed. Smelled funny but windows don't open.”
Review of Super 8 Somerset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Somerset
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fleas in Bed. Smelled funny but windows don't open.”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Yes it's fairly cheap ($85/night AAA rate) and clean, but there were fleas in my bed! I woke up about 10 times scratching! (Not a good night's sleep for me - I got sick later in the week.) I complained to the maid, but she said "Well I don't know what to tell ya. I'll tell management." Apparently they allow pets (according to a sign at the front desk) for a mere $10/night fee. But then, I guess they don't do any additional cleaning... Oh, and the windows don't open. Very stuffy room, smelled funny.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratik765, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Somerset, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
please get your room changed right away if you are even 5% dissatisfy. we change guest room without any problem. all we want is to make you happy and pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    123
    109
    81
    59
See reviews for
198
110
31
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We rented 4 rooms to accommodate our entire family when traveling for a family reunion. My parents were in a handicap room, and we were also traveling with pets. The staff was great! They allowed us to check in a bit early which was a real blessing :) The rooms were clean and appeared to have been recently renovated. Super value at $60 per room, which included breakfast. Also really conveniently located right off the turnpike. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regfike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

At 1st site the hotel looks nice, but once you enter the unsecure, underground entrance we changed our minds. You do not need a room key to enter the backdoor of this hotel. Its is very rundown once you get inside. Our room smelled horrible and we had to use bodyspray just to stand the smell. In our room the hole where a smoke detector was supposed to be was just an open hole with capped off wires in it. The cups inside our bathroom looked like someone had drank orange juice out of them and then placed them back buy the coffee pot. ( I threw them out so that the next customers wern't stuck with the same used cups.) The refridgerator door had been left open, either by the previous guests or by housekeeping, and there was a huge puddle from where the freezer had defrosted. The sheets were clean and the beds were pretty comfortable for a hotel, however all the other issues ruined it for us. The breakfast in the morning was less than desireable. Very slim pickings, so don't think that you will be able to feed your family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratik765, Manager at Super 8 Somerset, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
we are very sorry for the experience you had with our hotel.. we do our best to keep everybody happy,, please let front desk know whenever you have any issues so that we can try to solve it while you are here.. everything is taken care of,, i hope you would give us another chance to serve you in future,,, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Somerset hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here just passing through on our way home from vacation. We didn't arrive until 2:00 am and the lady at the front desk was quite helpful in giving us directions to the hotel and getting us checked in. Our room was the one right behind the front desk that I think the staff use when working overnight. I was so exaused when we arrived so didn't notice until morning that the smoke detector was missing the battery, room was outdated and did not appear to have been renovated recently. Also, no coffee maker, ice bucket, iron, ect. This may all be because of the location of the room and it being used for staff. The other rooms here may not be like this one. I feel that due to this we really over paid for what we got at close to $100 for the night. I would think that if this room wasn't the same as the other rooms in the hotel that we should have been offered some type of discount. Would not have stayed another night in this room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelle2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our reason for staying here was in order to visit Fallingwater & Kentuck Knob the next day. The price was extremely low. The rooms are fairly nice, staff is very nice. But the common areas such as the hallway, stairs & breakfast area could use some cleaning or perhaps new carpeting/wallpaper. Breakfast was lacking but I could find a few things to eat. Free wifi in room, several restaurants in close proximity, close to highway. I would consider staying here again at the price we paid & if it was just for 1 night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Spent one Saturday night here. We were able to check in 2 hrs. early which we appreciated. Hotel is definately low budget but it was clean. Our room (top floor) seemed to be newly renovated. Breakfast (complimentary) was terrible. Employees were a bit "rough" but nice. Would stay again IF we needed somewhere cheap and were only spending a quick night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dontstayathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We visited the America's Best Value Inn in June, 2011. I got a little worried when we pulled up - it's a sharp turn immediately off the PA Turnpike booth (you almost miss it) and the outside of the building is pretty shabby looking.
However, I remembered another reviewer saying that it had been refurbished when taken over from another chain, so I gave it a chance. I'm glad I did.
The woman at the desk was very friendly and happy to check us in after midnight with no problems. She gave full details about the breakfast she'd be preparing in the morning, talked with us about the area and wished us good night. excellent attitude and took pride in her work.
The room was clean, had recently updated furniture (including the bed), TV and shower. The bed was hard, but that's exactly like every other hotel in this price range. Don't expect a Sleep Number bed when you pay $55. It was everything I expected for a hotel in this budget price range, plus just a little bit more.
Breakfast was good for a budget hotel, too - waffle maker, Kellogg's cereal, bagels, juice, toast and hard boiled eggs. Other hotels in this range in the area give you nothing or a cruddy muffin.
I've stayed in other budget properties in this location, since it's right near 7 Springs Ski resort. This is far better, for the same price. We'll be back when we ski again.

Travel tip - in off-season (summer), Somerset is much cheaper to stay in than Breezewood or Bedford for the same level hotels. Drive the extra hour.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoraopolisPeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratik765, Manager at Super 8 Somerset, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking time to share a review about our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed our friendly staff and continental breakfast. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We understand that you have many options in the marketplace, and are pleased that you have made Americas Best Value Inn your premiere choice for lodging.

We look forward to another opportunity to service your future lodging needs.


Patrick-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites-Somerset, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.2 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#4 of 12 in Somerset
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 12 in Somerset
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Somerset

Property: Super 8 Somerset
Address: 165 Waterworks Rd, Somerset, PA 15501-1052 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Somerset)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Somerset 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a great location off I-70 and I-76, our Super 8 Somerset hotel is 100% Smoke Free and places you within reach of ample greenery, incredible historic sites, and four-season natural delights. If you are traveling through our fair city en route to Pittsburgh, our friendly location is within one hours’ drive of the City of Bridges, while Somerset County Airport is just minutes away on Route 281. You will also find restaurants and shopping nearby our hotel to ensure comforts for a super stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Somerset
Americas Best Value Inn Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing