We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Day Away From the 'Burgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quill Haven Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Somerset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plum, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Day Away From the 'Burgh”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed there to celebrate our 5'th wedding anniversary. For us there were pros and cons to stay at Quill Haven. The pics for this Band B are misleading. Quill Haven is not in the center of nature, it is in fact, on the main strip of Center Avenue, albeit, it is Somerset, but we were looking for a "country B and B, and passed it up (no distinguishing sign very visible, and directions appear B and B is off the beaten path... but, it isn't.). The rooms are compareable to other B and B's (room size-wise). We stayed in the Rose Room, which had old Christmas-looking flowers twisted above us on the canopy. Since we stayed there from late June-early July, I guess it was Christmas in July. I was sleeping fine until someone was admited at 1:00 am; the Rose Room is at the front entrance. These same new arrivals continued to talk (loudly at times), watch tv, and move around objects in their room until 4:00 am, at which time I finally got too exhausted and feel asleep. My husband said this was the give and take of B and Bs.
Our host was very, very busy and gracious. She made picture perfect breakfasts, except for the cornflake-covered french toast. While the food, aside from the french toast, was delicious, the portions were megre. My husband and I are thin, but we left the table wanting. For example, we shared breakfast with another couple several mornings. The last morning, we were given at total of 8 very thin portions of ham; it was clear that our "main portion" for breakfast was to be rationed. For the cost of our stay, I feel an extra slice of ham per boarder would not be asking much:).
Finally, if you are not a Fox-watching-Republican, you may want to keep your conversations generalized, or stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: We had the Rose Room, which is fine if you are an early riser, and/or you don't mind people arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
149
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting the Flight 93 Memorial. It was convenient to this historic site. The inn was nicely appointed and had a common area that held the coffee and refrigerator for the soda and wine they provided.
The hedgehog collection is unique and quite a conversation piece.
Our room was spacious with a large bathroom. Only drawback was the sunken tub that was quite narrow and difficult to get in and out of for me.
The breakfast was good with waffles , sausage, fruit, three types of juice and coffee.
If you are in the area, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keysfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I can't say enough about the friendliness and attention to detail of this lovely inn. Feeding their goats was the highlight of my recent trip and the breakfasts were top quality. Their eggs were from their own chickens, very tasty! I would go back here for a stay anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was my second trip here after my initial visit in 2009. The place is still beautiful and cosy. Another great stay! The breakfast was awesome and the hot tub was a great way to unwind after a long day of travel. Why would you even bother with Holiday Inn or any other large hotel chain?? This is THE place to stay in Somerset. I will definitely stay here if I pass through Somerset again. Thanks Carol!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WooglinHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at B&B's across the Country and Canada. From low price to super expensive. Quill Haven Country Inn has taken the top rating in our book! The Innkeeper was the absolute friendliest. She made us feel welcome and at home the minute we stepped through the door. The entire Inn and grounds were clean, warm, and inviting! The Rose Room was beautiful, peaceful, and spotless! The bed comfortable and the bath sparkling. A black washcloth was even offered to use to remove makeup without staining the white towels! How smart! Cookies awaited us in the den along with movies, books, games, etc. The grounds are perfectly manicured. We could even visit chickens and goats being raised on their farm. The breakfast the Innkeeper cooked for us that the other guests was wonderful and freshly prepared. We cannot wait to return! Make a mad dash to Quill Haven! It is worth the distance!

Room Tip: The Rose Room is on the lower floor and very easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I immediately felt at home at Quill Haven. The owners did a great soundproofing job when remodeling because you do not hear any noise from other rooms. I stayed three days and slept soundly each night. Each room is charming and clean. You will start each day off right with one of Carol's wonderful breakfasts! This is a wonderful place to stay and there is nothing to disappoint. I will gladly stay there again, and again, and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyA598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have stayed at Quill Haven four times. Each visit has been past awesome. Carol and Rowland are the perfect hosts, so friendly, you feel like part of the family as soon as you walk through the door. Carol's breakfasts are unbelievable, always something different, and taste so good. Stayed in a different room each time. The rooms are always so nicely decorated. Quill Haven is one place where when it is time to go, and you say " wish I didn't have to go " you really mean it.

Room Tip: Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
607 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#4 of 12 in Somerset
163 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quill Haven Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quill Haven Country Inn

Property: Quill Haven Country Inn
Address: 1519 N Center Ave, Somerset, PA 15501-7001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quill Haven Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegant yet relaxed atmosphere of this 1918 "Gentleman's farmhouse" built in the Arts & Crafts period with hardwood floors, antiques, reproductions, stained glass lamps. Four guestrooms (one king bed, three queen beds) with a private bath, cable TV/VCR/DVD, air-conditioning, ceiling fan, heated mattress pad, wireless Internet access. A full breakfast is served in the Sunroom. Guests can relax in the Common Room in front of the fireplace or soak in the outdoor hot tub. A mini-kitchenette is available in the Common Room with a microwave, coffee maker, sink and a fridge offering guests access to coffee, tea, sodas, complimentary glass of wine in the evenings and some kind of goodies like chocolate chip cookies, brownies or fudge. Near Fallingwater, skiing, golfing, antique stores, water sports. Definitely check out our lodging facilities which are more comfortable than any hotel in the area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Quill Haven Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Somerset
Somerset Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing