We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Gentile House”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Georgian Inn of Somerset
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Gentile House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Beautiful older house located atop a hill for panoramic views. Spacious rooms. Be prepared to climb stairs though as an elevator will not be an addition. All of the "gathering" rooms are lovely. The whole place is quite inviting and the hosts are just wonderful. Enjoyed our visit with them. Would definitely go back if in the area again.

Room Tip: If you have ambulatory issues, choose a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloom77373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Georgian Inn of Somerset. We are fortunate to have many acting "bellhops" here that are willing to assist you with whatever you may need! Thank you for taking advantage of all we have to offer and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
50
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent our 20 year wedding anniversary at the Georgian Inn. We were looking for an overnight accommodation between our travels from Pittsburgh to Philly. Thank god we stumbled upon the inn.

We stayed in the Mountain View room. That was the only room left to since every room was sold for that Friday night. Our room was very, very small but quaint. The bathroom might have been larger than the bedroom. But it was still very beautiful. We thought it was funny though that the tv had a built in VCR.

We checked in around 3 and went straight to the bar. The bar is gorgeous. They were playing really good music. We sat and had a few drinks then went outside and sat on the deck. There is a huge flight of concrete steps that take you down to the shops below. We took our drinks with us and shopped around. You must stop in at the record/book store if you like vinyl and old books.

Dinner was AWESOME! A nice and reasonable wine list. We got a bottle of Reisling for $30. For dinner, I highly recommended the pumpkin ravioli. The food was served with white gloves, a nice touch.

Breakfast was so-so. Our waitress was very chatty which was a little annoying. The breakfast offer was eggs benedict. It was ok but not great. Coffee was cold.

Overall, The Georgian Inn is a wonderful place to stay. We cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micheller0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Georgian Inn to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary. We are pleased you enjoyed your room eventhought it was slightly small for your liking. We are glad you had a great time at our lounge. Many of our guests as well as yourselves take advantage of relaxing on our terrace and walking down our steps to the shops. Its very great to hear that your dinner was "awesome" and that you found a suitable wine! We can't wait for your return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lovely place on a hill, great rooms, we had the 3rd floor Somerset room that had 2 rooms, dinner and breakfast were wonderful, staff was personable and professional. There were dust bunnies and spider webs in the corner of the bathroom floors which for some reason I find common in old B & B's, no real biggie for me. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: I think like a lot of old buildings it is alway best to be on the top floor so you don't hear cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Georgian Inn of Somerset. The Somerset Suite is a wonderful accommodation! Since your stay, we hired a housekeeping manager named Jen. She is a throwback to an army sargeant constantly barking orders to the rest of the housekeeping staff. Your overall comments rank us a 9 out of 10 from your experience. We believe Jen has given us the one we needed. Come back and see us again and let us know! Thank you for your helpful comments and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband stumbled across the Georgian Inn through an internet search, and booked it for our one year wedding anniversary. The Georgian Inn is a total gem located at the top of a hill overlooking a small town. We were greeted at the door and escorted to our room (D. B. Zimmerman suite). The suite we were in was PERFECT for the romantic getaway we were looking for. We felt like we were on the set of Downton Abbey. The place has so much history to offer, the decor and furnishings are so tastefully done. We really appreciated how few modern updates were done as well - so much of the place is kept true to its original design. On top of all that food and service was nothing short of top quality. We had a really enjoyable and relaxing stay at the Georgian Inn and are recommending it to everyone.

Room Tip: Room sizes at the B&B vary from huge and spacious to very small, so pick your room based on what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Its great to hear that your stay with was "perfect!" The Georgian Inn of Somerset is a wonderful place for couples to celebrate their anniversary. We feel that originality is important and are pleased that you noticed. Thank you for appreciating our mordern updates as well. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I were intrigued when we heard about the Georgian Inn. We've always been interested in historical places and decided to give it a chance since we would be traveling down to see the Flight 93 memorial. When we arrived one of the staff members came out to greet us and were very friendly. We stayed in the Ralph Zimmerman suite and when we entered the room we were in awe. The decor was beautiful and it had a historic charm to it. Not one thing was out of place. When we went downstairs for dinner the waitress was pleasant and sat us down for our meal. She always made sure that everything was okay and all of our food was delivered at a timely rate flawlessly. When we were getting ready to leave the next day the staff was more than helpful in getting us directions to the memorial and thanked us for staying there. I would recommend this quaint inn to anyone that ventures into Somerset.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlJames49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are delighted that you had a great experience with us at The Georgian Inn of Somerset. Many of our guests also agree that we are a great historical landmark. The Ralph Zimmerman room which was named after D.B. Zimmerman's son is a wonderful and well sought after room. In addition to out historical charm, it is improtatnt to make our guests feel welcome and we believe one of those ways is to greet you at our door! Thank you for recognizing our epport to provide flawlass service. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had stayed at the Georgian Inn 17 years ago. The experience then was wonderful and we wanted to go back and stay in the same room, the Trumbauer Room; however, it was unavailable so we booked the only room available. The Georgian Court was much smaller but the claw foot tub was an allure so we took it. I was disappointed immediately when we walked in and I seen the size of the room (smaller than a regular hotel room) but I was still pleased with the beautiful bed and the decor. The bathroom in the Georgian Court is a good size. When I went to take a shower I removed a bath mat with suction cups off the side of the tub and there was a ton of hair under it. There was also a dirty wash cloth hung over the top of the shower curtain. Housekeeping had obviously NOT cleaned the shower and tub very good. Out came my Lysol wipes. The Georgian Court is also located above the kitchen because we heard pots and pans clanging until 1:30 am. I rated this Inn ‘very good’ but do not recommend staying in The Georgian Court. Pick another room! The breakfast is good (but we did not have a choice of food like they say you do). The staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for returning to stay with us at the Georgian Inn of Somerset. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the wonderful furnishings of Georgian Court. Since your stay we have added a housekeeping manager to our team named Jen. We are extremely happy with the work she does and has proven to be very efficent. We see that you rated us "very good" so we hope that you will return to stay with us again. Thank you for your useful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very clean. Very charming and big; not a typical B&B. Perched on a breezy scenic hill. The owner and staff were very welcoming. Our Sommerset suite was spacious. Personally I enjoyed the wood floors and 100-yr-old plaster walls. My 13-yr-old daughter got a kick out of the elegance and uniqueness-she could pretend she lived in a marble-foyered mansion! Breakfast was one entree-but nicely-done- eggs florentine. Dinner in the restaurant was exquisite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne1553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking advantage of our charming mansion here at the Georgian Inn of Somerset. You're right, we are not a typical B&B! Our history and uniqueness set us apart. It is very important to us that you feel welcome st the Georgian Inn of Somerset. We think its great that you daughter was able to enjoy herself! Thank you for your warm comments and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#2 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Inn of Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Inn of Somerset

Property: The Georgian Inn of Somerset
Address: 800 Georgian Place Dr, Somerset, PA 15501-1616
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Inn of Somerset is listed on the National Registor of Historic Places. Built as a private residence in 1915 by a prosperous coal and cattle baron, the mansion was designed for entertaining. The mansion has been restored to its original grandeur and opened in 2010 as The Georgian Inn of Somerset. We also offer afternoon tea, luncheon tours, fine and casual dining and tapas with wine pairings. Outdoor seating on the terrace is available, weather permitting. A tour of the property discloses the luxury accommodations in a number of rooms and suites. All rooms offer a private bath, cable television, WI-FI and a selected breakfast as part of each overnight stay. In addition, facilities are available for business meetings, weddings, bridal or baby showers, birthday parties, wedding anniversaries or any private party. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Georgian Place Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing