We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a Disappointment”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Georgian Inn of Somerset
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were excited to return because of the wonderful experience we had years ago. This was our first visit under the newer management. I will start with the positives. Stayed in the Lizzy Zimmerman room with a lovely view out the back of the inn. It was clean. Unfortunately, that is where the positives end. The first night at dinner, I was served risotto that was doctored with clam juice. No where on the menu was that mentioned. I only took one bite and noticed the fishy flavor, thankfully, because of my shell fish allergy. The "owner" thought it was amusing and offered no apology. Our first morning, we had to go to the suite next door because our shower was inoperable. When I reserved the room, I asked if special to go meals could be prepared, because we had to leave the inn every morning before their scheduled breakfast. I did not want to stay at a bed and breakfast if we couldn't have breakfast. The concierge said that would not be a problem. We received a nice meal delivered to our room Friday morning. The next two mornings we received nothing! I know that you cannot always prevent mistakes, but a true measure of a service oriented facility is how they manage the mistakes. And this new management dropped the ball big time, and have left us very dissatisfied (and non-returning) customers.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KCSunshine216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your return visit to the Georgian Inn of Somerset. We are glad you enjoyed the Lizzie Zimmerman suite! We strive to make our guests feel welcome and give them the best possible service. There are several different recipes for risotto. Our risotto is made with clam juice as some recipes are. Allow us again to apologize for the shower. Since our restoration in 2010, we have a full time maintaince department, yet still an occasional mechanical item breaks in an almost 100 year old building. We are glad however that there was an empty suite available for you to take a shower. We are always happy to accomodate those who require room service or to go breakfast when requested. We welcome our guests to have breakfast in our glass enclosed, elegant solarium. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at the Georgian Inn of Somerset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 84 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Close to the Great Allegheny Passage, Flight 93 memorial and the quecreek mining disaster memorial. Stayed in the Sally Zimmerman room, lovely , very clean and comfortable . Food was very good and they have a bar and went down for an evening drink. There is a lage porch with rocking chairs and a great view of Somerset lake. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromPA__10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgianInnSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Georgian Inn of Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for enjoying the elegance here at the Georgian Inn of Somerset. One of the great things about us, as you have mentioned, is our location to the nearby attractions and activities. Hopefully you were able to take advantage of some of them while you were visiting! We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Sally Zimmerman room. It is a very beatlifully decorated chamber. Its great that you were able to relax in our lounge and walk out onto our terrace! We are glad you had a wonderful experience with us and we look forward to having you again in the future!,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We spent an evening here during a weekend visit to the Flight 93 Memorial and Falling Water. The inn is beautifully restored and serves a wonderful dinner and tapas menu. The owners are extremely accommodating and much concerned that your visit is pleasant and memorable. Note: We did not see any elevators so you may need to check on handicap accessibility. Also, all rooms have a bath, but not necessarily a shower. Check their website for room features.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalliePhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We were thrilled to have found this wonderful inn through a search. We stayed there March 19, 2012. The inn is beautifully restored and very welcoming. The staff is great and professional. The food is fantastic. We had dinner in the formal dining room and had the honor of meeting the owner and he shared the history of the inn with us...it was very lovely. We can't speak highly enough of Georgian Inn...great treat!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The renovation of the inn is noteworthy. The staff is enthusiastic and attentive. The tapas meal stole the show, phenomenal. Excellent location for a nice break but car required to get around. There is a sense of history even though modern society has built on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Request lake side? No swimming pool but can't seem to edit rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamminJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The location is lovely, the building and rooms are beautiful. There is a nice patio that over looks the lake. You can sit out there and enjoy the view with your favorite beverage. We did not eat dinner at the inn. But the (included) breakfast in the sunroom was totally delightful. Paid $135 for room with clawfoot tub , no shower - but very roomy and lovely. Would recommend for romantic little getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lois003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We wanted to stay here for our trip o visit the memorial for Flight 93. A first we were disappointed that they were booked. I decided to at least make a reservation for formal tea. I was fine with $20 a piece for tea. When we arrived the handicapped parking was on the opposite side of the building from the ramp. A minor inconvenience, but worth noting. I use a service animal to pull my wheelchair and help me with various other things. We were denied entrance to our reservation due to my service animal and told this was "state law". Funny, none of the other restaurants we ate in, or the hotel we stayed in, seemed to be aware of this state law that trumps the Federal ADA law. Thank goodness we didn't stay there. Could you imagine showing up to a hotel, and there are precious few in this area, and being turned away?

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
8  Thank Kimilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
658 reviews
17.8 mi away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
A1Economy Inn
A1Economy Inn
#6 of 12 in Somerset
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Somerset
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Inn of Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Inn of Somerset

Address: 800 Georgian Place Dr, Somerset, PA 15501-1616
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Inn of Somerset is listed on the National Registor of Historic Places. Built as a private residence in 1915 by a prosperous coal and cattle baron, the mansion was designed for entertaining. The mansion has been restored to its original grandeur and opened in 2010 as The Georgian Inn of Somerset. We also offer afternoon tea, luncheon tours, fine and casual dining and tapas with wine pairings. Outdoor seating on the terrace is available, weather permitting. A tour of the property discloses the luxury accommodations in a number of rooms and suites. All rooms offer a private bath, cable television, WI-FI and a selected breakfast as part of each overnight stay. In addition, facilities are available for business meetings, weddings, bridal or baby showers, birthday parties, wedding anniversaries or any private party. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Georgian Place Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing